Omicron Squad episodes 49 + 50

“How did it go?” The Colonel asked. 

“Allow me to present our newest computer,” Chelsea said. “Project Golem unit Zero. You can come in now.” 

Michael walked through the doorway, his violet eyes blank. The number zero tattooed on his forehead.

“His assertion that he could survive the process with his mind intact?” 

“Pure fiction,” Chelsea said. “Of course, I could give him some extra obedience testing to be sure.” 

“Don’t play with the equipment,” he said. “Still, I am concerned that he might become a problem without the chip to stop his higher brain functions.” 

“There’s no need to worry,” Chelsea said. “I used a modified chip this time. He’ll be able to act independently, but only on tasks we assign him to do. He’s the humanoid equivalent of a robot. I’m going to take him downstairs and use his own invention to connect him to the base’s system. His initial job will just be to improve efficiency, but I’m sure we’ll come up with more specific uses for him as we go. Still, it’s a pity I can’t run… additional tests on him.” 

“After the war is over, I’ll see if I can persuade the brass to let you have him,” he said. “Until then I can just congratulate you on your success, Doctor.” 

*****

Glad you all could make it. 

Sirvanna, Jenny and Rose stood in the conference room. Naoko was in the chair at the head of the table that Michael had always used. 

“Why did you call us?” Sirvanna asked. 

“Zhao is here for the meeting!” Zhao cried, running in. 

You weren’t invited. 

“Zhao is worried that Naoko might try to lead Jenny into unsavory activities,” Zhao said. 

I suppose it doesn’t matter. The reason I’ve called you here is that we can’t sit still and wait for Michael’s signal. 

“Of course not,” Jenny agreed. “When it comes we want to be in the optimal position to carry out the plan, after all.” 

And you three lead some of our best squadrons. So I’ve called you here to talk about advancing the western line. 

Naoko flipped a switch and a projection came up. 

This is Wolsztyn’s base. One of the major defensive sites for the alliance. If we can take control of it, we should be able to occupy a good chunk of the surrounding area before the enemy forces can stop us. 

“You have a plan, Love?” Rose asked. 

As a matter of fact, I do. Our main force will make a concentrated strike against the enemy line and push their way towards the base. Omega Theta Sigma will head this attack. 

“Naoko can’t ask Jenny to put herself in that kind of danger,” Zhao said. “It’s…” Jenny put a finger to Zhao’s lips. 

“It’s okay,” Jenny said. “The girls and I can handle it.” 

“In the meantime, Omicron will circle around in a flanking motion with a smaller force. Their defenses aren’t as heavy to the North, but they’re still substantial. You’ll have to watch for turrets, troops and more. 

“Got it,” Sirvanna said. 

Theta will use Mary’s gift to get inside the main Command centre, causing chaos within the fort. Unfortunately, you will be on your own.

“Sounds a bit daft, but we’ll give it a go,” Rose said. 

“A three pronged attack stands a pretty good chance of working,” Jenny said. “Any other orders?” 

If you encounter any Golem units, show them no mercy. 

“Professor wouldn’t like that,” Zhao said. 

He isn’t here.

“Does that mean that it’s okay to ignore his ideals?” Zhao asked. “Zhao and Naoko both agreed with them when they started.” Naoko glared down at her. “Can Jenny give Zhao a boost?” Jenny knelt down, Zhao climbed on her back and Jenny stood, enabling Zhao to look down at Naoko. “Professor will be upset with Naoko when he comes back and finds out she’s been merciless with our people.”

Fine. Injure them without killing them if you can. But don’t put yourselves at risk if you don’t have to. She looked up at Zhao. Is that acceptable?

Zhao nodded. “Zhao knew that Naoko would see the light.” 

*****

“We’ll see you at the base,” Jenny said. “Good luck.” 

“Same to you,” Sirvanna said. 

“We’ll have it ready for you,” Rose said.

“We’ll get there first, of course,” Alexa said. 

“You?” Anya asked. “We’ll probably arrive and have to go pick up your little team.”

“You really tick me off,” Alexa said. 

“Who had to carry your butt around during our last mission?” Anya asked.

“Stop fighting you guys,” Yuni said. “Can’t we get along?” 

“Then we’ll make a ladies’ bet,” Anya said. “If I win you can get me one of those large cases of rare truffles.” 

“And if I win you can get me one of… whatever that is,” Alexa said. The two shook hands. 

“You’re going down,” Anya said. 

“Bring it,” Alexa said.

“This is our drop off point,” Jenny said, opening the plane’s cargo door. “Lower us down, Anya.” 

Omega Theta Sigma scrambled atop a large metal platform. Anya gestured and it floated out the hatch and towards the ground. 

“She’s a pain all right,” Katelyn said.

“There’s no call for talking badly about her,” Alexa said.

Yuni grabbed Alena by the shoulder. “I don’t get it,” she whispered. “Do they get along or don’t they?” 

Alena shrugged. 

“Your drop off is coming up,” Rose said. “Ready, Love?” 

“Yeah, but we have to take more traditional means,” Sirvanna said, buckling her parachute. 

“Take this one,” Katelyn said, handing one to Alexa. 

“I don’t need one,” Alexa said. 

“Just take it and pull the cord,” Katelyn said. 

“What is silverware going to come out of it?” Alexa asked. 

“Of course not,” Katelyn said. “I’m not that unoriginal. Just pull the cord. It will be hilarious.” 

“Ladies, let’s go,” Sirvanna said. She jumped out, followed by the rest of Omicron. 

Alexa started floating down, turned to Katelyn and pulled the cord. A stream of undergarments came out of the pack. Katelyn started laughing. 

“Honestly,” Alexa muttered “it’s just a variation on the old theme.” She abandoned the pack and flew to the ground. 

*****

Alright, Ladies,” Rose said. “We’ve got to land this plan incredibly close to enemy lines without getting noticed and teleport into their base. We’ll need a bit of a distraction. Elizabeth?” 

“Yeah, yeah,” Elizabeth said. “Let me show you youngsters how it’s done.” She pointed at the ground. Clumps of dirt began erupting into the sky like geysers. 

“Good,” Rose said. “Keep it coming I’ll fly the plane into the dirt clouds. Hopefully, we shan’t be noticed. Daisy?” 

“No over-sized chunks will touch us,” Daisy said. She spread her arms, pushing larger fragments away from the plane.

*****

Omega Theta Sigma

“Spread out among the regular soldiers,” Jenny said. “Go wherever you’ll do the most good and be careful.” 

“Don’t worry about us,” Anastasia cracked her knuckles. “I’ll heat things up.” A fireball formed in her hand. She hurled it at the enemy line. 

“Your heat puns are so cute,” Callie said. 

“Just focus on the fight,” Anastasia said, hurling another fireball and another. 

Callie faded into a mist. Within seconds the gaseous cloud had gone behind enemy lines. She hovered to a soldier and her face formed in the fog. “You should take all the pins out of the explosives,” she said, authoritatively, “for safe-keeping.” 

The soldier’s expression went blank. “For safe-keeping,” he echoed. 

She floated to another soldier. “you should set fire to the ammunition stores,” she said. “We wouldn’t want the bullets to get cold.” 

Her expression went blank. “Set fire,” she echoed. “keep bullets warm.” 

Anya floated in the air. Weapons wrested themselves away from the enemy troops. Several tanks  crunched up like aluminium cans.

“My, my,” Christina muttered. “They seem to be enjoying themselves.” 

Her body twisted and distorted. She let out a roar and ran towards the enemy. Shouts of “dinosaur and T-rex” were hurled around. 

How uneducated. I’m clearly a Spinosaurus. 

She knocked a group of them away with her tail. 

*****

Omicron

“You may have just lost us any element of surprise we might have had,” Sirvanna chastised.

“We aren’t supposed to be taking them by surprise,” Katelyn said. “Theta is.” 

“Honestly,” Sirvanna said. “You’re such a kid.” 

“Better than taking things too seriously and not being able to enjoy myself,” Katelyn said.

“Why do you have Sirvanna’s bra?” Ines asked, holding it up.

“Don’t look at me,” Katelyn said. “I didn’t touch any of Sirvanna’s stuff since I knew she’d be a pain about it. I just took a few articles from the rest of your rooms.” She looked at it. “I think I found that in your room.” 

“So that’s where I left…” Sirvanna began, before stopping herself. “Never mind.” She took it out of Ines’s hands. “Let’s just get to work!” 

They met up with their small force of regular troops and made their way forward with little resistance. One of the regulars gestured for a stop. “There’s a wall covered with turrets ahead,” she said. “They’ll automatically lock on to any living people and fire.” 

“So, we need a way to take them out before they can rip us apart,” Sirvanna said. 

“No prob,” Ines said. “Follow me in a minute.” She put her goggles down and was gone before anyone could protest. 

“Fine,” Sirvanna said. “While she keeps them tied up, Yuni and I will blast the turrets.” 

Ines weaved in and out of fire. “What’s the matter, can’t keep up?” she asked. She ran up the wall, squarely between two turrets. They moved into position, but didn’t fire. “Safeties, huh?” Ines asked. “Well, it was worth a try.” She ran back down the wall and dodged through the ensuing hail of fire.

A bolt of lightning and a beam of light destroyed the first two turrets. A third turret jerked into position and destroyed another. 

“What are you doing?” Alexa asked. 

“Keeping a pet turret,” Katelyn said. She turned it towards another. “It’s kind of a pain to force it to fire, though.” 

Yuni and Sirvanna hurriedly destroyed two more turrets. Katelyn’s controlled turret shut down. 

“I can’t get it to fire anymore,” she muttered. 

“They probably killed its power,” Alena said. 

A bolt of crimson lightning tore it open. “We can’t risk it reactivating,” Sirvanna said. “Let’s move on.” She turned to Ines. “And what were you thinking? It was way too reckless of you to try to keep them all occupied. You could’ve been killed and I…”

Ines leaned forward and kissed Sirvanna. “I love you too,” she said.

“Moving on,” Sirvanna said, walking forward with her cheeks red.

“Can I end our arguments that way?” Yuni asked, turning to Alena. 

“Won’t always work,” Alena said. 

“I bet it’ll be fun to try anyway,” Yuni said.

*****

Theta

“Take Blair first and come back for the rest of us,” Rose said. 

“Got it,” Mary said. 

“If any bad guys are in the way I’ll pound them,” Blair said. She and Mary vanished in a puff of smoke. 

“Isn’t she a bit young to hold the drop off point alone?” Elizabeth asked. 

“Probably,” Rose said. “But she is the best equipped for doing it.” 

*****

Mary dropped Blair off and vanished to grab the next person. Blair found herself alone in a small supply room. 

That’s when the door opened. Blair hurriedly ripped up the steel floor. The soldiers who were coming in lost their footing. Which gave Blair a chance to run forward. The two were thrown back into the corridor with their necks and spines bent at unnatural angles. 

Blair closed the door again.

Mary returned with Elizabeth and vanished again. 

“Anything happen, Kiddo?” Elizabeth asked, looking pointedly at the now split floor. 

“Well, some bad guys tried to come in,” Blair said, “But I tossed them out so it’s okay.” 

“You shouldn’t have done that,” Elizabeth says. “If their bodies get found…” she was interrupted by the alarm sounding. Elizabeth gestured and a massive block of dirt rose from the ground to bar the door. “Hurry, reinforce that.” 

“Yes Ma’am,” Blair said. She tore a sizable chunk of steel away from the floor. She placed it across the dirt and hammered it into place with her fist.

Chapter 50 end

this is as far as I’ve gotten with the story in my GS blog. Sorry for the inundation of material, but I’ve been adding a new chapter to this particular story every week since September of last year. Which made for quite a bit of material to transplant. Now that it’s in one place, you’ll find a new episode every Tuesday. Starting tomorrow. 

I’d also like to take a moment to thank everyone who started following me or liked one of my posts. And I apologise if there was some site etiquette I neglected to follow. I assure you all, that any such oversight is the result of my being new to this site and in a hurry to transplant fifty blogs worth of material. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

