Omicron Squad episode 51: Where are the Golems?

“General!”

General Anderson turned, calmly. “What is it, Doctor?”

“I’m sorry to disturb you, but I’d like permission to go to the server room and speak with Zero.”

“You have been warned not to play with the equipment, Doctor.”

“I don’t want to play with him,” Chelsea said “and I resent the implication. He changed my Golem program.”

“You can’t work it anymore?”

“I can work it fine,” Chelsea said. “But I want to know just what the hell he changed.”

“We can ask that right now,” Anderson said. “He’s interfaced with the computer system, remember?” She turned to her computer and picked up a microphone. “Zero.”

Yes, General?

“What changes did you make to the Golem process?”

The Golem process had numerous inefficiencies. This unit fixed them to reduce the length from twenty one hours, thirty seven minutes, seventeen seconds and forty six milliseconds to one hour five minutes fifty four seconds and thirty five milliseconds.

Anderson whistled. “That’s quite an improvement. Can you display a record of the specific changes you made?”

Unable to comply.

“I have full clearance,” Anderson said.

This unit recognises your clearance. However, this unit was tasked with keeping efficiency as high as possible. Change records were deemed an inefficient use of space. They have not been kept.

“See my problem?” Chelsea asked.

“He’s only following orders,” Anderson said. “We can hardly blame him for that. It’s our own fault for not being more specific.” She sighed and held up the mic. “Zero, from now on I want detailed records kept of every change you make to any of our high ranking documents.”

Please specify parametres for high-ranking.

“Anything Top Secret.”

Orders accepted. All changes to Top Secret files will be systematically recorded.

“Thank you,” Anderson said. She turned to Preston. “Is that acceptable?”

“It doesn’t exactly help my current problem,” Chelsea said “but I suppose there’s nothing to be done about it. Still, I’d love to know what he did.”

She excused herself. Anderson picked up the mic. “Zero, how are the plans for Project Grendel?”

Plans for Project Grendel have been completed and refined. All available data places the chances for success at fifty seven point zero nine five eight s…

“You only have to go a couple decimal points in.”

Understood. It currently possesses roughly a fifty seven point one percent chance of success. 

“Can you increase that to sixty five?”

Processing… Processing… Processing…

*****

Theta

“I think they’re getting explosives to blow their way in,” Mary said.

“Want me to drop the barrier?” Elizabeth asked.

“No,” Rose said. “Still, it is a bit of a sticky situation. If only we had another exit.”

“I can make one,” Blair said.

“Then do be a dear and do that,” Rose said. “Left wall, please. Elizabeth, Daisy, cover her.”

Blair punched a hole in the indicated wall and ripped it open with her hand until it was large enough for them to fit through.

“Now this area is much quieter,” Rose said. “Elizabeth, seal the hole. Mary, try to find a route to the command centre, and do be a dear and make it fast.”

*****

Omega Theta Sigma

“They’re sending in robots,” Jenny cried.

“Waste of resources,” Anya said. She swooped down. The machines tore themselves apart and the scrap metal went hurling through the enemy lines.

Several troops pointed their guns in her direction. Callie materialised next to her “Look out, that soldier is a spy!” she cried. The squadron instantly turned their guns towards each other and started firing. “You really mustn’t exhaust yourself,” Callie said. She helped Anya move away from the main line.

*****

Omicron

“We have an enemy squadron moving in pretty quickly,” Ines said. “For regular people, anyway. Although I think there are some robots mixed in there.”

“Any sign of golem units?” Sirvanna asked.

“None,” Ines said. “You know they have to have some, but I have yet to spot any.”

“Maybe they sent them all on vacation,” Yuni said.

“More likely they’re all going after OTS,” Alexa said. “Want me to fly over and back them up?”

“I think the most likely explanation is that they’re holding the golem units at the base,” Alena said. “In defensive positions.”

“That does seem likely,” Sirvanna said. “We’ll burst through the squadrons coming and make a line to the base. If there are Golem units try to determine their powers before challenging them. We already know that some of us can feed off of the powers of others.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

