Omicron Squad episode 52: Theta in Peril

General

“What is it, Zero?”

Please direct your attention to the monitor.

“What am I looking at?” 

A design for a very powerful robot. 

“Interesting, but weren’t you figuring out a way to increase Grendel’s success chances?”

This robot is essential for that purpose. 

“If we build some of these our chances will go up to 65%?” 

By my estimates, using one will be sufficient. 

“They’re that good?” 

Negative. However, sending one on a scouting mission will enable me to gauge the level of enemy defenses and gain valuable insight for a plan of attack. 

“This design calls for a lot of material. Can’t we send a squad of regular robots?” 

The regular robots are insufficiently powered for our purposes. This design will be able to survive long enough to gather the necessary data. It will very likely also result in major casualties. 

“Very well. Print out the designs for me. I’ll propose the scouting mission at today’s strategy meeting.”

Yes, General.

*****

Omicron

Alexa sent fierce winds, blowing the human soldiers off their feet. A hail of gunfire came from the ordinary soldiers to prevent them getting back up. The robots, however, were more resilient. They leveled their rifles and aimed.

Sirvanna and Yuni struck. Bolts of lightning tore into the machines. Yuni ran forward with blade shaped beams of light coming from her forearms. One blade beheaded a robot. The other sliced one in half.

The remaining robots were undeterred. They opened fire on Alexa. Two of them shot themselves when their weapons turned around to point at their own heads. Ines outraced the remaining bullets, pulling Alexa out of harm’s way.

I suppose this is the part where I’m supposed to thank you,” Alexa said.

Not a good idea,” Ines said. “Sirvanna would get mad.”

I didn’t mean thanks like that,” Alexa said.

Sirvanna, Yuni and Katelyn finished with the robots.

And Alena does nothing,” Katelyn said.

You’ll help with the next group,” Yuni said, putting an arm around Alena.

I’m sure she will,” Sirvanna said, noting the darkening horizon.

*****

Omega Theta Sigma

Just stay back while you regain your strength,” Jenny said. “This is going to be a long battle. We can’t just tear our way through within minutes.”

Understood,” Anya said. “But Alexa can not know about this.”

If she asks we’ll just mention the part where you tore several dozen robots apart within seconds,” Jenny said.

She should’ve waited a bit,” Anastasia said. “We could’ve used her help with these tanks.” She gestured and a stream of blue fire melted the treads on one of the advancing machines.

We don’t need Anya for everything mechanical,” Jenny said. She pushed her way forward, lifted a tank by its turret and tossed it into another.

*****

Theta

Mary rematerialised. Her arm hung limply at her side and her forehead was bleeding.

What happened, Love?” Rose asked.

Golem units,” Mary said. “I teleported right into a group of them. Couldn’t get away fast enough.”

Damn,” Elizabeth said. “Did you notice what their powers were?”

One of them had energy blasts,” Mary said. “That was all I noticed.”

Are you going to be able to keep going?” Rose asked.

Yes, Ma’am,” Mary said.

Okay,” Rose said. “Take it easy. We’ll try to find our way around them.”

One of the walls came down. A group of six women and one man stood, looking blankly at the group.

Well, that was unfortunate,” Rose said. “Be careful and take them.” 

*****

That’s the end of the episode, but I do have something to add. This is an image of Sirvanna, drawn by Yvonne. I understand that she’s planning on drawing the rest of Omicron as well. With her permission, I’ll be posting those images as well. If you or someone you know would be interested in extra character details so that you can draw one or more of the characters in this story, I’ll be happy to provide them like I did for Yvonne. And special thanks to her both for this work and for being good enough to let me show it. 

Image

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

