Omicron Squad episode 53: Theta beaten?

Omicron

“We’re almost in sight of their second defensive line,” their guide informed them.

“How many do they have?” Yuni asked.

“The third is directly surrounding the main base.”

“What are we waiting for?” Ines asked. “Let’s bust them open.”

“What kind of resistance can we expect at this line?” Sirvanna asked.

“Turrets will pop out of the ground and a group of tanks will back those up.”

“And this is the less defended side,” Katelyn said.

“Nothing to worry about,” Sirvanna said. “Alena and Ines will distract the turrets, taking out what enemies they can, and the rest of us will keep a distance and back them up.”

*****

Omega Theta Sigma

“We’re almost there,” Jenny said. “Are you ready to bring the base’s defenses down?”

“And Omicron nowhere in sight,” Anya said. “Looks like I’m going to win the bet.”

“And if she gets you the truffles soon it’ll be just in time for Valentine’s day,” Christina said.

“Don’t be stupid,” Anya said. “There’s no way she’d choose that exact day to pay up.”

“But you’d like it if she did?” Christina asked.

“Of course I wouldn’t,” Anya said.

“Golem unit,” Anastasia said. It was a single woman, standing unmoving amid the enemy defenses.

“Just one?” Jenny asked. “You guys take the defenses, I’ll see what she can do.”

*****

Theta

“We’re outnumbered,” Elisabeth said.  “We should scarper.”

“We’ll at least give it a go,” Rose said. “Mary, keep back and be ready to teleport us to safety.”

“Got it,” Mary said.

“Theta, scatter,” Rose said. The girls rushed forward, in all directions.

One of the women hurled bolts of bright yellow energy at them. Rose moved in front of the bolts and fired a blast back. Knocking the group around.

The man stood up and hurled fire around. Elizabeth gestured and the floor broke open, dirt sprang from the hole and smothered the fire.

“They may be strong,” Rose said. “But they aren’t terribly good at adapting.”

Another woman stepped forward and screamed. The floor around her cracked and several glass objects shattered. The members of Theta covered their ears.

“Shut her up!” Rose cried.

Daisy lifted the woman’s shirt with telekinesis and wrapped it tightly around her mouth.

“That’s the way to do it,” Rose said. “If we can keep this up…” an enemy golem unit leapt forward and tackled her. Blair quickly moved to intercept the woman, who jumped away and clung to the ceiling.

“Get Rose out of here!” Elizabeth cried. She tried to bury the enemy group with a wave of debris. An unassuming looking woman stepped forward and swiftly grew to twice her height and roughly three times her former muscle mass. She waded through Elizabeth’s attack and flicked her away.

Blair tackled the larger woman, bringing her down to the ground. Blair took advantage of her situation and kept punching until the woman was barely breathing.

“I did it, Guys,” Blair said. “And I didn’t have to kill…” She looked around, nervously. The acrobatic woman was standing over Mary. Elizabeth and Rose hadn’t moved and Daisy was falling onto the floor. The six remaining enemies turned to look at her.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

