Omicron Squad episode 54: Blair Takes a Stand

Omicron

“Try to keep up,” Ines said. 

“Don’t worry,” Alena replied. 

The two ran between the turrets. Bullets followed behind them, but they weren’t fast enough. Yuni and Sirvanna ran out of cover for a brief moment, hurling bolts of lightning and daggers of light at the turrets, destroying several. 

Alena ran to the tanks. She bent the turret of one and lifted a second off the ground just enough to knock it onto its back. 

Ines zigzagged around the turrets. They moved after her, trying to get a shot. 

“Check this out,” Katelyn said. One of the tanks moved into position and fired a shot at a turret. “Let’s see them shut this one down remotely.” It turned to another tank and fired, practically point blank.

*****

Omega Theta Sigma

“I’d ask you to surrender,” Jenny said. “But we both know you don’t have enough of a mind left to, Poor thing.” 

The woman turned to her, almost mechanically. 

“I’ll put you down as gently as I can,” Jenny said. She ran forward. The woman punched her fist. 

“As strong as me?” Jenny asked. The woman ran forward, throwing several punches. Jenny knocked her right arm away, ducked under her left and punched her in the gut. The woman took a few step backwards and kicked Jenny in the gut. “As durable too…” Jenny muttered. “Guess I can’t be gentle.” 

*****

Theta

Blair nibbled on her thumb. There were six of them. Fire guy. the acrobatic one. The loud one. The energy blasting one. What were the others? Either way, she should punch through a wall and run. Before they finished closing in on her. No. If her friends were still alive, she couldn’t abandon them. 

She steadied herself and lunged forward. The loud lady went down. The other five came at once. A bolt of fire slammed into Blair. Yellow energy beams narrowly missed her. The ground shook around her. The acrobat kicked her in the stomach and the final woman leapt at her. Blair could see the fangs in her mouth and guess why. 

Blair grabbed the acrobat’s foot and tossed her into the feral woman. She hurriedly sank her fists into the floor and ripped it up, knocking the enemy’s off balance. she tackled the fire guy, slamming his head into the ground, and rolled away as several more energy blasts went at her. The acrobat jumped down at her again. She moved back and punched upward, catching the woman’s stomach on her fist. 

The ground beneath Blair shook. She let it knock her over, causing several more energy blasts to go above her head. The feral woman was on her then. She was strong and her fangs were going for Blair’s throat. The two locked arms and wrestled. The woman wouldn’t be a match for Blair under normal circumstances, but Blair was tired, and in quite a lot of pain. 

The ground shaking woman hung back. Possibly trying not to hurt her friend, but hadn’t the Golem units before been unconcerned about that? The other woman fired several energy bolts at Blair’s back. Blair pushed as hard as she could and managed to twist the feral woman into their path. Her struggles stopped. She was bleeding heavily. 

The earth shaker immediately moved into action, spikes shot up from the ground. Blair ran to avoid them. She threw herself against the woman firing energy bolts. She took some hits in the process, but she was sturdy. She punched the woman’s chin, hard and threw her at her comrade. The earth shaker was trying to extricate herself when Blair hobbled over and decked her. She stopped moving. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

