Omicron Squad episode 56: Bringing down a powerhouse

“We’re almost there,” Sirvanna said. 

“Finally,” Alexa said. “At least there’s no way… Damn it!” 

“Looks like someone lost her bet,” Katelyn said. 

“Ladies,” Christina jumped in front of them. “You’d better not go in any further.” 

“Can you explain why?” Sirvanna asked. 

“Well,” Christina began “there’s an enemy golem unit. She somehow copied Jenny’s, Anastasia’s, Callie’s and Anya’s powers when they got close to her. Right now they’re trying to beat her but it’s not looking good.” 

“When they got close, huh,” Ines said. “Has she exhibited any other powers?” 

“Nope,” Christina said. “You have a plan?” 

Ines nodded and pulled her goggles back on.

“What are you going to…” Sirvanna began, but Ines was long gone. “do.”

*****

“On three,” Jenny said. “One, two three!” She, Anya, Callie and Anastasia struck simultaneously. Jenny lunged forward with a punch. Anya hurled a tank. Callie did a spinning kick. Anastasia hurled a fireball. The Golem gestured and steel sheets surrounded her as a shield. Jenny was able to punch the closest one aside, but the golem unit caught her fist. They exchanged blows for a moment before Jenny stumbled backwards. 

Ines appeared and tapped the woman from behind. “Hey, Cutie,” she said. “Want to try keeping up with me?” She ran. The Golem unit followed quickly behind her.

“What is she thinking?” Jenny asked. 

“This is why you can’t trust Omicron,” Anya said, loudly. “In addition to the bag of hot air, they just don’t think things through.” 

“I dare you to come over here and say that!” Alexa called.

Anya floated over, getting into Alexa’s face. “You are a windbag.” She spoke slowly, enunciating every syllable. 

Christina clapped. “Now, now,” she said. “That’s enough from you two. Let’s clear the area.” 

“Clear the… why?” Anastasia asked. 

“Because,” Christina said. “I think I know her plan.” 

*****

Ines ran. Dodging past fireballs and fragments of metal. As she led the Golem further and further away, the frequency of those attacks lessened until they stopped entirely. 

“Thought so,” Ines said. 

“Ines!” The voice came in over her radio. 

“Hey, Lover,” Ines said. “Don’t tell me you’re getting cravings on the battlefield.” 

“Of course not, Goof,” Sirvanna said. “Are you okay?” 

“Perfectly fine,” Ines said. “She doesn’t seem to have their powers anymore.” 

“Were they timed?” Sirvanna asked. 

“I think it’s a proximity thing,” Ines said. “Either way, I’m going to need Alena, Yuni and Katelyn to do something for me and the rest of you are going to have to pull back. The point where Christina stopped us should do it.” 

“What do you need?” Alena asked. 

“For us to be big damn heroes, obviously,” Katelyn said. 

“I have a plan,” Ines said. “Listen carefully…” 

*****

“Almost there,” Ines said. “You ready?” 

“In position,” Alena said. 

“Uh-huh,” Yuni said. 

“Ready to roll,” Katelyn said. 

“Are Yuni and Katelyn far enough away?” Ines asked. 

“Should be,” Alena said. 

“Then let’s do it,” Ines said. She ran into the field with the Golem on her heels. That was when Alena rushed forward, tackling the Golem. While they struggled Ines moved to the rear line next to Sirvanna. She pulled her goggles up.

“Yuni, you’re up,” Ines said. 

A massive burst of light covered the field. Both Alena and the Golem shielded their eyes. The Golem recovered first and punched Alena, but there was very little force behind it. 

“Katelyn, it’s your turn,” Ines said. 

“Say goodnight,” Katelyn said. A pistol floated behind the Golem woman and tapped her on the shoulder. As soon as she turned around, it fired. 

“My only regret is that I couldn’t think of a plan to take her alive,” Ines said. She felt Sirvanna’s hand on her shoulder. 

“You couldn’t help it,” Sirvanna said. “She was far too dangerous.” 

“A moment of silence,” Jenny said. “For a worthy foe. If only we could have known er under other circumstances.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

