Omicron Squad episode 57: New Location

“I’ll lead the way,” Jenny said. “The rest of you can hang back until we confirm whether or not Theta did their job.” 

“Got it,” Sirvanna said. “Be careful. You look kind of beaten up.” 

“I’m well enough,” Jenny said. She strode towards the base’s entrance. There was no sign of resistance. She stopped outside the main entrance and knocked. 

Mary appeared behind her in a puff of smoke. “Can I help you?” 

“I take it the base is ours,” Jenny said. 

“We had some trouble,” Mary said. “But we pulled through.” 

“I see,” Jenny said. 

“Isn’t it lovely when everything works out?” Christina asked. 

“It’ll push the line forward a bit, at least,” Jenny said. “Anya, go retrieve the base.” 

Anya nodded and started floating away

“Wait,” Jenny said. She turned to Sirvanna. “Could you blast her before she goes?” 

“Fine,” Sirvanna said. Crimson lightning flowed from her fingertips into the one-eyed woman. 

Anya stretched out. “That feels good,” she murmured. “Okay, I’ll be back shortly.” She flew away, quickly.

“What exactly did you mean by ‘retrieve the base?'” Yuni asked. 

“That’s right!” Jenny said. “You guys have never seen it.”

“Just watch the sky,” Christina said. “You’re in for a treat.” 

“It can’t be that impressive if she can do it,” Alexa said. 

“It kind of is,” Anastasia said. She was rubbing her own back. 

“Sore?” Callie asked. 

“A bit,” Anastasia said. 

“Let me take care of it,” Callie said. She positioned herself behind Anastasia and started massaging her back. 

“That feels good,” Anastasia muttered. 

“It’ll feel better later,” Callie said. 

“Oh my,” Christina said. 

“Should the rest of us leave you two alone?” Katelyn asked. 

Yuni tugged Alena’s sleeve. “What does that mean?” she asked.

“Don’t worry,” Jenny said. “They’ll behave. At least until they get some privacy.” 

“Oh,” Yuni said. “Now I get it.” 

*****

“Can I talk to you?” 

“What do you need, Elizabeth?” Rose asked. 

“It’s not something that can be discussed in mixed company,” Elizabeth said. 

“Fine,” Daisy said. “I’ll go outside with the others.” She walked away in a huff.

“That was rather discourteous,” Rose said. 

“Couldn’t be helped,” Elizabeth said. “It’s about Blair.” 

“She’ll be fine,” Rose said. “Poor little Dear is just tuckered.” 

“It’s not her health I’m worried about,” Elizabeth said. “That kid just took out half a dozen gifted by herself. Even if they were mindless that’s quite a feat. If she’s that strong now, how much stronger will she be when she gets older?”

“There’s no way to know,” Rose said. “We don’t exactly have a good frame of reference. Why does that bother you anyway?” 

“You aren’t worried that she might become dangerous?” 

Rose laughed for a few seconds before calming herself. “Sorry,” she said. “The idea of Blair being dangerous is just a tad ridiculous.” 

“Her strength…” 

“Doesn’t matter,” Rose interrupted. “She’s a good kid and she’s had lots of good influences. Chelsea, Daisy, Mary, Mr. Wagner, You. I can’t imagine her ever causing harm to anyone who didn’t deserve it.” 

“That’s what bothers me,” Elizabeth said. “How will she decide who deserves it?” 

*****

“There she is,” Jenny said. 

“About damn time,” Alexa said. “What took her so lo…” 

Anya was floating towards them. The main base was floating along behind her. 

“Guess I’m up,” Anastasia said. “Everyone, stand back.” Fire erupted from her hands and spread across the ground in a wide area. She didn’t stop until there was a large area blackened and flattened. 

Anya set the foundation down on the cleared area. She was sweating profusely. 

“Good work,” Jenny said. 

“Th… anks,” Anya gasped the words out. 

“Do we really need two bases here? Sirvanna asked. 

“The old one will be converted into scrap,” Jenny said. “It’ll give us something to do while the regulars start establishing and defending a new line.”

“Jenny!” Zhao ran from the base and threw herself at the larger woman. Jenny caught her and held her up. “Zhao missed you.”

“I wasn’t gone long,” Jenny said. “The mission only lasted seven hours.

“Come to Zhao’s room and tell her all about it,” Zhao said. 

“How did she move the base without spilling everything everywhere?” Yuni asked. 

“We have some equipment that keeps the inside stable,” Christina said. “Well, I’m going in to make myself some tea.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

