Omicron Squad episode 62: Reckless Abandon

“Get your visors into infrared mode. We’ll take the enemy by surprise in the darkness.” 

“Yes, Captain.”

“Remember, we don’t have to beat her. We just have to hold her off long enough for reinforcements to get here.” 

“I don’t see… Wait. Over there!” 

*****

“Okay,” Sirvanna said. “So Alena ran off to find Katelyn and Yuni and you were left to rescue a bunch of kids who were used for experiments. Do I have that right?” 

“That is what happened, yes,” Ines said. 

“See if you can find Alena. Alexa and I will stay here with the children.” 

“Got it!” Ines ran off. 

“Maybe I should go with her,” Alexa said. 

“No,” Sirvanna said. “You’re too slow and we don’t want to risk splitting up further.” 

“I’m really not good with kids,” Alexa said. 

“I’m not exactly an expert myself,” Sirvanna said. “It doesn’t matter. We just have to keep them safe until we can get them into the hands of people who can help them.” 

*****

“She got Hilda!”

“Don’t panic. We just need a good shot to stun her. Get into formation Z.” 

The four positioned themselves in a diamond pattern with their backs facing each other. 

“I see her!” the rookie fired his stun gun. Alena went down, twisting. 

“Good shot.” 

“Thank you, Captain.” 

“Let’s secure her.” 

The four moved over, quickly. As soon as they were close, Alena pounced. She tackled between the first two soldiers, bringing one down with each arm. She slammed them into the ground. 

“Fire! Maximum voltage.” The captain and remaining soldier hit her with their stun weapons, point blank. Alena writhed for a moment, before pushing the triggers away from her. She jumped on the captain, crushing her skull with her fist and turned her attention to the final squadron member. 

*****

“Why can’t I get through?” Rolf asked. “Invalid code? Is this some kind of glitch? Could I have put it in wrong?” 

He heard a loud knocking. He grabbed his radio. “Captain?” There was no response. “Impossible! Did they all get beaten?” He hurriedly flipped a switch and listened to the satisfying sound of the doors locking. “Better to not take chances,” he muttered. “Go for the lethal force.” He grabbed a shotgun and positioned himself behind one of the chairs, looking at the entrance. His eyes darted back to the front doors. Would they come from there? He heard the loud sound of metal ripping. He looked from the front to the back. Where? That was when it occurred to him. Above! He pointed his shotgun upwards and quickly fired. The barrel was quickly wrested away from him and the last thing he felt was a heavy hit to the head.

*****

“Yu… ni.” 

Yuni opened her eyes. Her head was pounding. “Alena?” 

“Good… you’re… okay.” 

Yuni’s eyes went wide. Alena was covered with blood and her clothes were smoking. “Are you okay? What happened?” 

“Don’t… worry,” Alena said. She was breathing heavily. “Most of it… isn’t mine.” She leaned back against the metal interior and closed her eyes.

“Alena?” Yuni asked. “Alena!” 

*****

Ines looked around. “Dead soldiers, armoured carrier with a hole torn through the roof. Yep. This is the place.” She started running forward when she heard an explosion. 

She looked back. Hadn’t there just been another soldier there? Wait, their strange outfits! She rushed to the carrier. 

“Ines!” Yuni grabbed her as soon as she dropped down. “You have to help! Alena, she… she…” 

Ines spotted Rolf’s body. “Time for that later! She grabbed the corpse and carried it out of the carrier, depositing it a safe distance away and running. The outfit blew behind her, but she was far enough ahead to avoid the explosion. She returned to the carrier. She found Yuni staring at Alena. 

“Let me see,” Ines said. She opened Alena’s shirt. Yuni gasped behind her.

“That’s a nasty shoulder injury,” Ines said. “Looks like some of it hit her chest, but I don’t think it hit anything vital. See if you can get this thing moving. I’ll dress the wound.” 

“Are you sure?” Yuni asked. 

“Yeah,” Ines said. “We have to stop the bleeding, or it won’t matter if anything vital was hit. But we also need to get back to Sirvanna and Alexa and find some way out of this mess.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

