Omicron Squad episode 65: Another One Down

“Are all the hook ups okay?” 

“Affirmative. The stimulus received by the unit is being relayed back here properly.” 

“Then we’ll begin the operation as soon as you’re ready, Zero.” 

“This unit is prepared.” 

“All right. Launch the robot!” 

*****

Wake up. We are under attack. I repeat, we are under attack. Report to the base’s entrance for defensive measures. 

Sirvanna rose quickly. Ines was already gone when she opened her eyes. She hurriedly dressed and made her way down the corridor. She encountered Naoko near the entrance. 

“What’s going on?” 

Some kind of hulking robot. If only Anya was here…

They were interrupted by a loud cracking when Blair was tossed through the door. Mary teleported between her and the wall, cushioning the impact with her body. The young girl was bleeding profusely. 

Get her to Florence. 

“Right away,” Mary said. She cradled Blair and was gone in an instant. 

You’d better get out there. 

“Right away,” Sirvanna said. She hurried outside. Alexa was in the air. Katelyn, Daisy and Elizabeth were standing together. Rose was trying to draw its fire. Ines was nowhere in sight. It was vaguely humanoid in shape with obviously thick armour. It was wider than it was tall, making it look somewhat flattened. 

“one, two,” Elizabeth counted “three.” Vines tore from the ground and wrapped around its stumpy right leg. Katelyn and Daisy seemed to be combining their powers in an effort to move the leg from underneath it, but the behemoth kept moving with no sign of difficulty. 

“Fall, damn you!” Alexa cried. Fierce winds slammed into the robot’s front. It turned its cylindrical head around to face her. Some kind of energy blast came from its eyes. Alexa was hurtled towards the base at terminal velocity. Katelyn turned away from the leg and hurriedly slowed Alexa to a gentle glide to her arms. 

“I don’t think falling is its thing,” she said. 

“Bit me,” Alexa muttered. 

“Where would you like me to?” Katelyn asked. 

Ines rushed from the base. She was carrying several belts filled with small cylindrical devices. 

“What is she…” Sirvanna began. 

Everyone get down. Ines borrowed explosives from Zhao’s lab. 

Ines ran up the robot’s back and began dropping her cargo. They clung to the robot when they came in contact with it. She had the entire thing covered and was getting down when they started going off. Ines was knocked to the ground. She landed on her back, her neck twisted at an unnatural angle. 

“Ines!” Sirvanna yelled. Mary emerged in a puff of smoke and grabbed the fallen speedster before quickly vanishing again. The robot was quickly reduced to rubble. 

Sirvanna rushed inside. 

Calm down. If anyone can save her… Naoko’s psychic message stopped short, she seemed to be considering what to say next. Sirvanna ran faster, toward’s Florence’s operating room.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

