Omicron Squad episode 68: Slight Push

Sirvanna strode down the corridor, a book tugged neatly under her arm. 

“Hey,” Yuni said. “I made some extra sandwiches. Would you like one?” 

Sirvanna walked past her, acknowledging neither her statement nor her presence. 

She went directly towards the medical ward and shuffled inside. Florence was shining a light into Ines’s eyes when she came in. 

“No change,” Florence said. “I’ll leave you two alone.” She walked out. 

Sirvanna sat down beside Ines’s bed. A plate of sausages, eggs, broccoli and an orange had been left on the stand. 

“You’re looking beautiful,” Sirvanna said. “though you could use a haircut. When you wake up I’ll have to take you out somewhere nice.” She stroked Ines’s forehead. “It has to be terrible for you. I know you can’t stand staying still. Here, I’ll help you occupy your mind, at least.” 

Sirvanna opened the book and started reading out loud. “It was a nice day. All the days had been nice…”

*****

Yuni, Alena, come to the conference room. 

Katelyn, come to the conference room. 

Alexa, come to the conference room. 

Naoko hesitated for a moment before reaching her mind out again. Sirvanna come to the conference room. 

Alexa arrived first. She was quickly followed by Yuni and Alena. Katelyn ran in a few minutes later. 

“I swear,” Katelyn said. “That mental alarm always goes off when you’re in the middle of something.” 

“Now that we’re all here,” Yuni said. “Can you tell us what our mission is?” 

You’re not all here yet. 

“What do you mean?” Yuni asked. “You can’t have…” 

Sirvanna walked in. She took a seat and stared at Naoko. 

I know you’re all still reeling from Ines’s injuries, but we can’t give you any more time to recover. We are in a war, after all. 

“Save the pleasantries and get to the pint,” Sirvanna said. 

Very well. There’s a munitions factory in Morristown that I want you to sneak into and destroy. Supposedly, they’re manufacturing some new and very dangerous devices there. I’d send Ryu, but he’s on another mission right now. I have a craft waiting in the hangar. You can eat on your way. 

“Got it,” Sirvanna said. “Let’s hurry this up.” She headed out of the room without looking at her team. 

“You can’t send Sirvanna,” Yuni protested. “She should stay here with Ines.” 

“I hate to agree with the overly optimistic,” Alexa said “but she has a point. Sirvanna’s done nothing these past weeks but sit at Ines’s side and read books. She barely eats and I doubt she’s in much shape to fight or give orders.” 

Alena will take command of this operation. 

“So Sirvanna,” Yuni began.

Will still be going. Naoko looked from Yuni to Alena to Alexa to Katelyn. How much good do you think it’s doing her to stay around here? She needs to focus her mind on other things for a while. 

“Still…” Alexa began. 

“We understand,” Yuni said. “Come on, Sirvanna’s waiting.” She headed out with Alena by her side. Katelyn hesitated for a moment before following after them. 

Alexa stared at Naoko for a moment. “Do you really think this s the best way to help her?” 

No. But it’s the best we’re in a position to manage. 

“I suppose,” Alexa said. “I just don’t like the idea of her getting us all killed.” 

Do you think she’s in that bad a state? 

“Yes,” Alexa said. “You don’t know how bad this whole situation has been for her.” 

I know more than you give me credit for. 

*****

“Is it alright to just leave it like that?” Alena asked. 

“It’s fine,” Yuni said, smiling. “After all, she wants to help Sirvanna too.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Omicron Squad episode 68: Slight Push

  1. L. Robinson says:

    Very cool stuff! I’m drawn in. Now I’ll have to go back to the beginning!

Leave a Reply

