Omicron Squad episode 70: Pinned

“We need a plan, fast,” Alexa said. 

“I have one,” Alena said. “Take out the power lines. Yuni, destroy any light sources that are still functional out here. I’ll go in and plant the explosives. The rest of you hold the guards at bay.” 

“Maybe I should go with you,” Yuni said. “To watch out for you.” 

“No,” Alena said. “All the guards will be here.You four will have to hold them.” Alena leaned forward and quickly kissed Yuni. “Be careful.” 

“You too,” Yuni said. 

Alexa took to the skies. She gestured and a tornado hurriedly formed. around the power lines. They dropped and the alarm stopped. The lights went out. Save for a few searchlights on top of the building. She swooped down to join Sirvanna and Katelyn, who were engaging the initial wave of guards. 

Yuni put her hands together with her palms stretched out. A burst of light blasted across the rooftop, destroying everything it touched. Soon, the area was covered in darkness. Alena ran around the building and vanished. 

*****

Alena made her way to the back entrance. There were five soldiers standing at watch, apparently having anticipated that the commotion could be a diversion. She watched them for a moment. Four of them turned at the sound of an explosion. Alena ran fr the fifth, snapping his neck before he spotted her. She picked up his pistol and hurriedly fired four rounds. The remaining guards dropped. She hurried inside. 

*****

Sirvanna hurled crimson lightning at the guards. Those closest to the doorway managed to duck inside. The rest fell into spasms. 

“Talk about unprepared,” Katelyn said. Several guns lifted from the ground and began firing into the doorway. 

“They probably weren’t expecting trouble,” Yuni said. 

“Or they’ve got something lying in wait,” Sirvanna said. “And these guys are just slowing us down.”

“Ever the voice of optimism,” Katelyn said. 

Sirvanna threw some lightning bolts at the door. 

“Did the door kill your puppy?” Katelyn asked. 

“I saw something coming,” Sirvanna said. 

Several armoured soldiers shuffled out. Sirvanna tossed some bolts their way, but they seemed unfazed and promptly opened fire. Sirvanna, Katelyn and Yuni hurriedly ducked behind cover. 

Alexa blasted the ground in front of them with a heavy wind, causing dirt and debris to pile on top of them. They started firing in the air. 

“What kind of suits are those?” Sirvanna wondered. 

“Leftover props from a super sentai show,” Katelyn said. 

“I’ve seen those before,” Yuni said. “That’s the armour the soldiers who captured me and Katelyn wore.” She rose for a brief instant to fire off several light daggers. 

“At least one of us got the chance to see them,” Katelyn said. 

“Only because Alena woke me up,” Yuni said. “There was a dead soldier wearing one nearby. But Ines took him away before he could explode.” 

“Explode?” Katelyn asked. “Why did he explode?” 

“The suits are probably designed to self destruct when their wearer goes down,” Sirvanna said. She rose and hurled several lightning bolts before ducking back down. 

“Interesting,” Katelyn said. “Let’s see if I can make some fireworks.” She focused her mind. 

*****

Alena ran deeper into the plant. They were making some kind of armoured suits. She recognised the design from somewhere but she couldn’t quite place it. She hurriedly dropped behind the assembly line. A small group of armoured soldiers came in. Their eye pieces were glowing green. Why would they… Night vision. She hurriedly dropped from sight. Had they… 

A bullet soaring above her head answered the question for her. 

*****

The soldiers were advancing steadily, but carefully. A blast from Yuni dropped one of them. The others ignored her fall. Some fired at Yuni, others fired at the flying Alexa. 

“They must have some kind of device that keeps them from detonating when allies are nearby,” Sirvanna said. She nodded at Yuni. The two rose simultaneously to fire blasts of light and lightning before dropping back down. 

One of the soldiers in the middle of the formation blew up, dropping all the nearby soldiers and sending others hurling away in all directions. The surviving soldiers quickly fell back. 

“Found the destruct mechanism,” Katelyn said. She reached out again. Only to reel back in pain. 

“What’s wrong?” Yuni asked. 

“Some kind of feedback,” Katelyn said. “They must have anti-psychic defenses.”

“I wonder why they didn’t activate earlier,” Yuni said. 

“Power drain probably,” Sirvanna said. 

Alexa touched down beside them. “I need to rest,” she said. 

“You don’t have much time,” Sirvanna said. “They’re getting back into formation.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Omicron Squad episode 70: Pinned

  1. L. Robinson says:

    I’m getting hooked!

Leave a Reply

