Omicron Squad episode 71: Alena Breaks Through

“What should we do?” Yuni asked. 

“Maybe if we ask them nicely they’ll let us go with a warning,” Katelyn said. 

“You think?” Yuni asked. 

“We have to keep pummeling them,” Sirvanna said. “If we can drain their power enough, Katelyn should be able to trigger their destruct sequences.” 

She rose, fired off a burst of lightning and promptly ducked back into place. 

*****

Alena waited for the bullets to subside before acting. She ripped the assembly equipment from the ground and hurled it at her armoured opponents. Several were pinned beneath it. Unconscious, maybe dead. Alena didn’t care. She had to move. 

She ran towards the remaining soldiers. Several started opening fire, the bullets coming disconcertingly close to hitting her. Some kind of targeting device?

She punched one right through the face-plate, smashing his flesh open, and hurriedly pulled his body in front of her to catch several bullets that were headed for her. She tossed the corpse at two soldiers clustered together and ran for a third. She pounced on the woman, pulling the gun from her hands and snapping her back against her knee. She dropped her onto the ground and hastily made for the remaining guards. 

They’d extricated themselves from the corpse and started opening fire. Alena leapt into the air and came down with a twisting kick, slamming one of her opponents into the floor, leaving dented steel splintering upwards. 

The final soldier turned towards Alena, shaking hands trying to get a bead on Alena. Alena didn’t give her a chance. A swift roundhouse kick hurled the weapon from her hands. Alena grabbed the woman by the throat with one hand. “Monster!” she spat. “You and all your damned kind.”

Alena snapped her neck. 

*****

“They’re getting close again,” Alexa said. 

“No choice,” Sirvanna whispered. “We’re going to have to get in the open.” 

“Nothing can go wrong,” Katelyn said. “We’re only outnumbered three to one.” 

“On three,” Sirvanna said. She held one finger up, then two, then three. The our scrambled out of cover.

Katelyn moved back to further cover, telekinetically tossing some debris at the enemy on her way. 

Alexa took to the air blasting the enemy with wind. 

Yuni propelled herself upwards with a burst of light.

Sirvanna launched herself into the enemy line. Blasting everyone who cam close with a burst of lightning. 

“How reckless,” Yuni said. 

“I don’t know,” Alexa said. “It’s hard for them to get a good shot like that.” 

“We still have to help,” Yuni said. “I’m just not sure how.” 

“I do,” Alexa said. “Land and start doing that thing where you gather power.” Alexa said. She swooped down to Katelyn. “I need you to pull Sirvanna out.” 

“No way,” Katelyn said. “I may be fun-loving but I’m not crazy enough to get in the open.” 

“Just do it,” Alexa said. “Trust me, you’ll be fine. Besides, Sirvanna can’t last long in there.” 

Katelyn did as she was told. Sirvanna hurled bolts even as her body was flying backwards. 

Alexa’s eyes went white. A powerful twister formed around the enemy soldiers, ripping them into the air. “Yuni,” she said, speaking through grit teeth. “Hurry.” 

Yuni didn’t speak. Her body was glowing. Occasionally a bolt of excess power would hit the ground. She waited until it felt like the pain would rip her body apart and released. Sirvanna, Katelyn and Alexa all averted their eyes from the blindingly brilliant burst. It hit Alexa’s tornado, forcing it to dissipate. The blast lasted for several seconds. Yuni collapsed. 

Katelyn waited for a moment for her vision to return and gazed at the result. The enemies bodies and suits had all fused into one solid mass of flesh and steel.

“That is both the most disgusting and yet strangely awesome thing I’ve ever seen,” Katelyn said.

Sirvanna bent down and checked Yuni’s vitals. “She’s okay. I think she just used too much power.”

They heard several explosions coming from the building. Alena ran out, fire and smoke at her heels. She rolled across the ground,  landing in front of them. 

“You okay?” Katelyn asked. 

Alena stood up and brushed herself off. Her clothes and hair were singed. Her back was covered with second, possibly third degree burns and her right hand was bleeding. 

“I’ll be okay,” she said. “Yuni?” 

“She’ll be fine,” Sirvanna said. “She just needs rest.” 

“Good,” Alena said. “I’ll carry her.” 

“Is that a good idea with your injuries?” Alexa asked.

Alena looked directly into her eyes. “I’ll carry her,” she repeated. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

