Omicron Squad episode 78: Miscalculation

“Sound like the party’s started,” Katelyn said, referring to the noises coming from outside the base. “And I didn’t even walk in.” 

“They can handle it,” Alena whispered. “We just have to hurry.” 

“Right,” Katelyn said. “Plant the stuff, get out, escape. Have Naoko stamp our blown up buildings card so that we can get a prize.” 

“Keep quiet,” Alena whispered. 

“You really think they’d hear me over that racket?” Katelyn asked, lowering her voice. “Aren’t we jumpy? Is it because your cute girlfriend is out there without you?” 

“Yes,” Alena whispered. “They won’t be able to hold them off for long.” 

The two hurried deeper into the building. 

“This place sure is empty,” Katelyn muttered. 

“We’re lucky,” Alena whispered. “They must all be fighting the others.” The two came to the main assembly line. 

“I’ll set the explosives,” Alena said. “Watch my back.”

“You sure you don’t want me to watch the doors?” Katelyn asked. Alena ignored her and went to work. 

Katelyn scanned the area. Nothing to worry about at all. Just an empty room with some machinery. Her eyes went to Alena’s back for a moment. There was a red dot near her neck. 

“Get down!” Katelyn screamed.

*****

“Aren’t they done yet?” Alexa asked. She gestured and a heavy wind hurled a clump of dirt, rocks and bricks at the advancing enemy troops. 

“I’m sure they’ll be done soon,” Yuni said. She peeked out from cover long enough to hurl some light daggers and quickly ducked back as bullets tore into the wall near her. 

“We’re at a disadvantage,” Sirvanna noted. “If they were normal soldiers we could beat them, but with that damn armour…” She stuck her hand out of cover and fired bolts of lightning. 

“It’ll be any minute,” Yuni said. “Alena won’t fail.” 

“The commotion seems to be coming from further away now,” Alexa noted. 

Sirvanna listened for a moment. “You’re right.” 

“What does that mean?” Yuni asked. 

“They found the others,” Alexa said. 

“No way!” Yuni cried. The three dared to peek for a moment. They saw the doors torn from their hinges. and a blurry figure rushing towards them. Several search lights came on, following the figure. Alena fell to the ground in front of them, dropping Katelyn. Alexa was in the air that instant. A whirlwind formed around the duo and pulled them behind cover. 

“Are they okay?” Yuni asked. 

“I don’t like this ride anymore,” Katelyn muttered. Yuni gasped. Katelyn’s shoulder was bleeding badly. 

“They were waiting for us inside,”  Alena explained. “She saved my life., but she took a bullet doing it.”

“I don’t want to be a hero anymore,” Katelyn said, the wry smile still on her face. “I just want an arm that works again.” 

“Did you at least set the explosives?” Alexa asked. 

Alena shook her head. 

“Do we run?” Yuni asked. 

“We stay,” Sirvanna said “and finish the mission.” She hurled more bolts at the enemy soldiers.

“It’s kind of a bad situation,” Alexa said. She gestured and a couple of small twisters started chasing the enemy soldiers.

“Outnumbered, outgunned and outmaneuvered,” Katelyn said. “I think it’s time to make like brave Sir Robin.” 

“Who’s that?” Yuni asked. 

 “Keep holding them off,” Alena said. “I’ll check in.” She picked up her radio. “Naoko, come in. This is Omicron.” 

A cheerful voice answered them. “Yeah, yeah, this is Florence.” 

“I guess Naoko doesn’t have that phone voice,” Katelyn said.

“We’re pinned and we’ve got injured,” Alena said. “Requesting new instructions.” 

“Please wait a moment,” Florence said. She returned to the line after a few minutes. “Hold tight Omicron. We’ve got backup on the way. Should rendezvous with you quickly.” 

“Understood,” Alena said. She cut the transmission. 

“This is how I die,” Katelyn muttered. 

“Will backup really be here in time?” Alexa asked. 

“It’ll be fine,” Yuni said. “I’m sure they wouldn’t leave us out here if it wouldn’t be.” 

“I just hope t’s not Omega Theta Sigma,” Alexa said. “If that woman had to save me I’d never hear the end of it.” 

“You mean Anya?” Yuni asked.

“Still,” Alena said. “We need a plan until they arrive.” 

“I’ve got one,” Sirvanna said. “I’ll go out there and keep them occupied. That should buy the rest of you time.” 

“You can’t!” Yuni cried. “Absolutely not!” 

“We don’t have any other choice,” Sirvanna said. “If Ines ever wakes up… tell her I’m sorry.” Sirvanna ran from cover before anyone else could protest. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

