Omicron Squad episode 79: Backup

“Alexa,” Alena said. “Bring her back, fast.” 

“I can’t,” Alexa said. “I used most of my power on those tornadoes. I’ll need time to do anything besides summon a little breeze.” 

“Katelyn?” Alena asked. 

“I don’t think I can bring her back right now,” Katelyn said. “I’ll try, but I’m not exactly my usual telekinetic goddess self right now.”

*****

Sirvanna rolled towards the enemy, lightning bolts flowing around her. 

Can’t hold back. 

She grasped an opponent’s armour for just a second, sending lightning surging through it. he dropped and kicked one’s feet from under him. She felt a nudge on her back and sent a burst backwards, it didn’t connect to anything. 

What was that? Can’t worry about it. Have to keep moving. 

She weaved and dodged through the enemy line. Never stopping or slowing, firing bolts as she cut a path of destruction. 

That’s the way. Keep it up and I may even… 

Her thoughts were cut off as she tripped over a small stone. Several enemy soldiers pointed their guns and fired. 

Damn!

Sirvanna closed her eyes almost instinctively but nothing happened. 

Missed? How? 

She opened her eyes. Several bullets were scattered on the ground near her. Several enemies were dead on the ground, their necks sliced open. Sirvanna felt herself being scooped up and hurriedly whisked back to cover. 

Alena? In this light? Or… 

“That was a stupid move,” Alexa chided. 

“Thank goodness you’re okay!” Yuni cried, practically jumping. Alena was by her side. 

Sirvanna’s heart skipped. Was it really…

“Honestly, you guys can’t do anything without me.” 

Sirvanna looked up so quickly she nearly hurt her neck. 

It is.

“Ines,” her voice was practically a whisper. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

