Omicron Squad episode 86: Situation Worsens

“Stay together!” Sirvanna yelled.

“I’ll distract them,” Ines said.

“Wait…” Sirvanna began, but she was gone.

“I’ll help her,” Alena said,  running after her.

“So much for staying together,” Katelyn muttered.

*****

Zhao?

“What does Naoko want?” 

Naoko looked around the workshop. It was unusually bare. Just about everything had been side-lined. Zhao was working on a large device that she couldn’t begin to guess the function of. 

I came to see if you had more robots, but it looks like you sent them all. 

“Zhao did,” Zhao said. “If Naoko would excuse her, Zhao is very busy.” 

Just what are you doing in here?

“Naoko doesn’t need to know.” 

Naoko reached her mind out, trying to gently reach into Zhao’s. But…

That helmet, what’s it for?

“This is a tool that Zhao developed to guard against psychic attacks or spies,” Zhao said. “Did Naoko try to peek into Zhao’s mind?” 

Of course not. I’ll just be running back to the control centre.

*****

“We have to get back to the base!” Jenny cried.

“Agreed,” Sirvanna said. “But that could be a challenge.” 

Mary teleported out to them. 

“Hurry, take my hand,” she said. “I’ll get you…” an energy beam hit her from behind and she dropped. 

Anya hurriedly raised a shield around the group. 

“She alive?” Anya asked. 

“She is,” Christina said. “Might have a concussion though.” 

“Ines!” Sirvanna called. Ines weaved and dodged her way through enemy fire, hurriedly returning. Anya opened the shield just long enough to let her in. 

“Can you get her out of here?” Sirvanna asked. 

“Leave it to me,” Ines said. She scooped Mary up and left the shelter of Anya’s shield. 

“Can we get back like this?” Amy asked. 

“No,” Jenny said. “Anya can’t hold out against this much power for long. “We’ll have to make a dash for it.” 

“Alright,” Sirvanna said. “It isn’t too far away.”

“Anya,” Jenny said. “Drop the shield in three and we’ll make a run for it. Turn to attack periodically to keep them off our backs.” 

“Th…” Anya grimaced. “That might not be a good id… idea.” 

“Just do it,” Jenny said. “You can’t keep this up.” 

Anya dropped the shield and the groups ran. 

After a couple seconds Anastasia turned to throw a wall of flames between them and pursuit. 

“That should keep us safe for the moment!” she called. A huge surge of rocks and rubble towered over the wall and came crashing down. 

“Run!” Sirvanna yelled. Alexa flew up and tried to slow the slide with winds, but it had too much momentum. It crashed over Jenny, two members of Epsilon were buried. Anastasia was buried up to her waist. 

“Are you okay?” Callie asked. 

“Can’t feel… my legs,” Anastasia said. 

Jenny punched her way out of the rubble and ran over. She pushed the rubble off of Anastasia. 

Anya floated over the area where Epsilon’s members had vanished and scooped them out. One of the women seemed fine. The other was bleeding pretty badly. 

“What happened while I was gone?” Ines asked.

“No time to explain,” Sirvanna said. “Get her inside.” 

“Which one?” Ines asked. Sirvanna pointed to the girl from Epsilon.

Ines grabbed her and was gone again.

Jenny picked Anastasia up and continued their run. 

Ines quickly returned for Anastasia. Rose, Erin and their teams were behind her. 

“We’re here to help,” Rose said. “Let’s get you out of here.” 

“I’ll keep the rear,” Alena said, reappearing. 

“Will you be okay?” Yuni asked. 

“I’m fine,” Alena said. “I can do this much.”

Katelyn turned to trip several enemies up. 

“Alena!” she cried. 

Yuni turned to see what had happened. Alena had been hit by a blast and was lying still, enemies closing in on her. 

Yuni fired several beams of light and ran back to stand between the oncoming enemies and Alena. 

“Shit!” Sirvanna cried. “Keep going, we’ll catch up.” She ran back to help. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

