Omicron Squad episode 87: Costly Retreat

Yuni fired blast after blast. Sirvanna ran to her side and hurled some lightning bolts. 

“We have to fall back,” Sirvanna said. “Before they overwhelm us.” 

“I won’t go without her,” Yuni said. Even if they tear me to pieces, I… I won’t let them touch her!” 

A brilliant burst of light came from her body and cut into the enemy front line with concussive force. Knocking back a half dozen enemies. 

“Ladies,” Ines said.

“Good timing,” Sirvanna said. “Grab Alena and get her to base.” 

“Yes, Dear,” Ines said. 

“Come on,” Sirvanna said. “She’s safe.” 

“Okay,” Yuni said. 

The two turned and headed back toward the group. Objects, metallic and otherwise hurled themselves at the enemy line. Energy blasts came from their opponents in response. Both Katelyn and Daisy were hit. 

“Glad you’re back,” Jenny said. She had Katelyn over one shoulder, Daisy over the other. “Double time, Ladies, we don’t have that far left.” 

“We still have to halt their advance,” Anya said. She flew back towards the enemy. Alexa followed behind her. 

“I’ll go get them.” 

“What the hell are you doing?” Alexa demanded. 

“I’m slowing them down,” Anya said. “Hurry up and regroup with the others.” 

“You are not staying behind,” Alexa said. “You’ll die.” 

“So will you if you don’t hurry,” Anya said. “Just re…” she was hit from behind and fell unconscious. 

“Pick her up and get,” Elisabeth said. 

“What about you?” Alexa asked. 

“Let the old sacrifice for the next generation,” Elisabeth said. “Now move! You want to save her or not?” 

Alexa took Anya in her arms and flew back towards the base. She didn’t look back. 

Elisabeth glanced to make sure she was going and then she put her hands to the ground. A massive wall of stone and dirt erupted from the ground behind her. She slammed a fist into the ground and the wall hurled spikes towards the approaching line of enemies. Elisabeth was having trouble seeing, could barely keep her feet, but she kept going. Loosing barrage after barrage until an enemy golem pounced on her with a feral scream. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

