Omicron Squad episode 92: Fateful Decision

They blindfolded Sirvanna this time around. she could hear steps both behind and in front of her. She could hear Suzy telling Ines to lean on her. 

They marched for what felt like hours when they finally removed the blindfold. They were in some kind of large chambre. The lights were dim and there was only one exit. Bits of machinery were organised in piles. 

Zhao approached and looked her over. “So,” Zhao said. “This is the otherworld’s Sirvanna.” She turned to Suzy. “How much did you see in her mind?” 

“I saw enough,” Suzy said. “I saw her fighting alongside Katelyn, Alena, Ines, Yuni and Alexa. I saw them fighting with Jenny and Omega Theta Sigma. I saw Michael sacrifice himself, not get assassinated. I saw her and Ines madly in love.”  Sirvanna felt a pang of annoyance. Just how deeply had this woman invaded her mind? 

“Me?” Ines asked. 

“The other world’s you,” Zhao said. “Interesting very interesting. So, how did she get here?” 

“Their world’s you sent her by accident,” Suzy answered. “She was trying to make a time machine.” 

“I did?” Zhao asked. “I suppose it would have had to be me.” 

“Wait,” Sirvanna said. “Did you just speak in the first person?” 

“Doesn’t everyone?” Zhao asked. 

“You don’t,” Sirvanna said. “At least the you in my world doesn’t.” 

“Well, there are bound to be differences,” Zhao said. “The important question is, how do we send you back? I’m afraid I don’t have the parts to make anything that could potentially send someone dimension hopping.” 

Florence came in through the door. She looked haggard. “We lost contact with Yuni,” she reported. She walked over to Ines. Her hand went over the wound on her leg and glowed with a bright light. Within a few seconds it was repaired.

“Speaking of differences,” Sirvanna said. “Our Florence is nowhere near that powerful.” 

“You shut your damn mouth,” Anastasia snapped. “I say we kill her and be done with it.” 

“Don’t be so hasty,” Zhao said. “Suzy says she’s very different from our world’s Sirvanna and I believe her.”

“You can’t be serious,” Anastasia said. 

“I am,” Zhao said. “Our Sirvanna would have struck by now. Possibly killing two or three of us. The question we have to ask is, now that we have Sirvanna’s proverbial good twin, what do we do with her?” 

*****

“Zhao needs a bite to eat,” Zhao said. “Zhao is very hungry.” 

It can wait. First, figure out how to tune that thing to Sirvanna’s coordinates and bring her back. 

“Hold on,” Jenny said. “We all know Zhao messed up, but we can’t force her to rush. It could lead to even more problems. What we should do is let her break and rest so she can return with a clear mind.” 

“You’re only saying that because of your relationship,” Ines said. 

“That may be true,” Alena says. “But she has a point.” 

Fine. Naoko turned to Zhao. Take a few hours. Eat, have a nap and get back here and fix this mess. 

*****

“Look,” Sirvanna said. “I don’t know what I’ve done in this world, but if I can fix it, even just a little, I’d like to.” 

Suzy, Zhao, Ines, Florence and Anastasia gathered in a circle. There were no whispers, no words at all. They were probably communicating telepathically. 

After a while they broke up and turned to her. “If you mean that,” Zhao said. “Then we have a task for you. It’ll be really dangerous, though.” 

“I’m used to danger,” Sirvanna said. “What would you have me do?” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

