Omicron Squad episode 95: Through the looking glass

Sirvanna ducked underneath a bolt from her counterpart. 

“What are you? A clone? Made by that little witch, Zhao no doubt.” Sirvanna and she both fired bolts of lightning, hitting each other. It was an odd sensation, but it didn’t hurt. 

The other Sirvanna drew her swords. “Guess my power doesn’t work on myself. I’ll just have to slice you open.” 

Sirvanna backed away, keeping out of reach of the swinging blades. She fired a bolt of lightning at her opponent, hoping to force the blades out of her hands, but she held on without a problem. 

Sirvanna felt her back go against a wall. Her doppelganger smirked and tried to bring her swords down on Sirvanna’s head. Sirvanna acted quickly. She  executed a sweeping kick, knocking her opponent’s legs out and sending her falling to the ground, blades scattered to the floor. She hurriedly scooped one up, but her enemy grabbed the other. 

The two circled warily around each other for a moment. Her alt made the first move, lunging forward with a vicious slashing attack. Sirvanna brought her own blade up to block and shoved the sword back. She tried to jab her opponent in the gut while she was off balance, but she recovered too quickly and managed to parry the swing. 

*****

“Zhao is just about done,” Zhao said. “Other Yuni can go home soon.” 

“We can’t just make her go,” Florence said. “Not in her condition.” 

You don’t have to go if you don’t want to. We could use your abilities. 

“I appreciate that,” the other Yuni said. “I really do. But I have to return home. Nessy, Zhao, Elizabeth… they all need me.” 

“You’ll have to return to a world without Alena,” Alexa said. “Can you handle that?” 

She hung her head for a moment and then nodded. “Yeah. Seeing your world, seeing myself and Alena being able to live happily together… Somehow it gives me strength.” She walked over to Yuni and Alena. She put their hands together. “Take care of each other.” 

Alena nodded. 

“You can count on me,” Yuni said. “I’ll never lose Alena!” 

“Zhao is ready,” Zhao cried. “Other Yuni will have five minutes to get Sirvanna and tell her to come back.” 

“She’ll land near her, right?” Ines asked, leaning over Zhao. 

“She should,” Zhao said. 

The other Yuni smiled, faintly. She walked over to the machine. It activated with a low hum, revealing the portal. She grabbed Ines’ hand and placed it into Zhao’s. “And you two take care of each other too.” She hurriedly ran through the tear. 

Ines and Zhao looked down at their hands, over at each other and hurriedly separated. 

“Does this mean you two are an item?” Katelyn asked. 

“No,” Ines said. 

“Zhao only cares about Jenny,” Zhao said. 

*****

Yuni saw Ines being chased by a couple robots when she came through. There were machine parts scattered on the floor. She blasted them with a beam of light. 

“Yuni!” Ines cried. She ran up to her and hugged her. “We were so worried. You just disappeared. Where were you? And how did…” 

“Nessy,” Yuni said. “I’ll explain later. Now, this is going to sound insane, but have you seen a strange Sirvanna from another world?” 

“She’s sword fighting our Sirvanna,” Ines said. “Why?” 

“She needs to go through there,” Yuni said, nodding at the portal, “and fast.” 

“Understood,” Ines said. 

***** 

The blade came down. Sirvanna felt it sink into the flesh of her left arm. She grimaced as it poked through and the bloody blade stopped inches from her face. Still, this was a chance! She pivoted around and thrust. Her own blade went into the other Sirvanna’s chest, puncturing her heart. 

“You are really hard on yourself,” Ines said. “Here, let me help you.”

“The explosives?” Sirvanna asked. She pulled the blade from her arm. 

“Getting set,” Ines said. “but you have to hurry. Your exit is here.” She led Sirvanna over to the portal. “Your world is through there. I’m sorry we have to send you back without bandages or anything.” 

“It’s okay,” Sirvanna said. “After all the pain I caused…” 

“Not you,” Ines interrupted. “Our Sirvanna may have caused it, but you’re nothing like her. If she as like you… I could have loved her.” 

“It’s odd,” Sirvanna said. “She was so… different from me. Yet you’re so much like my Ines. I could fall just as deeply in love with you as I did with her.” 

Ines kissed her. “Thank you. Now hurry up, before it closes or you bleed so much that it becomes a real emergency.”

Sirvanna nodded and leaped through the portal.  

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

