Omicron Squad episode 97: Connections

“When does the cast come off?” Yuni asked. 

“A couple weeks,” Sirvanna said. “And I’m supposed to see Florence every day or it’ll take longer.” 

“At least she let you stay in your own room,” Alena said. 

“Lucky me,” Ines muttered. 

“Ooh, trouble in paradise,” Katelyn said. 

“Ines is still mad about me kissing the other dimension’s Ines,” Sirvanna said. 

“I can understand her feelings,” Yuni said. “I got jealous seeing the other Yuni snuggle up to Alena. If they’d kissed… I can only imagine how bad I’d feel.” 

“Good thing that Alena resisted the temptation,” Katelyn said. 

Alena shook her head “Not a temptation.” 

“They looked exactly alike,” Katelyn said. “Are you really saying you weren’t tempted?” 

“Looked the same,” Alena said. “But they weren’t the same here.” She pointed to her head. “And that’s why I love her.” 

“Aahh,” Yuni squealed. “I love you for your mind too.” She kissed Alena’s cheek. 

They heard a knock on the door. Sirvanna went to answer it. 

“I’m here,” Alexa said. “Why did you call all of us over?” 

“Well isn’t someone all business,” Ines said. 

“Sh doesn’t know how to react to being in close proximity with five other beautiful women,” Katelyn said. 

“If I was near five I’d worry about that,” Alexa said. 

“Ouch,” Katelyn said. “We were having a good time and then you come in and start insulting Sirvanna.” 

“Who said she was the problem?” Alexa asked. 

“That’s enough,” Sirvanna said. “Alexa, take a seat, please. I know you’re all wondering why I’ve gathered you here…”

“To play Curious Dares, the world’s most swinging card game?” Katelyn asked.

Ines started chuckling next to her. 

“The recent dimension hopping thing got me thinking,” Sirvanna said. “We need to make the most of the time we have. We don’t know when one or more of us are going to be lost in this war. I think we should get together once a week.” 

“And play Curious Dares?” Katelyn asked. 

“No,” Sirvanna said. “But I’m not opposed to… non-adult games.” 

“Just the six of us?” Alexa asked. 

“For the moment,” Sirvanna said. “But if anyone wants to invite someone else that would be fine.” 

“I think it’s a great idea!” Yuni cried. 

“Next time I’ll invite the nurse,” Katelyn said.

“I’m in,” Alexa said. “So, what are we doing tonight?” 

“I’ve got a game I could get,” Alena said. “Hold on.” 

“Can I use the sky blue dice?” Yuni asked. Alena nodded. 

*****

Jenny, come in. 

“We just finished dismantling the machine,” Jenny said. 

I know. I didn’t call you over that. 

“Then why am I here?” Jenny asked. 

I’ve received some disturbing reports. Put your squad on alert. They’re going to come soon. 

“I understand,” Jenny said. “Have you put the other squads on alert?” 

All except Omicron. It isn’t so close that I have to disturb their merriment. 

“Let them have a little fun, huh?” Jenny asked. “Okay, I’ll get the girls ready.” 

*****

“Damn dice,” Katelyn said. “I’m going to die.”

“Don’t worry,” Yuni said. “I’ll save you. I’ll use cure moderate wounds.” 

“I’ll take out this gnoll,” Sirvanna said, rolling. “And I’ll use cleave against the next one.” 

“That’s some great cleavage,” Katelyn said. 

“She doesn’t have great cleave yet,” Yuni said. 

“I wasn’t talking about her skills,” Katelyn said. 

“Ohh,” Yuni said, she giggled a little. “I don’t get it.” 

*****

“Are we ready to commence the operation?” 

All forces are in position. The end game is nigh. 

“Excellent, give the order to begin. Zero, monitor the situation and send the Golems where they’re needed most.” 

Understood. 

“Hey!” 

“Doctor Preston? What is it?” 

“I want to know what Project Phoenix is,” she said. 

“Project Phoenix?” 

*****

“Thank you for having us,” Yuni said. “We had a wonderful time.” 

“Next time…” Katelyn began. 

“We are not playing that game,” Sirvanna interrupted. 

“Well that’s no fun,” Katelyn said. 

“I’ll head out too,” Ines said. 

“Wait,” Sirvanna said. “You should know… that is to say…” she cleared her throat. “The only reason I kissed her was that she was so much like you. I know, I shouldn’t have and I’m sorry.” 

“Roll for forgiveness,” Ines said, handing her a d20. 

Sirvanna took the offered die and rolled it. She watched as it vanished and reappeared on the floor. 

“Natural twenty,” Ines said. “Guess you’re lucky.” 

“Thank you,” Sirvanna said. “I know you chose the result yourself.” 

“You noticed?” Ines asked. She shrugged. “I guess I’m just not the type to stay mad. Still, it had better not happen again.” 

“I understand,” Sirvanna said. She pulled Ines close and tenderly kissed her. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

