Purification episode 7: Catching Up

Axra and Twila followed the hidden staircase for several minutes before reaching the bottom. 

Axra looked around the area. They were in some kind of rectangular chambre. It was mostly empty with some rubble scattered about and a single door. 

“Hold on a moment,” Twila said. “I’m going to use a darkvision spell.” She started to take a sitting position. 

“Wait!” Axra said. “There’s a sharp bit of rock under you.” She moved over and pushed it aside. 

“Thanks,” Twila said, taking a seat. “I can’t see a thing.” 

Axra studied Twila’s face while she chanted the spell. Trying to commit every detail to memory. She looked away as the chanting stopped. 

“That’s better,” Twila said. She examined the chambre. “Not much to see is there?” She shrugged her shoulders. “Let’s try the door.” 

“I’ll open it,” Axra said. “Stand back.” She opened the door cautiously. She could definitely hear something, a frantic scuttering. If it was something dangerous she wanted to shield Twila from it. She peered through the doorway. It was a long, tubular corridor. Roughly four metres tall. It looked smooth and vacant with a sharp turn two point seven metres away. 

“It looks clear,” Twila said. “Shall we?” 

Axra nodded. “Just let me take point, okay?” 

“If you insist,” Twila said. They walked steadily down the corridor. Axra listened for any sounds, her hand on her blade. She stopped at the corner. There was a low rumbling noise.

“You hear that?” Axra asked. 

“I do,” Twila said. “Fang, turn the corner and see what it is.” The little dragon flew off of her shoulder and rounded the corner, only to return scant seconds later. 

“Get back!” Twila yelled. Axra jumped backwards. A massive creature rounded the corner. It had a tube-like body, hundreds of tiny legs and pincers dripping with a slimy substance. 

Axra drew her blade while Twila started chanting a spell behind her. The creature ran forward, nearly throwing Axra into Twila. 

Axra hurriedly regained her feet, fully expecting its pincers to grab hold of her before she could prepare herself, but several arrows flew into it, halting its advancement. 

Axra grasped her sword and jabbed it into the monster several times. 

“Get back,” Twila said. Axra did as she was bidden. Twila snapped her fingers and several lances of light penetrated the creature. It thrashed about on its side for several seconds, growing slower and slower until it stopped moving. 

“Are you okay?” Twila asked. 

“Fine,” Axra said. “But where did those arrows come from?” 

The two looked back. A pink haired half elf was crouching with a bow. She had a torch propped up beside her. 

She put the bow down and looked directly at Axra, smiling. She opened her mouth as though to speak, but Axra made her move first. 

“Hey,” she said. “Thanks for your help. I’m Axra and this is my friend Twila Magia. What’s your name?” 

“Oh… ummm, pleased to meet you for the, umm first time. I’m Lilly… Lilly Valvye.” 

“Well Miss Valvye, you certainly helped us,” Twila said. “Did you come to explore the ruin as well?” 

“The ruin… oh, yes,” Lilly said. “I… love exploring, and stuff.”

“You should join us,” Twila said. “Your skills would be most helpful.” 

“Skills?” Lilly asked. “Me? That’s very… kind of you. I… I think I’ll do that.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

