Purification episode 31: The Great Library

It was several floors tall. There was very little space dedicated to anything but books with shelving close together, all the way from the floor to the ceiling, leaving only small openings to get through. Axra noted that the aisles were even smaller than the ones in her dad’s library. Twila led them to a small side room, smaller than any single room in Axra’s house.

“This is the sleeping area,” Twila explained. “If we need it.”

“Can we even all lie down in here?” Bonnie asked. 

“Don’t be shy, Bon,” Lysara said. “We’ll just snuggle together.” 

“Sounds good to me,” Reginald said. 

“Not you,” Lysara said. 

“Velvet and Reginald can stay in here,” Axra said. “The rest of us can squeeze into the aisles.” 

“I guess it would be okay,” Twila said. “Just be careful not to damage any of the books.” 

She stroked Fang’s head. “Fang, find me any books you can about the pre-cataclysm and the Djinn.” The dragon flew from her shoulder and went to work. By the time he returned, several hours had passed. 

“Is he going to be okay looking for those?” Lysara asked. 

“He’s an expert,” Twila said. “We simply don’t have many books about the Djinn anymore.”

“We… I… I’m sure you’re doing your best,” Lilly said. 

“Don’t worry,” Twila said. “If any information about Gail is here, we’ll find it.”

She and Fang went to work. Over the next week, she spent very little time eating or sleeping, devoting herself to her research. Fang would take frequent breaks when she had a book, resting his wings. 

“W… what do we do if she doesn’t find anything?” Lilly wondered. 

“Relax,” Axra said. “If Gail comes after you I’ll deal with her.” 

“It’s concerning,” Bonnie said. “Her dragon’s rummaged through just about every floor. How can a creature so supposedly powerful have left no information behind?” 

“Well she was alive, like forever ago, right?” Lysara asked. “There aren’t a lot of stories that pre-date the cataclysm.” 

“That’s another disturbing detail,” Bonnie said. “How is she still alive? A Goddess couldn’t be confined like that. What else could possibly live that long?” 

“A Titan!” Lysara declared. 

“Aren’t they all imprisoned in Tartarus?” Bonnie asked. 

“Well, maybe one got imprisoned before that and she was forgotten over time,” Lysara suggested. 

“I… I am the child of chaos, death and magic,” Lilly said. “Isn’t that what she said?”

“Something like that,” Axra said. “Excuse me for a moment.” 

She grabbed some water and took it over to Twila, who was sitting in the lotus position reading. “Here,” she said. “Drink this.” 

“Wha… wh… Oh, thanks,” Twila said. “You startled me for a moment there.” 

“Still haven’t found anything?” Axra asked. 

“No,” Twila admitted. “And I’ve been through almost every book that might have the information in this library.” 

“And if it’s not in the great library it’s not on this planet,” Axra said. “Wonderful.” 

“No…” Twila muttered. “Not on this planet but maybe… 

“Are you okay?” Axra asked. “You’re starting to ramble. Maybe you should get more sleep.” 

“Of course!” Twila continued as though she hadn’t heard Axra. “It was such an obvious place to look. I should have thought of it before.” She reached over and grabbed Axra’s hand. “Get the horses ready! Get everyone outside, we have to find my aunt Reira!” 

“Huh?” Axra asked. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

