Purification episode 32: Suspicions

“So, where are we headed?” Bonnie asked. 

“We’re going to travel to Jeriska,” Axra explained. “Twila says her Aunt Reira can help us.” 

“Her Aunt Reira has books that aren’t even in the Great Library?” Lysara asked. 

“That’s hard to believe,” Bonnie said. “Are you sure she isn’t up to something?” 

“I trust her implicitly,” Axra said. “If she says we can learn more from meeting her aunt then I don’t doubt it.” 

“I… I believe her too,” Lilly said. “A… after all… she’s, you know, never given us a reason to doubt her.” 

“Fine,” Bonnie said. “We’ll leave it at that. I’ll get Velvet and we’ll prepare the horses.” 

Bonnie went to the little room and dragged Velvet up. “Come on, we’ve got work to do.” 

“I was sleeping,” Velvet muttered. 

“Aren’t you always?” Bonnie asked. She waited until they were back outside. “Find out anything?” 

“No,” Velvet said. “The most suspicious thing he did was ask if I ever get pent up traveling with a bunch of women who are only interested in payapaya.” 

“He never vanished to send messages or anything?” 

“No,” Velvet said. “And I totally kept an eye on him at all times, like instructed.” 

“I still don’t like it,” Bonnie said. “What’s his angle?” 

“Maybe he’s just helpful,” Velvet said. 

“I don’t buy it,” Bonnie said. “No one offers their services for nothing. With Twila, she’s getting a chance to gain knowledge. Which seems to be an important thing to her. Although I’m still not so sure about her, to be frank. What does Reginald gain from helping us?” 

“Who knows,” Velvet shrugged. “Thinking about stuff like that is too much of a hassle.” 

“Well, keep watch over him,” Bonnie instructed. “Until we know for sure we can’t risk getting complacent.” 

*****

“We’ll be ready to move out soon,” Axra said. “Bonnie and Velvet left to make the preparations.” 

“That’s good,” Twila said. She rubbed her eyes and yawned. “Sorry, I haven’t been sleeping well.” 

“I know,” Axra said. “If you ride on my horse with me you can sleep and I can hold you steady so you don’t fall.” 

“That might be good,” Twila said. “You’ll wake me if there’s trouble?” 

“Of course,” Axra said. 

“Then I think I’ll accept,” Twila said. 

“So, why would your aunt know about Gail?” Axra asked. 

“Oh, that,” Twila said. “It’s not that she would know but the Djinn might and she can take us to them.” 

“I thought the Djinn were all dead,” Axra stated. 

“Most people do,” Twila said. “Sorry, I shouldn’t be talking about this.” She yawned again. “I’ve probably said too much already.” 

“Don’t worry about it,” Axra said. “I won’t say a word.” 

“You won’t have to,” Twila said. “She’ll know I told you.” Twila shrugged. “Can’t be helped, I suppose. I just hope she isn’t too mad.” 

*****

“I can’t believe we got through that,” Zero said. 

“Of course we did,” Axel said. “You got Elaine’s niece to speak for us.” 

“I just thought that there would be another diplomatic incident,” Zero said. “Possibly from a careless word.” 

“Are you saying I’ve got no tact, you Asshole?” Axel asked. 

“I never said that,” Zero said. “And it was brilliant of you to suggest cooperating to attack the League.” 

“The extra bodies’ll be helpful,” Axel said. “You’d better take care of Rachel while I’m gone.” 

“I’m not some monster,” Zero said. “Thanks to your actions, which I dearly hope Axra never finds out about, we know where they are. There’s no longer any necessity to sacrificing Rachel.” 

“Good,” Axel said. “Because if I find out you let her die, our long partnership is over.” 

“I will safeguard her completely,” Zero said. “When the dark elf Archmages arrive to aid me in undoing the Choltin spell, we’ll take her with us.” 

“Can’t believe you need a whole party to undo a single spell,” Axel scoffed. 

“Neither can I,” Zero said. “I fear the caster may be a legitimate child of one of the Gods. Unlike all those fools who claim a divine Sire to prop up their position. I just hope there isn’t some deeper scheme at work here.” 

“You’re being paranoid again,” Axel said. 

“Am I?” Zero asked. “Why cast such a powerful weather spell over one of our protectorates if not to keep me indisposed? With you leaving as well, I fear for the castle’s safety.” 

“Don’t worry,” Axel grasped Zero’s shoulders. “It’ll all work out. I’ll deal with the League. You’ll deal with the spell and everything will be back to normal.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

