Purification episode 43: Shin Trapped

“So, where are we headed, My Dear Ladies?” Reginald asked. 

“To the Academy,” Twila answered. “I need to find something that I can use against Gail.”

“D… do we really need to fight her?” Lilly asked. “Maybe… just maybe, if we plead our case she’ll see things our way and behave herself.”

 Axra let out a loud disapproving grunt and stuck her nose in the air.

“It was just an idea,” Lilly muttered. 

“It wouldn’t hurt to try talking with her,” Twila agreed. “But if that fails we’re going to need to be prepared to fight. Which means that we’re going to need some kind of artifact or spell that can stand against a half Goddess.”

Axra held up Todberührung. “She said this sword was Hephaestus’ work, right? So, if I can cut her with it won’t it kill her?” 

“Possibly,” Twila said. “But I wouldn’t want to go into a potential battle with a single blade to rely on. It’s not that I don’t trust your abilities, but I really don’t like the thought of you fighting while I stand back and hope for your success.” 

“I understand completely,” Axra said. “We’ll find you a weapon too and the two of us can make short work of Eritos or whatever she wants to call herself.” 

“Remember,” Lilly cautioned. “We… we’re going to try talking first.” 

“I’ve never been to the Academy before,” Lysara said. “I’ve heard it’s totally magnificent.” 

“It is quite pretty,” Twila stated. 

“How romantic,” Lysara said. “Don’t you think so, Bon?” 

“I wouldn’t know about things like that,” Bonnie answered. 

“No way!” Lysara cried. “You have to know about romance. You’re a girl!” 

“Always have been,” Bonnie said. “But that and this have nothing to do with each other.” 

“Twila, help me out,” Lysara said. “Girls need to know about romance, right?” 

“I shouldn’t think so,” Twila said. “Romance was never a part of my curriculum.” 

Reginald winked at Lysara. “You’ll find me quite well-versed in the romantic arts, Madame.” A stone flew backwards and barely missed hitting him in the face. “What? Where?” He looked around frantically. 

“Careful,” Bonnie said. “These roads aren’t great. You never know what the horses are going to kick up.” 

*****

It was yet another dilapidated building. “All right,” Shin said. “Gather up two groups of four to examine the inside. Everyone else will remain out here in case they try to escape. I’ll lead one and Caide will lead the other.” A dark elf woman nodded. 

“The Hestial League may have numbers, but they certainly don’t have any wealthy backers,” Caide quipped. 

“True enough,” Shin said. 

“Be careful in there,” she said. “Wouldn’t want a loose bit of ceiling falling on your head.” 

“I’m more worried about the League,” Shin said. 

“Assuming they’re in there instead of the buildings Mister Lulu or Axel went to check,” Caide said. 

The two led their parties in opposite directions. Shin kept a close eye on the shadows and the floors, hoping for some sign of the League. He hated the idea of his uncle being the one to find them. 

His team found their way to a large chambre. Probably a mess hall or a meeting room back when the building saw regular use. Right now, there was nothing inside except a large pile of rocks. 

Shin went inside first, shield ready. His team followed quickly behind him. Their final member paused for a moment when coming in. 

“Something wrong?” Shin asked. 

“I felt something… strange. Something magic,” she said. She stepped inside the chambre. Behind her, a stone wall slid over the door. 

“Damn,” Shin muttered. “A trap.” 

“Captain! The pile of rocks… it’s converging.” 

Shin looked over. The stones were indeed coming together. They quickly formed a large humanoid figure towering over them at nearly four metres tall. 

“A golem,” Shin muttered. “Approach it carefully,” he ordered. “We have to bring it down quickly and carefully.” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

