Purification episode 48: Delving Deep

Lysara returned looking dejected. She laid down on her sleeping bag and faced away from everyone. 

Bonnie returned roughly fifteen minutes after with a large amount of wood. “I’ll keep watch, Princess,” she said. 

“You can take the first watch,” Axra said. “Wake Velvet halfway through the night to take the second.” 

“Understood,” Bonnie stated. 

Axra took Lilly’s hand. “Come with me a moment,” she said. She led Lilly just out of sight of the camp. 

“W… what is it?” Lilly asked. 

Axra leaned forward. “What is going on with those two?” she whispered. “I know that you know.” 

“I… it’s none of my business, really,” Lilly said. “Or even… even yours.” 

“It could jeopardise our mission,” Axra argued. “If they’re bickering we need to get it resolved so they can work together. Don’t you agree?” 

“I… don’t… I don’t think it’ll be a problem,” Lilly muttered. 

“You know I trust you,” Axra said. “If you tell me that it won’t interfere with Bonnie’s skills, I’ll believe you and let it drop. So, is this going to affect Bonnie’s skills?” 

“I… it wo… it probab…it probably will,” Lilly stated. “But… but it isn’t something we can fix. Bonnie… she… she’s in love with Lysara. But, the thing is, she doesn’t want to admit it.” 

Axra was taken aback. She turned away from Lilly and looked towards the camp. “I wasn’t expecting that,” she said. “Don’t know what I was expecting… something I could fix, I suppose.” She sighed. “Thanks for telling me, though.” 

*****

They continued their trip the next morning with Lysara and Bonnie not talking to each other. Lysara kept glancing at Bonnie whereas Bonnie deliberately avoided looking at Lysara. 

Axra talked with Twila and Lilly. She avoided mentioning Bonnie’s situation but she did think about it. On one hand, it would be good for her if they got together. It would keep Lysara away from Twila. But that was a selfish thought and she was ashamed of it.

They finally reached the underground entrance. Like before, they left the horses with the dark elf guards. 

“Velvet, leave the dogs too,” Axra ordered. 

“Why?” Velvet asked. 

“Because we’re going into a dangerous area and I don’t want them hurt,” Axra stated. 

“What a pain,” Velvet muttered. “Now I gotta walk.” He got out of his wagon and reluctantly gave his dogs into the care of the dark elves. 

“Be good puppies okay, Vicki, Jaime, Leela, Turlough, Ace and Lucy,” Lilly said, speaking in a quiet, soothing manner. The dogs wagged their tails and looked up at her. 

Twila cast a darkvision spell on herself, Lilly, Lysara, Bonnie and Reginald before they proceeded downwards. 

Their guide took them to the city gates before returning to the surface. 

The group hurried through the city and to the tunnels on the other side. 

“So, the old city is through here?” Reginald asked. “Quite noisy for a taboo area.” 

“We aren’t in the old city yet,” Twila said. “These tunnels are used for several purposes.” She pointed to one that sloped very slightly downwards. “That one leads to the mines. And that one…” she pointed at one sloping slightly upwards “leads to some fields. They grow several kinds of edible mushrooms and other plants.”

“So, which one takes us to the old city?” Bonnie asked. 

“I don’t know,” Twila said. “The entrance was sealed off, remember? We’re going to have to find it.” 

“We’ll split into teams and search,” Axra said. “Lilly, Twila and I will check one area. Velvet and Lysara can check another. Reginald and Bonnie can check another. We’ll meet back here every hour and report. Come on, let’s go!” 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

