Purification episode 60: Challenge of the Steps

Twila gathered the group together while the dark elves were occupied with preparing for the day’s journey.

“We have to decide how to do this,” she stated.

“I thought we just had to guard from the front and rear,” Lysara said. “You did say that, right?”

“Positioning ourselves isn’t the problem,” Twila said. “It’s getting over the crevices. We can manage, but getting them over may prove difficult.”

“We’ll have to put the children and those in poor physical condition to the very front and very back,” Axra said. “Where it’ll be easier to help them.”

“I… I don’t think that’s the problem,” Lilly said. “I… I mean… most of us are, you know, soldiers or adventurers. A… and Axra has trained with her dads since… well since she was little. Th… they don’t have that advantage.”

Twila nodded in agreement. “And the seven of us can’t hoist the entire population over every broken part of the stairs.”

Fang let out a soft roar.

“Sorry, but you can’t lift them so I wasn’t counting you.”

Fang let out a low grunt.

“I am not belittling you. But you are just a little dragon, after all.”

“Fixing the steps would take time and gathering materials,” Bonnie muttered.

“Time we don’t have,” Axra said. “The longer we wait the more likely we are to be attacked by psyrens.”

“So, what are we going to do?” Lysara asked.

“We could always magic our way over,” Reginald suggested. He turned to Twila. “You can bridge the gap temporarily, can you not?”

“Maybe,” Twila answered. “But it’s not a spell I’m super familiar with. I don’t know if I could maintain it long enough to get everyone over or how stable it would be. Even if I could manage it, it would take enough power that I’d be useless if we were attacked.”

“We may have to chance it,” Axra said. “If we do get attacked the rest of us can pick up the slack.”

“Don’t worry,” Lilly said. “I know you can do it. I mean, you’re smart and bea… strong.”

“I know you can do it!” Lysara exclaimed.

“All right,” Twila said. “I’ll go with the front group and use magic to provide a temporary bridge over the gaps.”

“I’ll go with you,” Axra said. “If you need support, I’m your girl!”

“I’m going too!” Lysara declared.

“I… I’ll go in the front too,” Lilly said. “I… I mean… if there aren’t too many people already.”

“We’ll need more people up front than in back right now,” Bonnie stated. “We don’t want Twila fighting and it’ll be easier if we have to fight with the high ground than with the low ground. So, Velvet, Reginald and I will take the back.”

Fang let out a series of grunts.

“You can fly above us and watch for signs of trouble,” Twila said. “It’ll be a dangerous position, but you’re the only one we can trust with it.”

Fang gave a satisfied grunt.

“Is that dragon smirking?” Axra asked.

“Oh… I’m sure the little guy wouldn’t do that,” Lilly said, stroking Fang’s head. “Well… maybe a little.”

“Let’s take our positions,” Bonnie said. “We won’t have anywhere to make camp so we don’t want it to take too long.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

