Macabre Song Part 2

“Get off of me!” Alexa yelled. A severe wind rose, pushing the corpse away from her, but there were many more. Ranging from freshly killed, possibly the team that had come before, to completely skeletal.

Alexa ran over to Katelyn. With a gesture, the skeletons that were clawing against her were pushed back.

“We’re flying,” Alexa said. She grabbed Katelyn and took to the air. “You okay?”

“Just some small cuts,” Katelyn said. “No worries.”

“Still, what power does she have?” Alexa wondered. “To control that many bodies…”

“How should I know?” Katelyn countered. “What, do you wanna ask her? Possibly offer her a sweet to cooperate?”

“If Yuni were over here she’d probably try,” Alexa muttered. “At least we’re safe in the air.”

“You may wanna rethink that,” Katelyn said, pointing downward.

Alexa followed her fingers. The singing girl was fashioning rose petals into crude wings. Her dead army was taking to the air.

“How the hell do the aerodynamics for that work?” Alexa asked.

“Totally not the question to be asking right now,” Katelyn said. “We really need to figure out how to get to the radio.”

“You say that like you have a plan,” Alexa said.

“Well, holy artifacts are supposed to work against the undead so I’ll just use my star of David to stun em,” Katelyn said.

“Not the time for jokes,” Alexa said.

“Just set me down and keep them off of me for thirty seconds,” Katelyn said.

“Roger,” Alexa agreed. She swooped down, maneuvering past the airborne enemies. She set down, immediately hurling winds in all directions to push the zombies back on all sides.

Katelyn gestured towards the radio and it rose from the ground towards her. The girl tried to grab it, Katelyn noticed that some of the dead bodies collapsed momentarily as she did so, but she missed. It flew directly into Katelyn’s waiting hand.

“Sirvanna, get your ass over here, now!” Katelyn called.

You found the perp?” 

“No, I think you got me pregnant. Yes, we found the damn perp!” There was a touch of panic in her voice as she spoke.

On our way. 

“Little help,” Alexa said. Several of the walking corpses had broken through her winds and were grabbing and clawing at her.

Katelyn tried to push them back, a few were thrown a couple metres, but most just stumbled slightly.

“Not as effective as I’d hoped,” Katelyn muttered. “Hey, Alexa.”

“Yeah?”

“Stop pushing them back for a couple seconds,” Katelyn kept her words low. Then we both push them back as hard as we can.”

“Could work,” Alexa said. “But if it doesn’t…”

“I know,” Katelyn said. “But if we don’t get them back they’re going to get through regardless.”

Alexa’s winds died down. She and Katelyn moved close together while the corpses lumbered closer and closer.

“Now!” Alexa declared.

Katelyn’s telekinesis and Alexa’s winds started up simultaneously. Katelyn watched their young opponent. She was visibly taken aback by their counter-offensive and the corpses were thrown back. The girl’s face contorted as she concentrated. It only took a few seconds for the bodies to get back up and start moving towards them.

Crimson lightning rained into the corpses behind them, shattering several of them to pieces.

In front of them, a beam of bright light cut through several more. They heard a rush of air.

“Yo,” Ines said. “Sorry we’re late.”

“Is… is that child really the enemy?” Yuni asked.

“Yeah,” Katelyn said. “I think she’s using a very powerful kind of psychic ability to make the corpses rise.”

“But… but she’s so little,” Yuni protested. “How could she have… killed so many?”

“My name is Sirvanna Reyes, leader of the special forces Omicron unit!” Sirvanna called. “If you surrender now we’ll take you in quietly. Please, don’t force us to hurt you.”

“I don’t think she speaks English,” Alexa said.

“Por favor, rendirse pacíficamente,” Sirvanna said. “No quiero hacerte daño usted.”

“You tell her, Mi amor,” Ines said.

Los Muertos Los Muertos. The girl sang in a loud, clear voice. Vas a unir con los muertos.

The corpses began moving around them, closing in.

“I take it that wasn’t a surrender,” Katelyn said.

“Nope,” Ines said. “She wants us to join her little crew.”

“I hate to beat up a kid,” Sirvanna said. “But there’s no choice. Yuni, stay down and don’t use your powers for a moment. Ines, Alena, run past the corpses and bring her down.”

“We’ll knock her out with speed and precision,” Ines said.

The two ran, directly past the swarm of animated bodies, knocking some over in their wake. The girl pushed her hands out towards them. Both Ines and Alena froze in place, mere centimetres away from her.

The girl grunted and gestured. The two women were pushed back into the horde of walking corpses, crashing into the ground.

“Ines!”

“Alena!”

Sirvanna and Yuni both ran into the horde, blasting their way through the bodies in their way. Both getting clawed by the undead as they passed and both shrugging off the blows in a desperate bid to reach their wives.

“And now the blondes are bleeding everywhere,” Alexa said. “We have to stop that girl before she kills us. Push the ones behind us back. I’ll fly after her.”

“No, you won’t,” Katelyn said. “You aren’t as fast as Ines or Alena. She’ll just knock you back too. I’ll go after her.”

“Think you can reach her?” Alexa asked.

“My mind can,” Katelyn said. “Just trust me on this one.”

“Fine,” Alexa said. “Just don’t fuck up or we’re all dead.”

“And you wonder why I get stressed out,” Katelyn muttered. “Relax, I’ve got it.”

She broke into a run, heading towards the girl. The girl’s powers were definitely stronger than hers. She would have one shot. She ignored the dead around her. She ignored their skeletal fingers clawing through her clothes and into her flesh. She didn’t even bother looking at the wounds. She had to run on sheer adrenaline while it lasted.

As she got closer, more and more of them ripped into her. She stopped not far from the girl. She turned her telekinesis on a skeleton behind the girl. The girl countered the gesture, fighting to keep control. Katelyn smirked.

“Got you!” She hurled the radio as hard as she could, while the girl’s powers were preoccupied. It slammed into the kid’s forehead and she fell backwards onto the ground.

Katelyn’s body stung everywhere. Blood dripped from her forehead into her eyes. Her leg gave out from under her, causing her to fall to her knee. Had she hurt her leg badly? She looked down. Her stomach was slashed open, her left leg had been cut open on both ends, leaving little intact flesh below the knee. She was vaguely aware of someone calling her name when she lost consciousness.

*****

Katelyn saw light. It was vague at first and then more defined. She was in bed. Her body was throbbing a bit, still. But it felt much better. The walls were a pale muted colour. A feeder tube was going into her arm. Was she in the hospital?

“Oh, good you’re awake.”

“Well, well,” Katelyn said. “Hello, Nurse. It’s been a while.”

“I’ve told you, call me Doctor,” Florence said. “How are you feeling?”

“Like I survived the zombie apocalypse,” Katelyn said. “I know it’s not paradise because I still ache everywhere and you’re wearing clothes.”

“You almost did die,” Florence said. “You were slashed open everywhere when you were brought here. If Ines hadn’t personally run you in you wouldn’t have made it.”

“She ran me all the way to Deutschland?” Katelyn asked.

“No,” Florence answered. “We’re in Matagalpa. I got teleported out here to oversee your care.”

“Because you finally realised how much you love me?” Katelyn asked.

“No,” Florence stated. “Because I’m in charge of caring for the special forces and you’re currently in the most need of care.”

“You’re as little fun as ever,” Katelyn muttered. “So, when can I get out of here and treat you to the most romantic evening ever?”

“You’ll be bed-ridden for a couple weeks yet,” Florence said. “And I’m not going on a date with you. Keep resting, I’ll call your team to let them know you’re up.”

“Why, how long was I out?” Katelyn asked.

“You slept for five days,” Florence answered. “I promised Sirvanna I’d call as soon as you woke up.”

“You sure you don’t want to sponge me down first?” Katelyn asked. Florence shook her head and took off.

Katelyn waited around in bed, wondering what her comrades would say when they arrived. Trying to think up snarky responses for everything. Somehow, she fell into a fitful sleep while waiting. She woke up hearing the door opening.

“Katelyn!” Yuni cried. She knelt over the bed and hugged her. “I’m so happy you’re okay. When I saw your injuries I… I thought you were…”

“Injuries like that are nothing,” Katelyn said. “There’s no way they could kill me. I’m just sorry I can’t come back to work for a while.”

“It’s nothing to be concerned about,” Sirvanna said. “You saved us all back there. You deserve some time off.”

“An unorthodox strategy,” Alena said. “But effective.”

Katelyn shrugged, immediately regretting it when her shoulders flared up. “Well, I figured she would be so busy worrying about my powers and maintaining her little corpse army that I could hit her with something heavy enough to bring her down. And all I had was the radio. And I bet you thought the only way to cause pain with a radio was to play crappy boy bands.” Katelyn settled back into the bed. “So, what happened to the kid? They execute her?”

“Of course not,” Sirvanna said. “There’s no way they’d give the death penalty to a minor. No, right now she’s in an asylum. Her powers have been sealed and she’s getting intense psychiatric help.”

“They say her powers drove her insane,” Yuni said. “Poor thing.”

“That ‘poor thing’ almost killed us,” Alexa snapped.

“Now, now,” Katelyn said. “Don’t fight you two. Tongue kiss and make up.”

Yuni looked at Alexa and blushed, quickly turning away. “I’m married… and you have Anya… so… can we just shake hands?”

“She was joking,” Alena said.

“Oh, thank goodness,” Yuni said.

“So, you did get back together with Anya,” Katelyn said. “I knew it.”

“Well, after a mission like that you realise how important it is to not let the little things bother you,” Alexa said.

The six of them spent some more time talking and Yuni showed Katelyn pictures of her new puppy, Mister Fluffers. After a couple hours they left and Katelyn was left alone.

Florence came in to check on her in the morning.

“Good morning, Doctor,” Katelyn said.

“Oh, that’s a surprise,” Florence said. “Not in a joking mood today?”

“It’s not that,” Katelyn said. “I just wanted you to know that I’m being serious. The truth is, Doctor, I really do like you. Is there any way you’d consider going out with me, even just once?”

“You really are persistent,” Florence stated. “Fine. After you recover we can go to lunch together. But it’s only a one time thing, understand?”

“And, if you fall for me too?” Katelyn asked. “Then will it just be a one time thing?”

“That isn’t going to happen,” Florence said. “Well, probably not.”

Katelyn winked. “I’ve beaten the odds before.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

