Purification episode 73: Aerial Battle

Bonnie put all of her weight into swinging her axe, getting carried forward in the air as a result. She sliced through one reaper and immediately turned to cut open another.

“Very nice,” Reginald muttered. “She’s using the flight spell to bounce about in the air. It won’t be easy to hit her.”

He deflected a reaper’s attack with the flat of his blade and pierced its gut with a quick thrust.

“I’m afraid my sword is too light for such a maneuver to e effective for me. I’d probably drop it trying.”

Velvet rolled upwards into the air, catching two reapers by the necks. He slammed their heads together, shattering their skulls open and letting the merged mess fall to the ground.

“So much for all that energy I saved floating up here,” he muttered. “What a pain.” A reaper tried to cut into him with a scimitar, but he caught the blade between his hands, snapped it and threw the blade into the reaper’s skull.

Axra dashed past Reginald and Velvet and flew towards the bulk of the enemy force. A pair of the monsters moved to stop her. The first she sliced the head off of with a well timed swing of her sword. The second fell to the ground, its wings torn open by Lilly’s arrows.

Twila watched the chaos. Time was running out and they wouldn’t finish in time, not like this. Whoever had sent the reapers had timed the attack to force them to crash into the ground, of that she was almost certain. “Lysara, get everyone to pull back and land,” Twila said. “Lilly, fire as many arrows as you can at the reapers when they try to pursue. As soon as they’ve gotten some distance, follow them down.”

Lysara nodded and moved to tell the others, shouting for them to land. Twila began chanting.

As anticipated, the reapers moved to attack the others while they were landing. Lilly’s arrows flew at an incredible rate. Killing some, wounding even more. Fang flew above the reapers, raining fire on their backs, but they didn’t stop their pursuit, steadily gaining on the fleeing group.

Twila beckoned for Lilly to land, not pausing her chanting even momentarily. They were going to make it to the ground, but they wouldn’t have any time to adjust before the reapers arrived if she failed. She pointed her right hand, palm outward, at the mass of reapers and completed the spell. “Empowered Chain Lightning!”

A massive bolt shot from Twila’s palm into the closest reaper and jumped from there into the others. The entire mass halted in mid-air, writhing in agony as the lightning coursed through them.

Twila kept the spell going until she was certain that the reapers were all either dead or immobilised and began her descent, knowing she couldn’t make it fast enough. Sure enough, the flight spell ended and she began plummeting towards the ground.

Fang flew beneath her, trying to push her up but nowhere near large or strong enough to do so.

Twila closed her eyes, bracing for the landing. She landed only slightly roughly, feeling someone catch her.

“That was close,” Axra said. “Hey, you didn’t pass out, did you?” Fang flew down to Axra’s shoulder and nuzzled her.

“No, I’m fine,” Twila answered. “Thank you. I would have been in trouble if you’d missed.”

“Well, I owed you for bringing down those things so that we could land,” Axra said.

“M… maybe we should break, you know, to eat and rest… before continuing,” Lilly suggested.

“It would probably be for the best,” Axra said. “We can’t have our genius friend here using too much power again.”

“I’ll be careful,” Twila promised. “Could you put me down, please?”

“Oh, right,” Axra said. She carefully put Twila down.

“That was close, huh Bon?” Lysara said. She hugged the other woman. “I’m just so glad you’re okay.”

Bonnie nodded absent-mindedly. She looked around their surroundings, noting every place that someone might hide.

“Bon, are you listening to me?” Lysara asked.

Bonnie turned towards Lysara. “Sorry, I was just thinking how much I’d like to eat the food you make.”

“Really?” Lysara asked.

Bonnie nodded. “That fight sure did give me an appetite.”

“Then I’ll go make you something,” Lysara said. “You just wait right there.” She skipped off to retrieve some supplies from Twila’s bag of holding.

“I’ll find some kindling,” Reginald volunteered.

Bonnie grabbed Velvet. “Come on. You and I are going to find the guy who sent those damn things after us.”

“Can’t it wait until we eat?” Velvet asked.

“No,” Bonnie stated. “The longer it takes, the more time he’ll have to summon more reapers.”

“What a hassle,” Velvet muttered. “Do you really think he’s around here?”

“I would say so,” Bonnie said. “He’d want to see us fall. Now stop whining and come along.”

“Yes Ma’am,” Velvet sighed, following after her.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

