Purification episode 78: Reckless Choice

Twila stood, still and quiet with Fang flying above her.

Lysara paced restlessly.

Reginald sat with his chin resting in his hands.

The three of them watched the makeshift tent, waiting for Lilly to emerge and give them news of Axra, Bonnie and Velvet.

After what seemed like a long time, the flap opened and Velvet walked out, stretching. He leaned back against a rock near them.

They continued their vigil until, finally, Lilly came out of the tent.

“How’s their condition?” Twila asked.

“Is Bon gonna be okay?” Lysara added.

“We… well I…,” Lilly took a step back and a deep breath, clenching her fist. “B… Bonnie is banged up… but… with some, you know, time… she’ll be just fine.”

Lysara clapped her hands together and smiled.

“And Axra?” Twila asked.

“Ax… Axra is… she…” tears were visibly forming in Lilly’s eyes.

Twila leaned over and hugged her. “It’s okay. Say it slowly. How bad is it?”

“I… if w… we don’t… if…” Lilly cried in Twila’s arms for a couple minutes before composing herself. “If… if we don’t get her to a cleric soon… she… she isn’t going to…”

Twila’s voice was low when she spoke again. “How long does she have?”

“M… maybe a week,” Lilly sniffled. “Pr… probably less.”

“We’ll get her to a cleric,” Twila said. “We’ll go back to the dark elf village and ask the old man to fix her up.” She let go of Lilly and looked back at the others. “We’ll rest tonight and go nonstop using a flight spell. Carrying Axra and Bonnie should be simple enough. We should be able to make it back in a few days.”

“Is that really a good idea?” Reginald asks. “If we rush without rest won’t it put a strain on you?”

“I can manage,” Twila said.

“Besides,” Velvet added. “There’s not much choice. Can’t have the Princess dying on us. We’ll just have to wait to rest until she’s safe.”

“I’ll cook us up something filling for tonight,” Lysara volunteered.

“Good idea,” Twila said. “We’ll need it.”

“Allow me to aid you,” Reginald said.

“Tw… Twila,” Lilly said. “I… I don’t think I’ll b able to sleep. D… do you have some, you know, medicine or something?”

“Sure,” Twila said. She reached into her bag and pulled out a powdery substance. “If you take this it should put you out for seven or eight hours. Be careful, it takes effect very quickly.”

“Th… thank you,” Lilly said, accepting the medication. I… I’m going to help Lysara too.

Things were quiet when the group sat down to eat. Lilly looked down at the ground, not touching the plate in front of her. Twila ate in silence, occasionally giving a bite to Fang. Lysara went into the tent to be near Bonnie while she ate. Reginald occasionally looked around as though trying to think of something to say, but always returned to his meal in silence. Velvet downed his food quickly and laid back.

Lilly waited until she heard her comrades’ breathing calm and moved over to Twila’s bag. She carefully removed the invisibility scroll and put it in her belt.

“Strange,” Velvet said. His voice almost making Lilly jump. “Everyone fell asleep super fast. I don’t think Twila or Reginald even finished. It’s almost like something happened to make them fall asleep.”

“M… make them?” Lilly said. “I… I won… wonder what th…” She stopped talking and looked away from him.

“I’m guessing if I weren’t part dwarf I’d be out too, right?” Velvet asked.

“I… I forgot how resistant dwarves are… to these things,” Lilly said.

“So, you’re going back down by yourself,” Velvet muttered. “Do you really want the bow that badly?”

“It… it’s not that,” Lilly said. “I… I have to get Axra’s sword. It… it’s really important to her. I… I mean I’ll try to get the bow too, you know, so we don’t have to come back. I… I don’t want to risk Axra… or anyone else getting hurt by that thing… again.”

“I’m not going to come down after you,” Velvet said. “If you go down there you’re on your own.”

“I… I did try to put you to sleep too, you know,” Lilly said. “D… don’t worry. I… I’m sure I’ll make it back without any… serious problems.”

“If you say so,” Velvet said. “So, what should I do when they wake up and want to know where you are?”

“If… if I don’t return by the time they wake…” Lilly took a deep breath. “If… if that happens just go back by yourselves.”

Velvet nodded. Lilly started moving back towards the ruin. “Make sure you come back,” Velvet said. “Cause I really don’t wanna explain all of this.”

“I… I’ll do my best,” Lilly called back, hurrying into the darkness.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

