Purification 83: Night Attack

Axra was feeling restless. Tomorrow was the day they’d finally stop fussing over her injuries and let her go.

Lilly had come by to see her every day. Bonnie had been keeping watch over her and Lysara had come by a few times, but she really wanted to see Twila. Lilly had mentioned that Twila was researching the location of the staff of elements, but Axra still missed her.

Axra glanced at her guard. Bonnie’s eyes were closed, but her breathing was too erratic for her to be sleeping.

Axra was just starting to nod off when she heard a loud cracking sound. It only took Bonnie a couple seconds to grab her axe and move into a fighting stance.

Axra wasn’t far behind, grabbing her sword and rising from bed.

“Stay back, Princess,” Bonnie said. “If anyone gets past Velvet I’ll take care of them.”

‘Not on your life,” Axra said. “I’m not some frail child who needs protecting. I can fight just as well as you can.”

The two listened to the sounds of a struggle outside. There were several enemies, whoever they were. Axra heard one of them cry out “this guy was supposed to be a pushover!”

A light footfall caught her attention and she turned towards the door. Bonnie turned to her and mouthed “coming?”

Axra listened for a few seconds and nodded. Whoever it was was trying very hard to stay silent, but they were definitely there.

Bonnie crept up to the door and waited. The instant it started opening, she swung her axe down, lobbing off a hand and eliciting a loud shriek.

Bonnie hurriedly pulled back into the room, a crossbow bolt hitting the door behind her.

She and Axra moved up against the wall, beside the door. Bonnie held up three fingers and gestured towards the hallway.

Axra nodded in agreement.

Bonnie held up one finger, then two and then three. The two hurried into the corridor.

There were four armed dark elves, including the one-handed one. Bonnie chopped a crossbow bolt out of the air while two swordswomen rushed at them.

Axra and Bonnie moved simultaneously. Axra cutting down the one on the right, Bonnie taking the one on the left.

Axra ran for the crossbowman, who quickly fired a bolt at her. She moved to the side, causing it to graze her cheek but not cause much damage. She impaled him and quickly withdrew her sword. She turned to Bonnie, who was tying the one-handed man up.

“For questioning,” she whispered. “Do you mind keeping an eye on him while I help Velvet?”

Axra listened for a moment. It sounded like things were quieting down. There couldn’t be more than a few left fighting. Unless there were more sneaking inside.

“Go for it,” she said.

“Don’t let him force your hand,” Bonnie said. “Remember what happened with Velvet.”

“I’m not Velvet,” Axra said. “Don’t worry.”

Bonnie nodded and hurried away.

Their prisoner looked up at her. “Can’t believe I lost to a spoiled hybrid royal,” he muttered.

“There’s no shame in losing to me,” Axra said. “I’m awesome.”

The dark elf spat on the ground in front of her. “Don’t think you’ve won. We’ll get you sooner or later. Pay your dads back for all the trouble they’ve put us through.”

“You’re welcome to try,” Axra said. “If you’re trying to fight my dads I suspect you’re already on the run. Sending more troops after me will only speed your complete destruction along.”

The man smirked at her. “You think your little kingdom is that powerful? Your dads may be good fighters, but we are a legion of the willing. Even if you can stop some of us, we’ll eventually take our revenge. Revenge on your dads by making you suffer and die. Revenge on you by making you watch as we toy with that mage friend of yours. What’s her name? Twila. Maybe we’ll do the same to your little ranger friend. Lilly, was it?”

Axra’s blade stopped just short of his neck. She pulled it back and took a deep breath. “Nice try, but you aren’t going to get me to kill you that easily.” She placed the blade down and punched him, sending his tied body hurling into the wall. He slumped over, unconscious.

Axra picked Todberührung back up and watched the hallway. There were footsteps coming towards her. These ones weren’t concealed and she couldn’t hear a struggle outside anymore. Bonnie, maybe? She kept her blade out just in case.

“Princess?” Bonnie rounded the corner. Axra sheathed her sword.

“Is Velvet okay?” Axra asked.

“He’s just fine,” Bonnie reported. “Apparently the enemy thought he was asleep and tried to slit his throat. He fought back, creating the commotion we heard. He regrets that a few managed to sneak past him.”

“Nothing we couldn’t handle,” Axra said. She noticed that Bonnie was staring at their unconscious captive. “He’s fine, I just put him to sleep for a while.”

“When he wakes up I’ll find out everything I can from him,” Bonnie said. “Including how they knew just when to strike.”

“You still think that Reginald is feeding them information?” Axra asked.

“Possibly,” Bonnie said. “The timing is very convenient. Of course, they could have been watching us since we entered the city or even have an informant in the temple. If I can find out which explanation is correct then I can gain some peace of mind.”

“I know what you mean,” Axra said. She looked down at the prisoner. “Bonnie. When you get the information he dies.”

Bonnie looked over at Axra, studying her for a moment. “As you wish, Princess.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

