Purification episode 89: Cavalry of One?

“Do you think we’ll get there in time?” Lexine asked.

“Probably not,” Reira answered. “But I’ll contact everyone else. Maybe some of them will be closer.”

“It’s a pity,” Lexine said. “It would be nice to fight together with everyone again.”

“We’ll get there as fast as we can,” Reira said. “It’s all we can do.”

*****

“Keep behind me,” Bonnie whispered. “I’ll keep you safe.”

Fang flew above them and hurled fire at the oncoming enemies, forcing them back.

“I won’t,” Lysara said. “I’ll fight by your side.”

Velvet grabbed a couple arrows out of mid-air and tossed them to the side.

“They’re shooting at us,” Velvet said, sounding almost bored.

“How did he do that?” Lysara asked.

“Just let him handle the projectiles,” Bonnie said. “If they stick to those we should be able to…”

Several soldiers broke away and rushed at them.

“Dammit,” Bonnie muttered.

*****

Axra drew her sword and hurried. So far, the corridor had been clear.

Lilly followed closely behind her. She kept her bow ready, waiting for any sign of opposition.

The two reached a corridor with a flight of stairs going down at the end.

Lilly put her arm out to stop Axra.

Axra looked over at her, quizzically.

Lilly nodded towards several doorways. There were three on each side. She carefully fired an energy bolt from Zerstörelicht. It slammed into the top of one of the doorways, collapsing it. They heard a shriek from inside and noticed some bodies in the rubble.

Lilly hurriedly fired at another doorway, collapsing it as well. Then a third, but soldiers were already pouring out of the doorways, weapons at ready.

Axra ran into the fray, slashing as many down as she could, carefully staying close to the corridor entrance to keep her back away from them.

A couple of enemies behind her fell to Lilly’s arrows. She pivoted and cut down a nearby opponent, pulling her sword back in time to block a swing from another.

More arrows came from Lilly, bringing down enemies near Axra.

Axra stabbed an enemy behind her and noticed several heading towards Lilly. She ran to intercept them, ignoring those still behind her and earning a nasty cut on the shoulder in the process.

Todberührung impaled one. The second moved back to try an run Axra through before she could remove the blade, but Lilly tackled Axra to the ground, out of harm’s way. Axra regained her feet and brought him down, noticing the blood on his sword as she did. Lilly fired an arrow at the remaining enemies. It shattered into several small pieces in mid-air, raining energy fragments on all of them.

“Awesome,” Axra muttered. “I didn’t know it could do that.” She looked over at Lilly. “You’re hurt!”

“I… it’s just a scratch,” Lilly said. “I… I’ll be fine, really.”

“That is not just a little scratch,” Axra said. “Here. Let me treat it.”

“B… but you… you were hit too,” Lilly whispered. “And y… you’re more important.”

“Sit still,” Axra ordered. “I’ll patch you up and we’ll keep going.”

“Bu… but you…” Lilly began.

“Shush!” Axra said. “We aren’t worrying about me right now.”

She sponged some water from her canteen onto Lilly’s back. It was a deep cut, but it didn’t look like anything vital had been hit. Axra proceeded to tear some cloth and used it as a makeshift bandage. Hopefully, it would stop the bleeding and they could get Lilly to a cleric when all of this was over.

“That should do it,” Axra said. “Make sure to hang back from this point on. If you get hurt again I’m going to be really mad.”

Lilly nodded. “Le… let me treat your injury too. It… it would be a problem if it got infected.”

“No time,” Axra said. She grabbed Lilly’s hand. “Come on, let’s move!”

*****

Lysara and Bonnie stood back to back, slashing into any opponent who came too close. Fang flew overhead, periodically hurling fire down at the enemy line. Velvet stood nearby, grabbing any projectile weapons that came near and quickly bringing down any opponent who got close to him.

“We’re holding out,” Lysara said. “We can do this!”

“They’re trying to tire us out,” Bonnie observed. “Make us easy pickings when they come at us seriously.” She glanced over at their line. “If we could just disrupt their formation… but we can’t get that close.”

“Maybe if they insulted Velvet’s mom he’d do it,” Lysara stated.

“Yeah, but they’re never going to do it,” Bonnie said. “They’ve probably been warned not to taunt us like that.”

“Hold on just a moment,” Lysara said.

“Hey, isn’t that the half-dwarf with a whore of a mom?” A voice rang out.

“Yeah!” A similar but slightly different voice responded. “I’d bet she’s had the entire continent.”

Velvet ran into the part of the enemy line where the voices seemed to be coming from. A six foot tall human was lifted by his leg and dashed into the rocks and several more enemy troops went flying in all directions.

“Lysara, you?” Bonnie wasn’t sure how to finish the question.

“I’ll apologise when this is over,” Lysara said.

“I can’t fault its effectiveness,” Bonnie said. “But we should help him before he gets killed.”

Bonnie squeezed Lysara’s hand before running into the fray. Thanks to Velvet, their line was chaotic enough to allow her and Lysara to run in.

The fight lasted for a while when a loud horn sounded over the battlefield and a single black horse galloped over. Fang started grunting excitedly. Its rider, a one-armed man clad in black armour dismounted, hoisting a heavy looking sword over his shoulder. The man had pure white hair, features that were grizzled and wrinkled.

“All right you Bastards!” he shouted. “Bring my niece out safe and sound and hand her over to me before I send all of ya to the underworld. I’ll give you sixty seconds.”

“Like an old cripple can handle us!” one of the enemy soldiers shouted. Three rushed at the man, only to be quickly transformed into a pile of severed body parts by a swing of his sword.

“Don’t underestimate the elderly, Pups!” he shouted. “But if you think you’ve got what it takes then General Lennard of Maero will be your opponent!”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

