Purification episode 90: Unforgivable

“I know him!” Lysara cried. “He was an exiled knight recruited to help find the gauntlet of Zeus. He lost his arm against a famous elemental mage before he killed her. He also fought Queen Zenas after she unlocked the gauntlet’s power and eventually returned from his exile a hero.”

Bonnie nodded. She’d heard the stories too. She’d never quite believed them but, considering he still had this much strength at his age, maybe they weren’t as exaggerated as she’d always thought.

The field had gone silent, with several of their enemies stepping away from the old man.

“Bon, we might just win,” Lysara whispered, moving close.

Bonnie nodded, uncertainly. The man was strong, but there was a weakness in his technique. One that would quickly put them back at a disadvantage unless their opponents surrendered or fled.

The fight resumed, their enemies were slower, more cautious and pre-occupied than before. Lennard’s enormous blade cleaved through lines that grew more and more hesitant. Lysara almost got hit, but Bonnie noticed the blade, turned it away wit a quick stroke of her axe and severed the arm that held it with a quick upward slash.

“Stand your ground!” A commanding voice rang out. Bonnie looked in the direction of the voice. A dark elf with regal looking armour marched forward, confidently.

“I can’t believe this!” He exclaimed. “Are you really letting a puny dragon, two hybrid brats, a common criminal and a human in his seventies hold you at bay?”

“But, Sir,” a nearby soldier protested. “His strength… it’s beyond us.”

He looked from the woman over to Lennard and sighed heavily.

“I suppose it can’t be helped. I’ll deal with our” he cleared his throat “‘legendary visitor’ myself.”

He drew two scimitars from his belt and bowed cordially. “I am Jade Thurok, former captain of the Underground corps, current general of the Hestial League. My apologies, but I will be growing my own legend off of the end of yours.”

“We’ll see,” Lennard said. “I’m not keen on dyin’ here so I’ll have you take a message to Thanatos for me.”

Jade smirked. “And what would this message be?”

“Tell him to come for me if he dares,” Lennard said.

The two circled each other, warily. Lennard tried an experimental slash, only to have it turned away by Jade’s scimitars. To Bonnie’s surprise, Jade didn’t try to follow the block up with an attack of his own. Had he noticed?

*****

Reginald stepped closer to Twila’s cell, startling her.

“Can you really afford to do that?” he asked in a loud, clear voice. “Have you learned such fine control of that thing that you can fire it at me without hurting her?” he nodded towards Twila. “Suppose I dodge? Of course, I won’t stop you from making the attempt. We’ll make it a game. See if you can hit me without harming her.”

“Put down the bow,” Axra commanded.

“But I… I think I can…” Lilly began.

“It doesn’t matter,” Axra said. “I’m looking forward to this.” She drew Todberührung and approached him. “You bastard! Pretending to be a friend is one thing. Betraying my trust, I can handle that. But capturing Twila, causing Lilly to get hurt… That’s absolutely unforgivable! Even if you beg, even if the Gods themselves ask me, I definitely won’t ever forgive you!”

“Can a woman who doesn’t even know who her father is really call someone else a bastard?” Reginald asked.

“At least her fathers are renowned for their strength and courage,” Twila countered, loudly. “Neither of them is known for being a pompous joke.”

Reginald looked back at her, his calm facade twisted momentarily into a hateful glare. He quickly turned back to Axra, regaining his composure. “Just stay in your cage, Little Bird, I’ll kill these two and take you to a nice new cage.”

Axra lunged at him, Todberührung slamming heavily against his blade. He tried to counter with a quick strike but she spun backwards, parrying his swing with a quick thrust.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

