Purification episode 94: The Pursuit Party

Reira stepped away from Axra. Looking back, she noticed both Twila and Lilly watching her intently.

“She’s still asleep,” Reira said. “But why don’t you two come over and keep an eye on her until she wakes.”

Reira hurried over to Lexine, Florence, Lennard and Shin.

There’s something we should all go discuss. The four of them heard her voice clearly in their heads.

She turned to Axel. “You can follow us too.”

Axel jerked up for a moment, surprised, but quickly followed after them.

“Where do you suppose they’re going?” Lysara asked.

“To a meeting,” Bonnie answered. “They’ll tell us what they’re discussing if they think we need to know.”

“Aren’t either of you curious?” Lysara asked, looking from Bonnie to Velvet.

Velvet barely looked up and mumbled “no.”

“It’s not that I’m not curious,” Bonnie said. “But I’m also used to his Highness holding meetings in private. I’ve even guarded the door for a few. I guess I just don’t see it as anything worth getting excited over.”

“Think they’d be mad if I eavesdropped just a little?” Lysara asked.

“Don’t you dare,” Bonnie stated, pulling Lysara close to her.

“When you hold me like this I don’t even care anymore,” Lysara said. “So… when are you going to kiss me?”

*****

“I’m not Zero,” Axel said. “I don’t care about some broken magical whatsit.”

“It’s not the device itself that’s important,” Isaac said. “It’s what it does.”

Axel looked over the rubble. A way gate, Master. Prey yet remains for us to feed on! Blutrünstig’s voice echoed in his brain. He kept a cool facade, not wanting any of them to notice. Only he and his family needed to know about the blade’s quirks, after all. He briefly wondered if Reira could still read his mind, and had a strong feeling that she couldn’t. Blutrünstig was something beyond what her powers should be able to affect, and the blade guarded his mind. He knew hat much for a fact.

“How many of them got away?” Axel asked.

“Quite a few, judging by the power that remains,” Moira said.

“It’s worse than that,” Jayko said. “Look at the condition of this base of theirs.”

“In short, this isn’t their main place,” Lexine stated, she kicked a piece of rubble across the room. “So, how do we find them?”

“I know where the gate took them,” Moira said. “If we stop by the academy there’s a public use way gate that will take us to a day’s march from them.”

Isaac took her hand. “Moira and I are going, of course. If any of you want to come along, we’d welcome you.”

“No,” Reira said, putting her hand on Shin’s shoulder.

“Reira,” Lexine whispered.

Reira looked around at the perplexed faces. “He didn’t say that aloud,” she observed. “Oops.”

“What did you have to say, Son?” Isaac asked.

“I was just going to ask if we should tell Twila and the others about this,” Shin said.

“And I was saying we shouldn’t,” Reira explained. “Those girls, and Velvet, have their own journey waiting for them. We should let them continue on their way and deal with the remnants of the League ourselves.”

“I agree,” Axel stated. “No point putting my daughter in further danger. As for me, I’ve been hunting these bastards for a while now and I intend to be there to end them personally.”

“I’m coming along as well,” Lulu said.

“Me too!” Shin declared. “I started this journey with you guys and I can’t leave it half finished!”

Lexine looked back at Reira who nodded.

“We’re coming too,” Lexine said. “These guys tick me off. Not only are they moving against half bloods for no good reason, but, more importantly, they’ve threatened people I care about.”

“I thought I was done with big quests,” Florence said, his voice quiet. “After the whole Gauntlet thing, I thought that I could live a life of relative peace, telling the story. However…” his voice grew louder, more commanding. “I refuse to let these guys do what they want. I’ll come along this time as well. Who knows, maybe the story of this journey will prove to be as rousing of a success and being able to tell it first-hand will be good for me.”

Lennard laughed. “Honestly, you Pups are all getting ahead of yourselves. Giving your answers before I have the chance.” He looked around. “I’m coming too!” He held out his Zweihänder and looked a the others expectantly.

“Really with this?” Isaac asked.

“I’ve never done something like this,” Moira said. “It sounds fun!” She put the tip of her staff against Lennard’s sword. Isaac sighed and put his own sword in. It was followed by Lulu’s scythe, Lexine’s sword, Reira’s bagh nakh, Florence’s whip sword and Shin’s blade.

“I was planning on going back to the forest,” Jayko said. “Getting back into the routine, but I can’t pass up the chance to travel with you lot one more time, after all.” He thrust his katana into the circle of weapons.

“Isn’t this a sweet little party?” Axel asked. “Two healthy women, an elderly crippled human, four middle aged humans, a one-eyed half elf, a dying half elf, and a whelp.” He put Blutrünstig into the other weapons. “Well, I guess that just makes it more interesting.”

“They don’t stand a chance!” Lennard declared.

“They might if Lexine, Lulu and I each tie an arm around our back, Jayko, Moira and Isaac go blind-folded and Lennard & Lore hop on one foot,” Reira said.

Axel noticed that he and Lulu were the only ones who didn’t laugh at Reira’s joke.

“I would like to spend a little time with my daughter before we go,” Axel said. “Just until tomorrow morning.”

“We do need time to prepare the coalition troops to move again,” Lulu stated.

“I was going to suggest waiting too!” Moira exclaimed.

Reira nodded. “Well, I’m sure we’ve all had enough traveling for the day, what with the rush to get here.”

“Then it’s agreed,” Isaac said. “We leave tomorrow.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

