Purification episode 100: Synchronising Hearts

Lysara hurried back to the Inn. It was a lot of information to process. Bonnie had had quite the checkered past and she wasn’t sure what to do with that knowledge. Was it better to keep quiet and pretend she knew nothing or to let Bonnie know what she’d learned and tell her how she felt about it.

She kept the noise down as she entered, sneaking down the hallway where their rooms were. There was still time until morning. All she had to do was get in her room. She opened the door and froze. Bonnie was standing right in front of her, arms crossed.

“Bon, what are you doing up at this hour? Did you think we needed a watch in this area? My, how diligent of you. Well, good night.”

“Where were you?” Bonnie asked.

“Me?” Lysara asked. “I was… that is to say I…” She shook her head. “No,” she muttered. “No more lies. No more secrets. Bon, I was out asking about your past. I know everything. About the Azure Butterfly who led the Masqueraders, about your match with King Axel. I know all of it.” She bowed. “I’m sorry that I went behind your back like that.”

She looked up, Bonnie’s expression had darkened. “I see…” she muttered. “So that’s what it was.” Bonnie turned away from Lysara. “I apologise, Miss Hart, for pursuing a relationship with you without telling you everything. Don’t worry. I’ll leave you alone from now on.”

Bonnie nearly pushed past Lysara, but Lysara managed to grab her hand. “Bon, wait. Where are…” the words died in her throat. Bonnie had turned towards her and she was crying.

“It’s only to be expected,” Bonnie stated, her voice quivering. “A common thug like me… I don’t… I can’t… not with someone like you.” She weakly tried to pull away. “Please, let me go. I don’t want to hurt you arm.”

“You’ll have to!” Lysara cried, far louder than she’d intended. “If you ever want me to let you go you’ll have to pry my arm off.” Bonnie stared at her, but made no move to retreat. “Bon, you aren’t a common criminal. You never were. That’s not what I heard from people. What I heard was the story of a girl who did her best in a bad situation. A kind girl who protected her friends as best she could, even if she had to fight or sacrifice herself.”

Lysara pulled Bonnie into her room and hugged her. She guided Bonnie’s hand to her chest. “Feel that? Being near you like this, it makes my heart race. My heart, my soul, my body, I’ll give them all to you.”  Lysara reached up and brushed away Bonnie’s tears, smiling warmly as she did so.

Bonnie looked into her eyes. “You actually mean that, don’t you? In spite of everything I’ve done, everything I’ve hidden you still…”

Lysara nodded. “Bon, I love everything you were. I love everything you are and I’m certain that I’ll love whatever you’ll become in future. That’s why I’ll never leave you alone or let you go.”

“Lysara…” Bonnie whispered. Her face was flushing. “Lysara I… I love you too. More than anything. I…” She looked down at Lysara’s lips and found herself moving towards them. The two kissed, first softly and then again, passionately and fiercely. Bonnie felt Lysara’s hand leave her back and she heard the door close.

They eventually pulled away, both breathing heavily. “Bon…” Lysara whispered. Lysara kissed her neck. One hand reaching up to stroke Bonnie’s cheek and the other moving toward the clasps on her  clothes. Lysara’s kisses began moving down Bonnie’s chest.

Bonnie put her hand under Lysara’s chin and gently guided her head back up, kissing her on the lips again. She knew that she could pull away, she always had before in their relationship but no, not this time. She wanted to lose herself in this passion. Her own hands went to work on Lysara’s clothes. She brought her lips to Lysara’s neck.

“Bon, Bon,” Lysara moaned. “I love you so much!”

*****

Bonnie woke up to the sound of the sun rising. She hadn’t gotten much sleep, but, somehow, she felt really invigorated. Lysara was pressed against her, her head resting against Bonnie’s chest. The other woman was sleeping peacefully.

“Lysara,” Bonnie whispered. “It’s time to get up.”

“Jus another hour,” Lysara muttered. “Maybe two.”

“I wouldn’t mind staying like this,” Bonnie stated. “But we have to get ready to go. Remember, we’re heading into the Wastes today.”

Lysara rose groggily. “Tha’s right,” she muttered. “Gotta go to th’ Wastes.” She started dressing.

“Wait!” Bonnie cried. “That’s my shirt.”

“So it is,” Lysara muttered. “What’s the big deal? It’s a little loose but it fits.”

“Not the point,” Bonnie said.

The two dressed and went to meet the others. They were sitting down to breakfast in the lobby. All save Velvet who was nowhere to be seen. They arrived to see Axra feeding Lilly something from her fork.

Lilly looked at them and her face flushed. She quickly moved away from Axra. “G… good morning. I… I was just…”

“Don’t worry about it,” Lysara said. “It’s not a big deal.”

“Velvet still asleep?” Bonnie asked.

“He actually went to feed his dogs,” Twila answered. She beckoned to them. “Have something to eat. We’ll head out within the hour.”

“Thank you, I will,” Bonnie said.

“Me too,” Lysara said, sitting as close to Bonnie as she could manage.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

