Purification episode 103: The Second Line

Jayko dived for the fallen orb but Typhon was too fast. The titan scooped it up and hurled it away, somewhere beyond the horizon. Jayko hurriedly backed away from him.

“Move in,” Axel ordered. “Don’t let him take one step from this place. Even if it costs our lives, we can’t let him take one step away!” He turned to Lexine and Shin. “You two stay back. As long as you’re here he’ll stick around to finish you.” He led the Nervius troops against Typhon.

“For Sir Lulu!” the dark elf commander said, raising her blade. Her soldiers cried out in agreement and they joined Axel’s forces against the titan.

Typhon easily tossed aside a group of soldiers, advancing slowly but surely.

Florence slashed, his serpentine blade extending through the air. It entangled Typhon in its grasp. Lennard was right behind it, slashing at the great titan with his Zweihänder. Typhon easily shattered Florence’s blade and tossed them both aside.

“It’s okay,” Reira said. “They’re alive, just knocked out. He doesn’t seem interested in killing any mortals aside from the ones he’s compelled to.” She glanced back at Lexine and Shin. “Just make sure you stay away from him.”

“How long until they’re ready for the dispel?” Lexine asked.

Reira glanced at the rapidly diminishing line of soldiers. “Too long.”

“Then I’d better go,” Lexine said. “If I play things defensively then I should be able to buy some time.”

“Lexine…” Reira began.

“Don’t worry,” Lexine said. “I have no intention of dying out there.” She kissed Reira tenderly and hurried to the field.

Lexine approached Typhon from the side. She couldn’t get too close, if she did then she knew that she wouldn’t be making it back to Reira. She picked up a stone and hurled it at the titan, hitting him in the head and catching his attention. Then she ran.

His fireballs followed, very nearly hitting her more than once. She quickly lost count of how many had detonated near her. The area quickly became sweltering. She fell to the ground avoiding another fireball and just managed to regain her feet in time to avoid one that hit right where she had rolled. “Not yet?” She thought.

“They still need more time,” Reira’s voice answered.

Lexine brought out her shield. It wouldn’t survive a hit from one of his attacks, but if it took the brunt of it she might, at least until he decided to follow up on it.

*****

“I’m going too,” Shin declared.

“You stay!” Reira stated, her voice firm. “She’s got experience. She can make it.”

“Not by herself,” Shin said. “With two of us as targets we might just make it.” He ran after Lexine.

*****

The fireball slammed against her shield with a tremendous impact, shattering it into pieces and sending her sprawling.

She worked to regain her footing from that position, but another was coming and she knew she couldn’t dodge it in time. Reira, I… 

She felt herself being roughly tossed away. She looked over at the spot where she had been just in time to see Jayko blasted apart.

*****

“Prepare yourself, Fiend!” Shin declared. He ran directly for Typhon, turning away just before coming into range of the Titan’s arms.

“Thou seekest to distract me from my other prey, fledgling?” Typhon asked. “No matter, I can deal with thee first and return for her.” 

He turned his attention to Shin, blasting fireballs at him. Shin dodged desperately, barely managing to avoid the first four. The fifth very nearly hit him but he was grabbed by a horse and rider.

“Caide?” Shin asked. “What are you…”

“Shut up!” she cried. “I’m getting you out of here!” She led her horse away as fast as it would gallop, directing it away from the fireballs that followed after them.

Typhon pointed at the retreating pair, a beam of light shot from his finger, exploding in front of the horse and sending Shin and Caide flying from the poor animal.

Caide caught Shin in mid-air and twisted so that she cushioned the impact for him when they eventually landed.

“Caide!” Shin cried, getting off of her. He hurriedly checked her pulse and thanked the Gods. She was alive, but for how long? He glanced at Typhon, the titan was smirking at him, ready to go in for the kill.

“I don’t think so!” Axel cried. He made a flying leap, his knees connecting with Typhon’s chin. “I may not care about either of those idiots,” Blutrünstig slashed across Typhon’s chest “but I know if you get to them then you’ll leave this area to continue your mission,” Axel moved behind the titan and jabbed Blutrünstig into his back “and there are two girls I can’t let you touch, no matter what!”

“Arrogant mortal, playing with toys thee can’t comprehend. Thinking thee can stop me!” Typhon grabbed Axel and hurled him into the air. Then he pointed.

His beam hit the warrior king in mid-air, sending him hurtling to the ground near the trio of wizards.

Axel managed to tilt his head up and look at Zero once more. “Axra… Rach… el… prot…” he coughed up blood and went still.

Issac and Moira nodded at each other. Isaac squeezed Zero’s hand as a signal to him.

“Dispel magic!” the three cried in unison. Typhon was surrounded by a shimmering field for a moment before it vanished.

The titan looked over at the struggling to rise Lexine. Then over to Shin, who was poised to shield the fallen Caide.

He laughed, it was a deep booming laugh. “Mortals, thou hath freed me from my bonds. Now, I can free my brethren and strike against the usurper and his kin!” Typhon bowed and was gone in the blink of an eye.

“Sounds like he’s gunning for Zeus,” Moira observed. She scanned the battlefield. “We lost so much.”

Isaac nodded. “Lulu, Jayko…”

Not to mention the regular soldiers he hit too hard when shoving away or who landed badly. Reira’s voice said. I’d say a good four dozen at least. There’s also King Axel. 

Isaac looked over at Zero. He was cradling Axel’s body in his arms, tears flowing from his eyes.

“You did it,” Zero whispered. “You protected Axra and Rachel but… but why did you have to throw your life away for it you, Idiot? You stupid, stupid Fool.” Zero’s head fell to Axel’s charred chest and he didn’t move away for a long time.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

