Purification episode 114: Sightless Archery

The Selkie didn’t give pursuit. Bonnie, Velvet and Lilly were able to gain a brief respite. Able to ponder their next move.

“I thought Selkies only affected the opposite sex,” Bonnie muttered.

“No reason they should,” Velvet said. “If they amplify attraction then it doesn’t make much difference whether it’s the attraction of a man or woman. I even said that, remember?”

“No you didn’t!” Bonnie declared.

“Did,” Velvet insisted.

“C… could that be what you muttered under your breath?” Lilly asked.

Velvet nodded.

“Okay, so you said it but no one heard it,” Bonnie stated. “Whatever. The important question is what to do next.”

“Ummm… panic?” Lilly stated.

“We can make our way back up and find a mage to counter the effect,” Velvet said.

“We are not going to run!” Bonnie declared. “I won’t leave Lysara and the others in that creature’s hands. There’s no telling what she’ll do to them.”

“But there’s no way we can dispel the charm magic,” Velvet protested.

“There’s one way,” Bonnie said, she hefted her trident. “We have to kill her.”

“You only have the use of one arm and Lilly’s blind,” Velvet said. “we aren’t going to be able to fight our way past Axra and the others without hurting them.”

“We won’t hurt them,” Bonnie stated. “We just have to be clever. Lilly, if she uses her sonic attack would it give you a good fix on her location?”

“L… like the one on the mountain did to Axra?” Lilly asked. “We… well it is really loud. So…. so I’m sure I would be able to find her from it.”

“Great,” Bonnie said. “Then I’ll get close to her and force her to use it. You’ll stay back and fire as soon as you hear her.” She turned to Velvet. “You will keep Lysara and the others occupied. Just make sure you don’t hurt them.”

“W… wouldn’t it work better if you took the shot?” Lilly asked.

“I can’t,” Bonnie said. “Not with my arm injured like this and Velvet’s never touched a bow in his life. The only one who can take the shot is you.”

“B… but what if I miss?” Lilly asked. “Or I accidentally hit you?”

“It’s nothing to worry about,” Bonnie said. “The Princess was tossed away when she was hit by a sonic blast, the same should happen to me. I’ll be well clear when you fire so shoot with confidence.”

“This plan sounds like a hassle,” Velvet muttered.

“Is it more of a hassle than explaining to the kings that you let their daughter become and remain a Selkie’s thrall?” Bonnie asked.

“Yeah, it is,” Velvet said. “But I’ll at least survive it. I’m in.”

The trio made their way back towards where they’d seen the Selkie. She was still there, with Axra, Twila and Lysara on alert.

She anticipated us returning. Bonnie thought. Good. It means she hasn’t had a chance to do anything to them yet.

Bonnie took Lilly’s hand and led her to a large, flat stone. Lilly nodded and brought out Zerstörelicht, pointing it in the general direction of the group.

Bonnie moved over to Velvet and nodded. He sighed and ran out of cover, rushing towards the Selkie. Axra and Lysara went out against him. Axra reached him first. He rolled under her swing, kicking Axra’s legs out from under her.

Lysara’s chakrams slashed right for his head. He moved to the side, grabbed her wrists and forced the weapons out of them.

It was then that Twila got involved, a burst of flames heading for him. Velvet pushed Lysara away and somersaulted into the air. The flames singed his back, but didn’t do much damage.

Twila’s involvement was the cue that Bonnie had been waiting for. She charged for the Selkie, trident ready to pierce through. The Selkie saw her coming and reacted instantly, her sonic burst pushed Bonnie away. Bonnie heard a whiz in the air as she went flying and saw the Selkie’s stomach burst open, a massive arrow of light going right through her midsection.

“Way to go Lilly!” Bonnie called. “You got her!”

She regained her footing and went to check on the others. Velvet was washing his burned back. Twila was standing, looking confounded. Axra was retrieving her sword. Lysara was rubbing her wrists, a confused look on her face.

“Bon? Are you okay?” Lysara asked.  “I feel hazy, but I seem to remember someone attacking you.”

Bonnie ran forward and hugged the smaller woman tightly. “It’s fine now. It’s all going to be fine.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

