Purification episode 119: Fire Chambre

The third chambre was lined with several contained fires.All lined up and leading on a path to the exit. The group cautiously made their way along the path.

“Does anyone else wanna take off their small clothes?” Lysara asked.

“Don’t you dare,” Bonnie said.

“But Bon,” Lysara pleaded. “It’s so hot. Besides, you’ve seen me without them before. So why…” Bonnie clamped her hand over Lysara’s mouth.

“Pretty sure her seeing you isn’t the problem,” Axra said, patting Lysara’s shoulder. “She just doesn’t want me or Twila looking at her girl.”

“I didn’t think of that,” Lysara muttered.

“I don’t like this chambre,” Bonnie said. “There’s got to be more to it than just being hot.”

“Another invisible monster?” Axra asked.

“I… I haven’t heard one,” Lilly said. “j… just th… the sound of the fire.”

“We’ll just have to stay alert,” Twila said.

The five continued on. When they were nearly at the door the flames all flared and before them stood a humanoid being that seemed to be made entirely of fire with black eyes gazing at them from its flaming head.

“A fire elemental,” Twila said.

“Kind of obvious isn’t it?” Lysara asked.

he elemental hurled flames at them. Axra, Bonnie and Lysara all jumped back away from the blast.

“How do we get close to it?” Axra asked.

“I just need to cast a strong water spell,” Twila said. “Buy me thirty seconds.”

“I can manage that,” Axra stated.

“No, you have to protect Lilly,” Bonnie stated. “With the fires all over the room she’ll never hear what’s a threat until it’s too late. I’ll buy Twila the time.” She circled away from the group before moving towards the elemental.

“I’ll help!” Lysara declared, running after her.

Bonnie hurled her trident at the creature to draw its attention. It hurled a bolt of flames right at her. Bonnie moved to block it from hitting Lysara with her own body. Lysara tackled the larger woman to the ground, the bolt passing over them.

“Deluge!” Twila cried, snapping her fingers. Water swept through the room, extinguishing the fires and slamming into the fire elemental, reducing it to ashes.

“Guess the next room is water, aether or the other,” Bonnie muttered, rising. She grabbed her trident, checking it over for damage. “Let’s head out.”

Lysara pulled her down, roughly. “Bon, just what were you thinking?”

“I thought it was going to hit you,” Bonnie said. “I just wanted to shield you.”

“I don’t want that!” Lysara screamed. “I know that I’m not as strong as you. You’re a knight and I’m just a musician. I know that, but I can still hold my own in a fight. I don’t want you to ever sacrifice yourself for me.”

“Can we discuss this later?” Bonnie asked, glancing back at Axra, Twila and Lilly.

“No, we can’t,” Lysara said. “Bon, lately you’ve been treating me like a frail person who needs protecting. I’m not. I can fight and look after myself. I… I want us to be equals.” She reached out and grabbed Bonnie’s hands, looking into her eyes. “I love you, Bon. Let me protect you too sometimes.”

“Lysara,” Bonnie muttered. “I… I love you too. That’s why I can’t bear the idea of you getting hurt. Every time I see a strong enemy… every time I see something come near you I fear the worst and it drives me crazy. I don’t want to lose you so I try to fight whatever it is… take the brunt of the attack… to keep it away from you. I’m sorry, I know that I should trust you more I just… panic.”

“Bon, you have more courage than anyone else I know,” Lysara said. “So, have the courage to believe in me, okay?”

“I’ll try,” Bonnie said. “From now on I’ll try to trust you to look after yourself in a fight.”

“That’s all I ask, Bon,” Lysara stated. She embraced the other woman.

“Should we be watching this,” Twila whispered.

“Nope,” Axra answered. “Let’s just look at the wall over there for a little while.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

