Purification episode 122: The Mystery Element

The five women sat in a circle near the door to the next chambre, regaining their strength and treating their burns after the battle with the Mirage.

“The sixth element worries me,” Twila stated. “I can’t even begin to guess what it might be. I’d hoped it would be in an early chambre, but it being chosen for the final one indicates that it may very well have the strongest guardian.”

“We’ll beat it,” Axra said, confidently. “Just like we’ve beaten everything else.”

“Don’t get over-confident,” Bonnie cautioned. “It’ll only lead to mistakes. The five of us are going to have to work together, beat whatever’s in there as a team.”

“Sh… should we be sitting around this long?” Lilly asked. “Di… didn’t Twila say that, you know, the magic of this place regenerates the creatures. Ho… how long until there’s a new guardian for this chambre?”

“There’s no need to worry,” Twila said. “I’ll sense the magic disruption when it’s about to take effect and we can hurry through the door. But, until that happens I need to rest as much as I can. That spell was exhausting to use. If I’m going to be of any use in the final chambre I’ll need time to recuperate.”

They were able to wait for nearly twenty minutes before Twila sensed the magic at work and hurried them all out of the water chambre and into the final one.

The floors, ceiling and walls were all black. There was no visible source of light and yet there was no need for darkvision. Everything was perfectly visible.

In the centre of the chambre was a dais with a very plain looking throne sitting on it. At first, it looked like nothing was on the throne, but as they walked forward they saw shadows swirling around it. As they advanced, the shadows became more and more defined until there was very clearly a humanoid figure sitting, waiting, watching.

You would challenge for the Einklangümlich? 

It sounded like a multitude of voices, some male and some female. They permeated the air all around them, seemingly coming from nowhere.

“This is freaky,” Lysara whispered. “Just what is this element?”

They heard the sounds of laughter all around them. In as varied of voices as they’d heard before.

These challengers came unknowing? These challengers should know, should fear. We are the great contradiction. We are non-existence and fundamental to existence. We are that which exists in nothingness. We are the sound of silence.

“Can it with the riddles and get to the point,” Axra stated, trying to sound strong but suppressing a shiver.

We are that which has no gender. We are that which is denied by the Gods themselves. The cracks of reality, that which exists outside of chaos and order alike. 

“Bon,” Lysara whimpered, hugging against the other woman’s back.

The constantly shifting shadows rose and began advancing towards them. We are neither magic nor physical force. We are that which is found neither in life nor death. If we have a name, Mortal challengers, it is Nothingness. For we are the void. In ignorance you have challenged us. In new found enlightenment you shall regret it, briefly. The void supports no life, nor does it provide the peace of death. And now, the void shall absorb you as its own. 

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

