Purification episode 125: Einklangümlich Staff Claimed

The five women entered the final chambre. The walls were covered with vines and there was a narrow path over a pool of water. At the end of the path was a circular area with several flaming lanterns. A large, smooth staff with a grey jewel mounted on the end of it was hanging from the vines in the middle.

The five approached it cautiously, suspecting another test. Twila reached for the staff and gingerly pulled it down. The grey jewel shimmered for a moment and shifted colour to a deep violet.

“Looks like that was the final test,” Twila said. “I’ll cast a teleport spell to take us to Fang.”

“You’ve used a lot of magic,” Bonnie said. “Are you sure you can.”

“I should be able to do one more,” Twila said. She began chanting but stopped. “No, I don’t need to take that much effort.” She waved the staff and the five were instantly transported from the chambre, landing near Velvet.

“Welcome back,” Velvet muttered. Fang quickly flew over to Twila’s shoulder and Velvet’s dogs ran over, jumping all over Lilly, pushing against each other to lick her hands.

“There there,” she said, her voice soft. “You little puppies missed me, didn’t you?” She gingerly reached down to pet them, occasionally missing one of their heads only to have the dog in question put its head into her hand.

“That the power of the staff?” Axra asked. “It lets you cast your spells without chanting?”

“That’s part of it,” Twila said. “I also feel like my magic is stronger when I use it. Although it’s difficult to tell with just a teleport spell. I’ll need to try a few others to be sure.”

“You should probably practice a few soon,” Bonnie suggested. “We’ll need to know what to expect during our trek back. Unless you can teleport us all back to Nervius.”

“I can since Nervius has a waypoint near it,” Twila said. “But I’ve done so many spells today with little rest. I need to sleep.”

“We can go in the morning,” Axra said. “Until then we can all rest up. Except Velvet, he can stand guard.”

“Why me?” Velvet asked.

“Because you’ve been napping up here while we were fighting our way through a bunch of challenges,” Axra answered.

“I didn’t nap that much,” Velvet protested. But he kept his objection soft. He was relieved enough to see them all okay that he almost didn’t mind standing guard. Almost.

*****

Lysara and Bonnie went to their tent after eating and prepared their bedrolls. Bonnie noticed Lysara slip something shiny into her pocket but didn’t pay it much heed. Lysara grabbed her lyre afterwards.

“Bon, will you listen to something before going to bed?”

“I’m really tired after our ordeals,” Bonnie replied. “Can it wait?”

“I’m tired too,” Lysara said. “But it’s really important. If I don’t sing it now I… I might forget it or lose my courage. Please, Bon.”

“All right,” Bonnie said. “I’ll listen. She sat opposite of Lysara and listened to the other woman strum a soft melody. She quickly started singing.

It all began with danger in sight

As you rescued me from my plight.

Foolishly I turned to another

Never noticing your heart aflutter.

Now you are my heart

May we ne’er part.

To the depths our journey led

where for my sake you bled.

Your love revealed

my soul rejoiced.

Now you are my heart

may we ne’er part. 

Against the League, hard we fought

granting what they’d wrought.

For peace, harmony

and the sound of melody.

Now you are my heart

may we ne’er part. 

Of your checkered past I learned

still for you my heart yearned. 

That night we two finally

came together mightily

Now you are my heart

may we ne’er part. 

To the mountains next

an adventure most complex.

To claim the staff we came

Now have we found our aim.” 

Bonnie waited, anticipating the next verse, curious as to why this was so important to Lysara. But unexpectedly, the notes changed. They became faster, more energetic and Lysara’s voice rose.

“Bon, won’t you stay with me tonight?
Bon’ won’t you marry me in a fortnight?

Bon, you are the light of my life.
Bon, forever be my wife.
Bon, marry me.”

The melody stopped and Lysara looked over at Bonnie expectantly. Bonnie felt her heart race.

“You’re serious, aren’t you?” she asked.

“Yeah huh,” Lysara answered. “I know I’m not as strong as you, or as pretty as you and maybe I’m selfish for asking but I truly love you so…” Lysara fumbled with her pocket, pulling out the shining object, which Bonnie was finally able to identify as a ring. “Will you marry me, Bonnie Calendula?”

Bonnie looked from the ring to Lysara. Initially, her answer wasn’t even as loud as a whisper. “Yes.”

Seeing Lysara strain to hear, she spoke louder but her voice still sounded soft to her ears. “Yes, I’ll marry you.”

Lysara’s face perked up immediately. “Really?”

Bonnie nodded. Lysara slipped the ring onto her finger and cuddled up to her.

“Bon, I’m the happiest I’ve ever been right now. My heart is racing. Bon I…”

Bonnie put a finger to Lysara’s lips and smiled. “No more words. At least not right now.” She leaned down and kissed Lysara, her soon to be bride, deeply and passionately.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

