Purification episode 129: Reaping the Whirlwind

“This is a pain,” Velvet said. “Couldn’t we have brought horses or something?”

“I’m surprised you left your wagon behind,” Bonnie stated.

“No choice,” Velvet said. “Too dangerous for them.”

“We’re almost there,” Twila said. “It’s not too close to any roads and there’s some cover for us.” She waved the Einklangümlich Staff. “That should conceal us well enough, unless she’s expecting trouble.”

The chosen spot was a tiny clearing surrounded on three sides by a rather heavy wood with a small hill on the fourth. Twila, Axra, Bonnie, Lysara, Velvet and Fang took cover.

“Okay, get her out here,” Axra called.

Lilly looked down at the ring that remained securely stuck to her finger and she couldn’t help but wonder if this was really the right thing to do. But she rubbed the ring regardless. It was a simple thing, really. The women she loved demanded it from her and she couldn’t bring herself to refuse them. Maybe she could turn Gail down quickly and she’d leave. She had to try.

The response was nearly instantaneous. Gail quickly appeared beside her. “My lovely Lilly!” she cried, throwing her arms around the other woman. “I’m so happy that you called me. You’re finally ready to accept my feelings, then?”

“I… I need to talk,” Lilly said. “I… I need you to…”

Fang struck before she could get the words out, blasting fire across Gail’s back.

“Just a moment, M’love,” Gail said. “I seem to have something to deal with.”

She whirled around and hurled a lightning bolt at the tiny dragon, but a bolt from the woods managed to turn it off course so that it missed.

Velvet rushed out, executing a quick spin kick, sending Gail back several paces, holding her stomach.

Lysara and Bonnie followed quickly afterwards, slashing at Gail with their weapons. She barely managed top deflect the attacks with a shield spell.

Lilly felt Zerstörelicht’s weight. Gail was turned away from her, she could fire a shot point blank. Could even a half-Goddess like Gail survive a direct hit from it?

Several bursts of magic fired from the woods and Axra ran towards Gail.

“Ants,” Gail said. “How dare you try to keep me from a happy ending with my Lilly!” She snapped her fingers and a wave of azure energy spread from her into the woods.

Lilly had to avert her eyes for a moment. When she opened them, the woods had been laid to waste a kilometre around. Velvet, Bonnie, Lysara, Fang, Axra and Twila were all on the ground, banged up, but alive.

Gail smirked and turned to Lilly. “Let’s away, Lover.”

“There’s only one place you’re getting away to!” Axra cried. Todberührung pierced Gail’s back.

Gail turned and sent a wall of lightning slamming into Axra, sending her into convulsions.

“Bitch,” Gail muttered. She pushed the blade out, her flesh already healing. “Interesting thing you’ve trapped here. Shall I release it, I wonder?”

Lilly felt a pang in her heart and looked back at the bow. she still had a free shot.

“Flames of Armageddon!”

Gail screamed as the ground around her erupted into flame. Lilly looked away, not wanting to see.

“Flash flood!” waters came rushing in, smothering the flames. Lilly turned back, Gail’s flesh had been charred, but was rapidly regaining its normal tone as she watched.

“Meteor swarm!” Twila cried. Large stones soared down, right towards Gail.

“Absolute Deflection!” Gail countered. The stones bounced away from her, right towards Twila.

“Barrier!” Twila commanded. The shield nearly shattered against the onslaught, but it held.

Gail looked over at her. She had nearly healed completely. “I see, that staff of yours is another of mister Hephaestus’ works. It lets you channel magic faster. But, it has one huge vulnerability. Do you know this spell, Child?” Gail snapped her fingers. “Accelerated magic burn!”

A beam of white light shot forward. Twila screamed in surprise and pain as the energy covered her, glowing brightly.

Twila held the staff out, pointing it at Gail. “Fi… fi…” the staff slipped from her hands before she could finish and she fell unconscious.

Lilly noticed that Gail was breathing heavily. If she acted quickly… She started bringing Zerstörelicht up.

“They’re never going to just let us be happy,” Gail observed. “I’m sorry, I know they’re your friends, but I’m going to have to kill them all.”

Lilly’s eyes went wide and she dropped Zerstörelicht . She ran forward, nearly tackling the massive woman to the ground.

“Pl… please don’t,” Lilly pleaded. “I… I’ll sacrifice myself. I… I’ll go with you, as your bride. W… we can go somewhere they’ll never find us. S… so please pl… please don’t hurt them!”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

