Voyages of the Cerberus episode 8: Farah’s Flight Training

Katie was walking down the corridor towards Farah’s room when she heard a boisterous voice call out to her.

“Hey, Kitten!”

“Allison,” Katie acknowledged.

“Aren’t you looking happy today,” Allison said. “Is it because you get to train with our newbie?”

“I’m no different than usual,” Katie stated.

“You don’t have to pretend,” Allison said. “I’ve seen the way you look at her. You never look at me that way, or anyone else. Could she be your type?”

“I look at Farah no differently than I do anyone else I can assure you,” Katie stated.

“Really?” Allison asked. “Well, I suppose I don’t know what your type is. I could be your type. Leon could be your type. Maybe Grace or Paul or even our fearless leader. So, who on this ship is closest to being your type?”

“Did you really approach me just so that you could try to bait me into telling you my type?” Katie asked.

“Don’t be sop cold, Kitten,” Allison said. “You can tell me.”

Katie sighed. “I don’t have time for this. I have to start Farah’s training.” She hurried away leaving Allison alone.

“Almost had her,” Allison muttered.

*****

Katie knocked on Farah’s door. The door was opened almost immediately. Farah was fully dressed and her eyes had slight bags under them. “Miss Katie, I’ve been expecting you,” Farah said. “I’m ready to go!”

“Did you even sleep last night?” Kat asked.

“A little,” Farah answered. “But I was excited so I woke up really early.”

“I suppose it doesn’t matter too much,” Kat said. “Follow me.”

She led Farah down the familiar route to the hangar. They moved right over to the unnamed ship, Farah’s ship.

“Take a seat in the cockpit,” Kat said. “We’ll start by going over the controls. After that I’m going to have you read the manual and test over the controls and important details in the manual. You will get every single question right or you will study it until you do. Don’t worry, even Allison got it the second time so I’m sure you’ll be fine. After you pass the exam I’ll take you on your first test flight. We will go on test flights until I’m sure that you have a good grasp of the controls and then you will be officially able to give your ship a name and allowed to fly on missions.”

“I won’t let you down, Ma’am.” Farah said.

*****

Allison moved past the medical bay and slid open the door to engineering. A wrench hit the wall near her.

“Such hostility,” Allison stated. “Can’t you just show your affection more normally?”

“What do you want?” Grace asked.

“I was just talking with Kat but she had to go get Farah for her flight training,” Allison said. “Worried about them being alone together?”

“Not particularly,” Grace said.

“Suppose Farah is Kat’s type?” Allison asked. “Won’t this give her a chance to make a move while you’re cooped up in here.”

“Farah isn’t the type of girl you just make a move on,” Grace stated. “She’s the type you romance slowly and carefully. Besides, I’m pretty sure Kat’s type is more on the grounds of someone gentle and soft spoken but also graceful. You know, the type you wanna protect.”

“So, someone like Paul then,” Allison said.

“Assuming she’s into guys,” Grace said. “Although if she’s into girls then she’d probably look for one a lot like him in terms of personality. Now, get out of my engine room!”

“Yes Ma’am!” Allison cried, giving a mocking salute. “Right away, Ma’am.”

*****

Farah sat in the cockpit and listened intently to Katie’s explanation of the controls. Trying to commit them all to memory. Katie spoke slowly and her explanations were very simple, so Farah was confident that she could recall all of it when she had to.

Katie handed her the manual when they were done. “Take it to your quarters and read through it. Try to have it all memorized in a week.”

Farah looked at the manual. “Can I test tomorrow?”

“If you feel up for it,” Katie said. “But I should warn you, you won’t pass if you just skim through it nor will you pass if you haven’t slept well.”

“It’s only two hundred pages,” Farah said. “I’m pretty sure that I can get through all of it and pay attention to the details.”

“There’s a lot of technical stuff to learn,” Katie cautioned her. “But if you still feel that way in the morning just call me over the intercom and I’ll test you.”

“Thank you, Miss Katie,” Farah said. She bowed and ran for her quarters, holding the manual close to her chest.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

