Voyages of the Cerberus episode 14: Leon’s Apology

Paul finished treating Kat and began the checkups. He started with Farah.

“It looks like you dislocated your shoulder,” he said. “Does it hurt?”

“A little,” Farah admitted. “I messed it up saving Kat from the chimera.”

“Why didn’t you say anything?” Paul asked.

“We were kind of busy surviving,” Farah stated. “I’m sorry.”

“No need to apologise,” he said. “I’ll have you fixed up in a couple minutes. Lie down and stay perfectly flat for me.”

Farah did as she was told. Paul moved her elbow up and began the treatment. It didn’t feel painful, exactly. It was more a strange buzzing feeling. Finally, the procedure was over. Paul grabbed his medical scanner and checked her arm again.

“There you are,” he said. “All back in place.” He grabbed an injector from his desk, filled it with a solution and injected her arm. “That should accelerate the healing process.Take it easy with that arm for a while. If it starts hurting at all, see me immediately.”

“Yes, Doctor,” Farah said. She tested her arm. It didn’t hurt and she was able to move it just fine. She quickly headed out of medical. Leon was leaning against the wall by the door, waiting for his turn. He nodded at Farah and hurried inside.

“Never do that again,” Leon said.

“What might you be referring to?” Paul inquired.

“Don’t ever try to sacrifice yourself,” Leon said. “I like being with you. I care more about your life than my own, so don’t ever try to pull that shit again.”

Paul sighed. “You aren’t the only one who feels that way, you know. Every time you go out on a dangerous mission, I grow restless. I worry that you might be hurt or killed and I know that all I can do for you is be here and dress your wounds when you return.”

“It’s not the same!” Leon insisted. “I would never voluntarily get killed on those missions. If I an return to you, I will. Always!”

“You are right about that,” Paul conceded. “I’m sorry. I won’t try that again. But there are a couple of people you owe an apology too.”

“Don’t know what you mean,” Leon said.

“Yes, you do,” Paul stated. “You jumped to conclusions and made threats. I’m sure both Kat and Farah will forgive you.”

“Fine,” Leon said. “I’ll say I’m sorry when you’re done examining me.”

“Good,” Paul said. “You’re in perfect health. You can get back to doing your duty as normal.”

*****

Farah moved to the bridge. She wasn’t sure what else to do after the examination. She wasn’t even sure when Kat was going to be able to take her for her first flight.

Allison was in the bridge, talking with Ophelia. She looked over when Farah entered.

“Hey, Newbie!” Allison declared. “How’s life, the universe and everything?”

“Just fine,” Farah answered. “Thank you, for coming to our rescue.”

Allison waved a finger. “Hey, I told you what payments I accept. Thanks wasn’t one of them.”

“Oh, right,” Farah said. She looked down at the ground for a moment. Then she walked over and kissed Allison’s cheek. “Thank you, I mean it.”

“I was joking,” Allison said. “But I’m totally gonna brag about this to Grace. She’s gonna be jelly as fuck.”

“Might not be the best idea,” Ophelia cautioned. She looked at Farah. “You’ll have to take your first flight with Leon. It’s going to be a bit problematic for Kat to be flying with her shoulder like that.”

“I wouldn’t go so fast, Ophie,” Lucy said, her eyes shut. “Farah might be having shoulder problems of her own.”

Ophelia and Allison both looked at her. Farah looked away from them. “I… I may have dislocated it using a toolbox to bludgeon that thing. The Doctor already treated it. So it doesn’t hurt anymore.”

“Well, that’s not so bad,” Ophelia said. “We’ll give it a couple days and if it hasn’t started hurting again then you can go out. Taking a leisurely flight shouldn’t strain you. Just don’t try to do any tricks or show off.” She glanced at Allison.

“I just wanted to do a barrel roll,” Allison said. “I just needed more practice at that time.”

The door slid open and Leon walked in. He stood by the door. “Farah, come with me real quick,” he ordered. Then he marched out of the bridge without another word.

“Ooh, what could this be about?” Allison wondered. “Maybe he wants to adopt you.” She grinned. “Could you imagine being his and Paul’s daughter? I bet they’d spoil you.”

“I’m not that much younger than him,” Farah protested.

“I’m sure it’s nothing bad,” Lucy said. “You should probably follow him.”

Farah nodded, hesitantly and walked out. Leon was waiting in the corridor.

He scrutinised her for a moment and stared up at the ceiling. “Sorry,” he muttered.

“Huh?” Farah asked.

“Sorry,” Leon said, raising his voice. “I shouldn’ta threatened you and Kat on that ship. I was pissed and wasn’t really thinking. It was hasty and stupid. So, I’m sorry.”

“It’s okay,” Farah said. “I… I think anyone would get like that if they thought someone they loved was being threatened, probably.”

Leon nodded and walked away. Leaving her in the corridor by herself.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

