Voyages of the Cerberus episode 17: A Saboteur Strikes

Uras and Paul entered an office building and quickly moved to the lift. Uras brought out a key, used it to open a panel and pushed three buttons underneath the panel.

“We’ll be there soon,” she said, as the lift began moving down. “I’ve got two of my men on standby to guard you. So don’t worry.”

“I’m not worried,” Paul said. “We’ll get this taken care of and your people can get the Queller running properly again.”

Uras nodded. “It’s show time.” The lift doors opened and the two walked out.

A couple of Ca’urr guards turned to them. “This is your friend, Commander?” one said.

Uras nodded. “This is our trusted friend, Tyler Morris. He’s agreed to help us fix the Queller. Tyler, these are Uhthli and Orhaf.”

“I’ve looked over the schematics thoroughly,” Paul said, adjusting his spectacles. “I’m confident that I can find the problem.”

“And Uras told you about our other problem?” Orhaf confirmed.

“Oh yes,” Paul stated. “Your saboteurs. I’m not worried about the likes of them. I’ll have everything running smoothly before they can make a plan to come after me.”

“I trust you two are prepared,” Uras said. “Remember, it’s your job to keep him safe while he works.”

The two saluted. “Yes, Ma’am.”

“Excellent. This way, Tyler,” Uras said. She led Paul away. Her comrades falling in behind them.

*****

Farah sat by the pool. She had a pad of paper in front of her and was carefully sketching, occasionally looking over for reference.

“Watcha doing?” Allison asked.

Farah quickly covered her work. “Oh… nothing really. Just drawing.”

“Whatcha drawing?” Allison asked. She craned her neck to try to get a look. “Let me see.”

“It’s not that interesting, really,” Farah insisted.

“You kept stealing glances over there, right?” Allison pointed. “Could it be that you’re drawing Grace?”

“No,” Farah said.

“You are!” Allison declared. “You’re sketching her in her bikini! Let me see!” She tried to snatch the pad, managing to grab a corner of it before Farah tried to pull it back. After some struggle, Allison managed to get the pad and looked at it. “Oh… It’s just Baron.”

“I never said it was anything else,” Farah stated. “Just give it back.”

“Oh, you put him in a little top hat!” Grace cried, taking the pad. “That’s so cute.”

Farah nearly jumped.”How long have you been there?”

“You two were making a commotion,” Grace explained. “I got curious. Still, that is a precious drawing. Look, Wolfie!” She held the pad out for the little dog at her feet. He sniffed it before sitting down near Grace’s feet. “Can I copy it when you’re done?”

“Sure, if you think it’s good enough,” Farah said.

“Awesome!” Grace declared, she handed the pad back to Farah. “Wolfie, sit here and pose like a good boy. I’ll go back to swimming.” The tiny dog wagged his tail and obediently sat, staring intently at Farah.

“Maybe when you’re done you can draw me,” Allison suggested. “I could wear some medieval style armour or do a super sexy pose.”

“Well… maybe,” Farah said, uncertainly. “If I can find the time.”

“You can just tell me no if you want,” Allison said. “I’m not going to cry to Ophelia and tell her you’re picking on me.” She headed off.

Kat watched the entire exchange, her eyes barely peeking over her book. She briefly wondered what kind of things Farah usually drew. Were animals here forte or did she do lots of different things? The sketchbook looked to be nearly full. She dismissed the thought from her mind. Ultimately, it didn’t matter. Not like she’d ever see what was in there.

Allison carefully crept up behind Leon. He was bent over a table, typing something into his handheld. She inched over and peeked over his shoulder only to quickly burst out laughing.

Leon’s face turned red and he shoved the device into his pocket. “The hell are you laughing at?”

“Sorry,” Allison giggled. “I just… I didn’t take you for the poetry writing type. Especially not such… flowery stuff. ‘Within your eyes I gaze at’…” she started laughing uncontrollably.

“Shut up,” Leon said. “It’s just some bullshit I scribbled out of boredom. That’s all.”

*****

Paul looked intently over the exposed circuitry. He had no idea what it was supposed to look like or how to read the diagnostic he was taking of it, but that wasn’t important. He just had to give the appearance of knowing. He kept his features completely impassive. Uras’ guards were watching him from a hidden vantage point. If something went wrong it would take them approximately ten point three seconds to come to his rescue. Plus Uras was monitoring the entire situation from very close by. The situation was pretty secure. Would the saboteur really strike under these conditions? Surely, they would figure out that there would be guards. Perhaps a trap of some kind… but they’d already checked the room for traps. So, where would they come from? He kept his eyes on the equipment.

*****

“All seems to be proceeding normally.”

“Thank you,” Uras said. She watched the monitor carefully, searching for any sign of trouble. that was when the entire control room went dark.

“We’ve lost power, Commander!” But Uras was already on her way. She raced from the control room to the area that housed the Queller’s main circuitry. It couldn’t have taken her more than a couple of minutes.

“Get the emergency vehicles here, now!” she ordered. “Uhthli, Orhaf and Paul were all down. With no sign of the culprit.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

