Voyages of the Cerberus episode 24: The Sleeping Figures

Leon drew his blaster and held it towards the pod. “Just give the word and I’ll frag this bitch.”

“Put the blaster away!” Ophelia ordered.

“What if the dude wakes up in a violent mood?” Leon asked. “We don’t know why he’s in there. He could be dangerous.”

“We don’t want to antagonise him,” Ophelia stated. “Be ready to draw your blaster if he’s dangerous but, for now, keep it holstered.” She nodded to Farah. “Keep your hand on yours too.”

“Yes, Captain,” Farah said.

*****

“I found her clothes,” Allison said. “Or at least one outfit.” She held it up. It was a silver jumpsuit with dark blue highlights.

“Leave it alone,” Kat said. “If she wakes up, I’m sure she knows where it is.” She looked over towards Grace. “Find anything yet?”

“Our sleeper is an android,” Grace answered. “It looks like Professor Crozier, the guy who lived here was experimenting with ways of developing sapient machines with free will. There were a bunch of failures. His two biggest successes were designated Y3-Q0 & Y4-R1. Unfortunately, Y3 was mentally unstable. He feared that Y3 would become violent and shut the two of them down to examine the problem in Y3 and check Y4 to make sure that there wasn’t going to be a similar problem. He didn’t find anything wrong with Y4 and was planning to use its program as a template to fix Y3. It looks like he died before he could go through with that plan and reinitialise them.”

“She doesn’t look like an android,” Allison said, checking the pod. “She’s completely anatomically correct.”

“That’s not important,” Kat said. “The more pertinent questions are where the other android is and which one do we have here? If she’s the unstable one, we definitely don’t want to wake her and if she’s not…”

“Then we don’t want Y3 awake,” Grace stated. “Wherever it is.”

“I’ll contact Ophelia,” Kat offered.

*****

The pod’s fluid drained and it popped open. Ophelia heard her communicator go off. “Leon, go outside and contact the other group, she whispered. “We’ll handle this.”

Leon hesitantly left the room to take Kat’s call.

The man opened his eyes. They were a light purple colour. He carefully left the pod, scanning the faces of the two women.

“Greetings,” Ophelia said, stepping forward. “I’m Captain Ophelia Wester of the Starship Cerberus. This is my Farah Jilani, a member of my crew. To whom do we have the pleasure of speaking?”

He looked from one to the other. his pupils shifting in size and shape as he looked them over.

“My designation is Y3-Q0,” he answered. “Where is Professor Crozier?”

“We haven’t seen anyone except you since we arrived,” Ophelia answered, keeping her voice soft. “I’m sorry, but we didn’t read any life signs either.”

“Then, the Professor must have been terminated,” Y3 deduced. “He was the only life form in this complex.” He scratched his chin and looked at them. “Extrapolation: your vessel will run whether or not you are present. Conclusion: You and your crew are unnecessary to my departure.”

Ophelia stood her ground. “And what exactly do you mean by that?”

The android launched forward, grabbing Ophelia by the throat and lifting her into the air.

Farah fired several shots into his arm and another into his head. His hand opened and Ophelia was able to scramble away.

The android turned towards her. “Your weapon is ineffective. It would be prudent of you to resign yourself to your upcoming termination. Struggling will only make it more painful.”

Y3 swiftly ran towards Farah. She stepped back, taking shots at him. Leon burst into the room. He fired several rounds at Y3 while moving to Farah. He tossed the blaster at the android and scooped up Farah in his arms, following Ophelia out of the chamber.

Y3 glanced at the blaster, noticing that it was over-loading just before it blew.

“We have to keep running,” Leon said. “I don’t think that’ll kill it.”

Farah slid out of his arms. “What is it?”

“An android,” Leon answered. “There are two of them in here and I think we found the unstable one.”

“We’ll get to Kat’s team,” Ophelia said. “Grace is our best bet to find something to do about that thing.”

*****

“Any weaknesses?” Kat asked.

“I’m looking,” Grace answered. “Don’t rush me.”

“That thing will already be awake,” Kat muttered.

This is Ophelia. The call was frantic sounding. We’re being pursued by the android. It’s violent and dangerous. Please, find a method of handling it. 

“Goody,” Allison said. “You just know that Leon is going to say ‘I told you so’ over this.”

“We’ll prepare to barricade the door,” Kat stated. “Once they’re through we’ll block it so that the android can’t follow easily.”

“Won’t work,” Grace said. “They’re designed to be significantly stronger than humans.”

“What do you suggest?” Kat asked.

“You two go and help them hold it off,” Grace said. “I’ll wake up our sleeping beauty.”

“Sweet,” Allison said. “I’ll hide her clothes.”

“Don’t you dare,” Kat said. She turned to Grace. “Is that wise?”

“According to the Professor, Y4 didn’t show any signs of instability,” Grace stated. “But she’s every bit as strong as Y3. If I can persuade her to help us, we can win.”

Kat nodded. “All right. I’ll trust your instincts. Just keep looking for a way to shut it down.” She nodded to Allison. The two of them readied their blasters and moved out, leaving Grace alone with Y4 and the bags of parts.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

