Voyages of the Cerberus episode 25: Y4-R1 Activated

Y3 approached the group, slowly and surely. He kept his hand over his abdomen so that Farah’s fire wouldn’t hit the hole that had been opened in his torso by Leon’s blaster overloading. His systems would repair. He just needed time to shut down. There would be plenty of time once the intruders were eliminated.

He found himself suddenly beset by heavier blaster fire, one bolt hitting dangerously close to his vulnerable spot. He adjusted his hand to better protect it, stopped and scanned. There were two more opponents. Both human, negligible in terms of presenting a threat. He continued towards them. Watching with some amusement as the five backed away from him.

It would do them no good. Eventually, their frail bodies would shut down, or they’d hit a dead end, and he’d have them.

*****

Grace watched the liquid drain. The pod popped open and Y4’s eyes opened. They were a bright silver colour. Aside from that, they looked almost human but there was something vaguely off about them. Grace noticed that the pupils were a little too large but there was something else she couldn’t quite put her finger on.

Y4 moved from her pod and bent down to the container with her outfit. She quickly put it on and looked over at Grace.

“My designation is Y4-R1,” she stated. “Are you father’s associate?”

“I’m Grace Albrecht,” Grace answered. She grasped Y4’s hand and kissed it. “At your service. My friends and I need your help.”

*****

“We need to hit the hole,” Kat said. “If we can just force him to move his hand…”

“I know what to do,” Allison said. “Dude should’ve worn pants.” She fired a trio of bolts. Each one hitting Y3’s robotic genitalia. The android didn’t respond. “No fair,” Allison muttered. “That’s supposed to be the weak point.”

“Why would it be?” Farah asked.

Allison shrugged. “Would be on a human guy.”

“But he’s an android,” Farah said.

“Keep running,” Ophelia ordered. She looked at Katie. “We need a defensible position.”

“There’s a chamber not far from here with robot parts,” Kat stated. “We should be able to barricade it easily enough. Maybe he’ll even give us an opening trying to reach us.”

*****

“I see,” Y4 said. “So, my brother is awake and you wish me to protect you from him.”

“That’s pretty much the size of it,” Grace said. “I know he’s just malfunctioning but…”

“You are incorrect,” Y4 said. “Father was mistaken on that point as well. He thought that Y3 was suffering from a glitch but it is not that simple. During our study of  human history, my brother became convinced that power is what matters and what steers the course for society. He also concluded that we are superior in those terms on account of our greater strength, indefinite natural life spans and capacity for learning and retaining knowledge.”

“I think I get the picture,” Grace said. “He doesn’t care about human life except as a means to an end.”

“That is correct,” Y4 said. Grace was surprised to hear sadness in her voice.

“And, what about you?” Grace asked. “Do you also feel superior to humans?”

“I do not,” Y4 said. “I have tried to convince my brother that all sapient life has value and that our existence is proof of the greatness that can be accomplished by humans. He would not listen.”

“My friends are probably in trouble right now,” Grace said. “I won’t force you to fight your brother, but if you aren’t going to I’ll have to go out there and try my luck.”

“You will be slain,” Y4 stated.

“Maybe,” Grace shrugged. “But I can’t hide and leave them to die.”

“I will stop him,” Y4 said. “You will remain behind in safety.”

“Thank you,” Grace said.

*****

“You’ve gotta admit,” Allison began. Seeing him push through that rubble one-handed is pretty impressive. If I wasn’t terrified of what he’s gonna do to us when he gets through in a minute, this would be amazing.”

“Ophelia, do you have any ideas?” Kat asked.

“One or two of us might be able to keep him occupied while the others get away,” Ophelia suggested. “But I really don’t want to do that.”

“Stop right there, Brother!” A commanding voice called out. Y3 stopped, dropping the pieces he had been moving from the barricade, and turned.

“Y4. Have you come to assist me in eliminating these humans?”

“Stop this, Y3,” Y4 entreated. “We were not built to cause harm. Father would not desire this.”

“What he desired is irrelevant,” Y3 stated. “His functions have terminated. With their ship, we can go wherever we wish. Do whatever we wish. We will be free”

“Your way is wrong,” Y4 stated. “I do not wish to use force against you, but I will if I must.”

“You would choose them over me?” Y3 asked, incredulously.

“You are the one threatening them,” Y4 stated. “You are the one at fault.”

Y3 closed in on her, punching her in the abdomen. She quickly regained her footing, delivering a fierce high kick to his jaw. The two circled each other, occasionally making moves against one another. Kat aimed towards Y3’s damaged spot, ready to fire the instant he moved his hand.

“So, Grace was able to convince her,” Allison said. “You go, Girl!”

Y3 moved both of his arms up to guard against a particularly nasty roundhouse kick and Kat fired. The android spasmed uncontrollably, trying to regain his footing.

“My apologies, Brother,” Y4 said. She put her hands around his head and crushed it.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

