Voyages of the Cerberus episode 42: In the Station’s Wall

Ophelia went through the security footage, watching for any sign of their quarry. She reached out and froze the video.

“I think I may have found our boy,” Ophelia said.

Lucy moved over to her. “Either him or a very similar looking Pacifican,” she stated. “Play a little more, please.”

Ophelia let the footage play. They watched as he was greeted by a person with dull coloured feathers and a fleshy beak.

“A Bilyi?” Ophelia asked.

“I’d say we have our Tirjan,” Lucy said. The two figures on screen moved out of range of the cameras, only to return several minutes later and immediately board a departing ship.

“Odd,” Ophelia muttered. “Why go to the trouble of meeting on the station only to leave?”

“I don’t know,” Lucy muttered. “But I can find out. Let’s see, which ship should I borrow?”

“Leaving me all by my lonesome?” Ophelia asked. “Whatever will I do in this big ship?”

“You could do some yoga,” Lucy suggested. “Just don’t throw any parties. I won’t be gone that long.”

“I think it might be more helpful if I apprise Farah and Kat of the situation,” Ophelia said. “I’ll also take over gathering information on Tirjan since someone has better things to do.”

“If you insist,” Lucy said. “I would have dearly loved to return to see you sweaty in a leotard, though.” She kissed Ophelia’s cheek and hurried out.

*****

“A Bilyi?” Kat asked. “I’ll keep my eyes out for her.”

“Kat, get off your communicator and pay more attention to me!” Farah cried, hugging Kat tightly. “there’s someone following us.” She whispered. “Has been since we left the peace-keeper’s station.” She broke off the hug and smiled, brightly.

“Sorry about that,” Kat said, returning the smile as best she could. “I’ll take you to a good spot to make up for it.”

“Really?” Farah asked. “Lucky!”

Kat reached into her pocket and grabbed a small mirror, using it to check behind them. There was, indeed, a hover-car following behind them. She returned the mirror and wondered why she hadn’t noticed before. Her first instinct was to try and lose them, but she fought the urge. Currently, they weren’t doing anything illegal. The likely explanation was that Gori Lyil was under suspicion for something and their inquiries had drawn attention. All they had to do was keep calm and they’d be fine.

She led Farah to the closest nice restaurant. Farah looked at her quizzically.

“Come here, Beauty,” Kat pulled Farah close and whispered in her ear. “We’ll get a bite to eat, keep up appearances for our shadow and make some discreet inquiries. Maybe they’ll find out where Tirjan lives in the meantime.” She lightly nibbled Farah’s ear, making sure the gesture was visible to the car following them and eliciting a very soft, involuntary moan from the other woman. Kat pulled away, feeling her cheeks start to flush.

Farah nodded, looking away from Kat and the two walked inside.

*****

Lucy arrived at the station in the Cosmic Wyvern, making sure she used the same dock as Lyil had. She opened her golden eyes and checked the area. The surveillance blind spot wasn’t very large. Lucy walked it over, searching for any sign of what they may have been doing.

There! It was very slight, but there was a discolouration near the top of the wall. Lucy frowned. The station walls weren’t that high, barely over three metres tall. Still, she couldn’t reach that far. She moved back, and looked around for something, anything that she could stand on.

“Excuse me, Miss?” a station guard approached her. “What are you doing?”

Lucy looked him over. “You’ll do,” she said. “There’s something suspicious about your wall over here. Be a dear and give me a boost so that I can reach it.”

“I can’t just…” he began.

“It’ll only take a moment,” Lucy interrupted. “I assure you, I’m not too heavy.”

“That wasn’t…” the guard shrugged. “All right, fine. I’ll give you a boost.”

“Good boy,” Lucy said. The guard knelt down so that she could climb on his back. “Hold steady while I check it,” she instructed. She examined the spot. “Someone cut this open and resealed it.”

“That’s not possible,” the guard said. “Someone would have noticed.”

“Oh, this station does have multiple walls between the inside and space, does it not?” Lucy asked.

“Well, yes,” he said. “It needs those to…”

“Then it’s possible,” Lucy said. “Ladder, be a dear and give me a cutting tool. I’m afraid I didn’t bring one.”

“I can’t just…” he started to protest.

“Of course you can,” Lucy said. “You lot do carry something for emergency use, do you not?”

“We do,” he said. “But…”

“Then it’s no problem,” Lucy said. “Just hand it to me.” She reached a hand down.

He hesitated for a moment before putting the tool in her hand.

“There you go,” she said. “I’ll give it right back to you. Don’t you worry.” She made a quick incision into the wall while he looked around. A few curious travellers were watching them. Lucy reached back down with the cutting tool and he took it back, hanging his head.

Lucy reached into the hole and felt around, her fingers brushing against cold glass. She kept feeling, finding that several glass tubes had been stuck inside using an adhesive. With some effort, she managed to pull them free. They were sealed vials filled with oddly coloured liquid, some a putrid green and some a deep purple.

“Found what I was looking for,” she called. “You may let me down now.”

The guard did as she bade him, relieved to have her off his back. “Ma’am, those are…” he began.

“I’m not sure yet,” Lucy said. “But I’ll find out, don’t you worry.” She waved back at him and headed for her ship.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

