Voyages of the Cerberus episode 44: Farah’s pleasant surprise

Farah waited. After a while had passed, she started wondering if, just maybe, she should call Kat again. She was just about to do so when Kat arrived, out of breath.

“Sorry,” Kat gasped. “Had to ditch the tail.”

“Weren’t you the one who said it wasn’t a big deal if they followed us?” Farah asked.

“Maybe it wouldn’t be,” Kat admitted. “But I don’t want to risk the mission. That building?” She nodded towards it.

“That’s the one,” Farah said.

“Then let’s get this over with before they find their way back to us,” Kat said. The two walked up to the house and Kat knocked on the door.

The two listened to the scampering noises from within and tensed up as the door opened.

“Your designations must be given,” the figure said. “Recognise you, I don’t.”

“The name I am known by is Farah,” Farah greeted. “Kat is my companion. Seek, one Pacifican designated Gori Lyil and a comrade, one like you, designated Tirjan.”

“Why seek you this Pacifican?” the Bilyi asked.

“Work most simple,” Farah answered. “A package for him, have we. Delivered, it must be.”

She glanced at the package Kat was carrying and reached towards it. “To me, it may be given,” she said. “Tirjan I am called.”

“Gladdened are we for sight of you,” Farah said. “But condolences. Delivered to Gori, it must be.”

Tirjan looked away from them. “Impossible request, given by you. An accident most unfortunate Lyil befell. The employer of yourselves, check with you must. Allowed I am, the package to accept.”

“Patience is requested,” Farah said. “Verify this we must.”

“Agree I do,” Tirjan said. “Understand such circumstances, I do.”

Kat moved away from them and grabbed her communicator.

“Back shortly assurances you have,” Farah said.

Kat returned after a couple minutes. “I checked with the Captain,” she said. “We can give her the package. She just has to sign for it.”

“The wait, I apologise for,” Farah said. “Signature from you we require. Delivered then the package can be.”

“Heard her I did,” Tirjan said. She signed the document. “The package I will take.”

Kat handed it to her.

“Our gratitude you…” Farah began, but the door got slammed in her face.

Kat put a hand on her shoulder. “Come on. The mission’s over. Let’s meet up with Yuri and Allison and get back to the Cerberus.”

The two walked back towards their transport.

“What do you suppose happened to Lyil?” Farah wondered.

“She killed him,” Kat said. “Almost certainly.”

“What, why?” Farah asked. “How do you even know?”

“We just delivered the last component they needed for a deadly nerve gas,” Kat answered. “She and Lyil may have had an argument or he may have been an undercover operative. Whatever the reason, he became a threat to the operation.”

“Then we have to go back and stop her!” Farah exclaimed. “Before someone gets hurt.”

Kat grabbed her arm before she could run back. “Don’t worry about it,” she stated. “Lucy has the other components. When Tirjan goes to the station for them, she’ll be picked up by authorities.”

“Oh, okay,” Farah said. “But what would have happened if Lucy hadn’t found them?”

Kat shrugged. “Wouldn’t be the first time we delivered something not knowing it was going to be used for something nasty.”

“But…” Farah began.

“Stop right there,” Kat interrupted. “First off, we aren’t peace-keepers any more. This stuff isn’t our business. Secondly, everything we deliver for assignments like this is legal. We aren’t responsible for what people do with it.”

“I suppose not,” Farah conceded.

The two finally walked back to their transport in silence. “Allison and Yuri aren’t back yet,” Farah observed.

“Do me a favour and wait for them,” Kat said. “I have something I’d like to take care of.” She ran off without any other word of explanation.

Farah was waiting around twenty minutes when Allison and Yuri returned.

“Hey, Newbie,” Allison said. “Lose your date?”

“She said she had business to take care of and she’d be right back,” Farah said.

“Probably retouching her make-up,” Allison said. “After you so savagely smudged her lipstick.”

“Miss Horne was not wearing lipstick,” Yuri stated. “Nor any other variety of make-up.”

“That was a joke,” Allison said. “Honestly, Girl I have got to get your sense of humour developed. I know that Kat and Farah weren’t doing anything like that.” She noticed the slight reddening of Farah’s cheeks. “Wait, did you actually? What did Kat do to you?”

“Nothing at all,” Farah protested.

“Sure,” Allison said. “That’s why you’re starting to get nervous. Because you two weren’t doing anything. What was it, a love hotel?”

“No!” Farah yelled. “She just nibbled my ear a little. But she had a good reason. It’s not like she did it as a sexual thing.”

“You’re way too naïve,” Allison said. “If a girl lovingly nibbles your ear and tells you that it was just to test the air, she’s lying.”

“It wasn’t like that,” Farah said. “We were being followed so we were trying to throw off our pursuer. That’s all.”

“Oh I can’t wait to tell Grace that one,” Allison said. “Do you think she’ll believe it?”

“I do not believe that Grace would doubt Miss Jilani’s word,” Yuri stated.

“Good, the gang’s all here,” Kat said. She approached with one arm behind her back.

“Speak of the devil,” Allison said. “We were just listening to Farah talk about your shameless exploits.”

“I’m really not in the mood to hear your jokes today,” Kat said. “Get inside and get ready for take-off. Farah, come here for a moment.”

Allison winked at Farah and boarded along with Yuri. Farah walked over.

“I’m sorry,” Farah said. “I didn’t mean to mention the ear thing to her it just slipped.”

“Here,” Kat said. She brought her arm out from behind her back and held it out for Farah. She was carrying the tiny kitten that Farah had picked up earlier. “This is yours, right?”

Farah reached out and took him. The kitten mewed and licked her arm. “Is it really okay?” Farah asked.

“Yeah,” Kat said. “Why wouldn’t it be?”

Farah smiled and hugged Kat, tightly. “Thank you so much! I love you!”

“You’re very welcome, just get off of me,” Kat said. Farah broke off the hug, looking sheepish. “That’s better. Come on, let’s return home.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

