Voyages of the Cerberus episode 57: Latched

Leon watched the small craft following them, mentally daring it to make a move. What he hated, more than almost anything, was the waiting.

“Captain,” Farah said. “Wouldn’t it be wise to get Kat and Yuri up here to help, just in case?”

Ophelia shook her head. “If I absolutely have to, I will. But I’d rather leave them alone until they’ve completed their re-training.”

“Because cutting our forces in half is totally the best idea ever,” Allison said.

“Now, now,” Lucy said. “She said we’ll get them if we need them. Don’t underestimate your own abilities. Especially when nothing’s happened yet that might make extra help necessary.”

“This may not be the thing you’d expect a space heroine extraordinaire to say,” Allison said “But I’d rather not risk getting caught short-handed.”

“I was just curious is all,” Farah said. “There’s no need to fight about it. After all, the ship isn’t so big that they won’t be able o get to the bridge or bay quickly even if they aren’t on standby.”

“Fine,” Allison sighed. “I’ll let it drop. I’m just saying, I’d feel more comfortable with Yuri close by.”

“As sweet as that may be, we need to maintain discipline,” Ophelia said. “Both Kat and Yuri understand that. Leon,” she turned towards him. “Any change?”

“They’re maintaining the same distance they have been,” Leon reported. “If we aren’t going to blow them to bits, can we at least try to outrun them?”

“They may get suspicious if we suddenly increase our speed,” Ophelia said. “Lucy, what do you think?”

“There may be a way to avoid arousing suspicion and increase our speed,” Lucy said. “I can fake an incoming transmission from the station. If we increase speed shortly after that, then it’ll look like we’re responding to the transmission and not the craft.”

“What are the chances that they’ll know it’s fake?” Ophelia asked.

“If the craft is unmanned, they won’t manage it for certain,” Lucy said. “At least with my skills. If they have someone on hand to try it they likely won’t figure it out until they have a chance to analyse it in detail. By the time they figure it out, the mission should be over.”

“We’ll take the chance,” Ophelia said. “Set up the fake signal. We’ll speed up five minutes after receiving it. Leon, keep an eye on that craft.”

“I suggest speeding up three minutes and twenty two seconds after the transmission,” Lucy said. “It’ll seem more random.”

“You’re right,” Ophelia said. “All right, let’s do it that way.”

Lucy went to work on her fake transmission. It took her a few minutes before she was ready.

“All right, send it,” Ophelia ordered.

The group waited while the Cerberus indicated that they had an incoming transmission. Ophelia ordered it answered, static came in. They waited and increased their speed.

“We’re blowing past it,” Leon reported. “Wait, it’s increasing speed to keep up.”

“Can it go as fast as the Cerberus?” Ophelia wondered.

“It can if it has the best engines available,” Lucy said.

“But would they waste that level of tech on an unmanned drone?” Allison asked.

“Not likely,” Lucy said. “There’s someone on board that thing.”

“Which leaves us no choice,” Ophelia said. “We bring it down. Lucy, fire our lasers back at it.”

“It’s firing cables!” Leon cried. “They’re attached to the Cerberus and pulling towards us.”

“Can we still blast them?” Ophelia asked.

“Not at their current angle,” Lucy stated. “I think we can expect them to try breaking in.”

“All right,” Ophelia said. “Allison, get to your ship and blast them off of us. Leon, Farah, you two go with Lucy and prepare to repel invaders. I’ll summon Uhrandra here and seal off the bridge. I’ll have Kat and Yuri get ready. If you need them, don’t hesitate to call for them.”

“Understood,” Lucy said. “Everyone, make sure your pressure suits are fully functional. They may very well use explosives on the hull.”

“Told you we should’ve blown them away to begin with,” Leon muttered.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

