Voyages of the Cerberus episode 58: Calling A Bluff

Lucy led Farah and Leon to the latch point. The three of them heard metal hitting steel and picked up the pace. Peeking around the corner, the enemy ship’s cockpit was visible. Emergency force fields held the atmosphere in the Cerberus in spite of the hole they’d put in the hull. Lucy sized up their opponents.

“A pacifican, an akumillian and an akumillian DR5 series battle robot,” she whispered.

“Specs of the DR5?” Leon asked.

“Twin laser cannons with a mounted flame-thrower for close combat,” Lucy answered. “It’s weakness is the flame-thrower’s fuel tank, but it’s dangerous to aim for it in a ship this small.”

“Collateral damage?” Leon inquired.

Lucy nodded. “It could take a good chunk out of the ship.”

“Luciverianna!” the akumillian shouted. “I know you’re there and I know that you can calculate your odds in this situation. I offer you the choice between surrendering the Ca’urr or having your ship overrun. Do us both a favour and decide quickly and sensibly.”

*****

Ophelia aimed her pistol at the bridge’s entrance, prepared for the worst, but not expecting it.

“How come you’re so tense?” Uhrandra asked.

“Because there are intruders on my ship,” Ophelia answered.

“Maybe they wanna be friends,” Uhrandra suggested. “We should put tea on and all sit down for a nice chat.”

“If it makes you feel better go ahead and prepare that,” Ophelia said.

“All right,” Uhrandra said, wagging her tail. “It’ll all be fine, you’ll see.”

*****

You seem to have me at a disadvantage,” Lucy called, not peeking out from her cover. “You are?”

“Someone informed,” he answered. “I’ve done my research for this assignment.”

“And does your pet pacifican there know that it’s dangerous to stand next to a DR5?” Lucy asked. “If we can snipe its flame-thrower’s tank, it’ll take both of you with it and my people are very good marksmen.”

“Not an issue,” the pacifican called. “Ours has nothing in its fuel tank. We dismantled its flame-thrower”

“Oh, is that so?” Lucy asked. The akumillian glared at his companion. “Good news for us,” she whispered. “We can open fire on them without worrying about that.”

“We still have the advantage!” the akumillian pressed. “Your handful of humans can’t handle a DR5 and you know it.”

“Is that really so?” Lucy asked. “I rather think humans who have gone through my training are made of sterner stuff than an old DR5.”

“Don’t try to bluff me,” he said. “With just Friojya and the DR5, I’ve got the power to overrun your little friends.”

“Then why haven’t you done it yet?” Lucy asked. “Could it be that you’re actually trying to bluff us?”

“Yeah,” Leon added. “If it’s so damn easy, try us. I’ll take on your whole bitch ass group!”

“Let me teach the human his place!” Friojya demanded.

the akumillian sighed. “I suppose it can’t be helped. I had hoped to get through this without any blood shed, but I can see that Luciverianna is not as reasonable a woman as I had heard.” He backed away from the DR5 and Friojya. “I’ll give you until the count of three to change your minds and surrender peaceably. One, two th….”

He was knocked from his feet by an explosion behind him. The enemy ship tore open and drifted away from the Cerberus.

“Go!” Lucy called. She, Leon and Farah rushed out from their cover, directly at the three intruders.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

