Voyages of the Cerberus episode 59: Brutal Fisticuffs

Farah, Leon and Lucy concentrated their fire on the DR5 as they surged forward, hoping to cause some damage to its metal shell.

Friojya reacted first, tackling Leon and knocking his pistol away.

“I’ll draw the DR5 away,” Lucy said. “Deal with him.” She fired several more shots at the DR5, narrowly avoiding its return volley. Lucy broke away, running down the corridor with the robot on her tail.

“Freeze!” Farah ordered. “Throw down your weapon and surrender. I have you in my sight.”

“Drop the gun!” He commanded.

“That won’t work on me,” Farah warned. “I know all about the akumillian persuasive abilities. I’m warning you…”

“You won’t use that,” he stated. “You wouldn’t dare.” He hurriedly reached for his weapon. Farah didn’t hesitate to fire, hitting him directly in the forehead and splattering his grey matter across the wall.

“I warned you,” Farah muttered. She moved over to Leon, who was grappling with Friojya. “Leon, get back.”

“Go help Lucy,” Leon cried. “I’ve got this.”

“But…” Farah protested.

“Hey, I said I’ve got this,” Leon called. “I have seniority, go!”

Farah hesitated for a moment but, ultimately, ran down the corridor where Lucy had gone.

“You’re brave human,” Friojya said, pulling away from him. “But also foolish. You can’t beat me in a fist fight.”

“We’ll see,” Leon stated. “You can’t really underestimate us humans.”

She laughed at him. “Surely, you jest. Even the weakest of my kind is stronger than most of yours.”

“Try me!” Leon declared, bracing himself for her offensive.

*****

Lucy weaved her way through the corridors, making herself as unpredictable as possible. Still, she knew that if all she did was run and dodge, it would be able to predict her movements before too long.

The safe bet was to grab Yuri, her body was more advanced than a DR5. However, Lucy didn’t want to do that. She’d kept things together long before Yuri joined the crew and she didn’t want to grow overly reliant on the android.

She moved into Engineering. She had an idea to beat the robot. Grace was not going to be happy when she got back, but it would work. She quickly ducked behind the engine.

Sure enough, the DR5 followed her. Lucy quickly put on some rubber gloves and opened an access panel for the ships backup systems, letting the hatch make a slight sound. The DR5 moved in the direction of the sound, as predicted. Lucy ripped out some live wires and tossed them at the robot.

It wasn’t enough to destroy or even disable a DR5, but she’d known that. The important thing was that it was enough to fry its sensors and pop its main access hatch. While the DR5 was trying to effect internal repairs, she crept up and fired two shots. One to blow the hatch off completely, and the second to fry its systems, sending it offline.

*****

Leon waited for Friojya’s lunge and twisted, using her own momentum to slam her into the wall.

She got up quickly and, this time, exercised more caution in her attack. Leon ducked, kicking her feet and slamming his fist into her gut as hard as he could.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t enough. She grabbed his arm and used it to slam him into the ground.

He managed to get back on his feet and move away from her.

She threw another couple of punches. He barely dodged them while being forced back until he was against the wall.

She wound back and threw a heavy punch, preparing to grab him if he dared move forward.

Leon ducked under the blow and jumped forward, head-butting her directly in the face. She grabbed hold of his arm, squeezing tightly and punched him in the chest before he could get away. He moved his face as though he was going to head-butt her again, but changed targets midway, biting into her fingers. She released him, pulling her hand back. Leon spit out a hefty chunk of finger.

“Animal!” she cried, slashing her sharp nails across his chest. they tore into his chest. He moved his hands around her head and slammed her face into his knee.

The two backed away from one another. She had the advantage, Leon knew. He was bleeding from his cuts, quite badly too and she was stronger than him. He was going to have to take a big risk.

He walked slowly towards her, feigning laboured breath. He waited for the slight smile of assured victory to creep onto her face and rushed forward, slamming his knee into her chin. When her head went up, he slammed his fist into her throat as hard as he could.

She coughed, but quickly recovered, lunging for him. A blaster bolt from behind cut her down.

“You should’ve let Farah do that in the beginning,” Lucy said.

Leon sat against the wall. “Guess I tried to do too much by myself again. Paul wouldn’t approve, but he’ll forgive me, right? When we…”

“What do we do?” Farah asked. “We need Paul. He’s…”

“Just unconscious, for now. I can stop the bleeding,” Lucy said. “Go to medical and get me an emergency kit. hurry.”

Farah bolted down the corridor.

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

