Voyages of the Cerberus 75: Infiltration Mission

Farah sat, watching Grace work with Hyper sitting on her shoulders and the Baron curled up in her lap. The Cerberus was quite large from the outside. Grace was going over the damaged parts of the hull meticulously, replacing some heavily damaged plating and fitting the new pieces into place.

Sometimes it was enough to just be together. But right now… right now she wanted more. She contemplated asking Grace to take a break but she couldn’t bring herself to do it. She didn’t want to be seen as a selfish girl.

“Ladies,” Lucy approached them, her eyes closed. “I see that the repairs are going well.”

“They are,” Grace agreed.

“Well, keep it up,” Lucy said. “I have to borrow Farah.”

“A mission?” Farah asked.

Lucy nodded. “And, if you both do a good job, I’ll give you and Grace a weekend all to yourselves.”

“Sounds good,” Grace said. “I know a nice place we can go.” She looked at Farah. “If you’re game.”

“Absolutely!” Farah declared.

“Good,” Lucy said. “That seems to be settled. So, come with me. You’ll be working with Leon on this one.”

“Just her and Leon?” Grace asked.

“It’s not particularly dangerous,” Lucy said. “Don’t worry.”

Farah left Hyper & the Baron with Grace and followed after Lucy. They went inside the Cerberus and into the conference room where Leon was waiting with Ophelia.

“Good,” Ophelia said. “With you both here I can give you the briefing. The mission is going to require you two to be sneaky. There shouldn’t be any fighting.”
“Wouldn’t Kat be a better choice then?” Leon asked. “I’m not exactly known for taking things slowly and carefully.”

“We have something else for Kat,” Ophelia said. “You’ll manage.” She hit a switch and a building blueprint projected. “This is Yupis tower. One of the Ze’el family’s important buildings.” She hit a second button, causing the blueprint to zoom in. “This is the hidden basement of that building.”

“Is the intel about that reliable?” Leon asked.

“Absolutely,” Ophelia said. “It came from a former high ranking bodyguard.”

“Could this former bodyguard be lying?” Farah wondered.

Ophelia shook her head. “This source is absolutely trustworthy.”

“I confirmed that myself,” Lucy added.

“Unfortunately, it’s been a couple years since they were involved with the family,” Ophelia said. “So we don’t have any current codes.”

“And the objective in this hidden basement is what exactly?” Leon asked.

“The Ze’el family has an encrypted drive with a list of their contacts within the security & peace keeping forces along with detailed records of the payments they’ve given them,” Ophelia said. “Our client wants that drive and you two are going to steal it.”

“Is this for an Alliance investigation?” Farah asked.

Ophelia burst out laughing. “Sorry,” she said, calming down. “That was just really funny to me.” She composed herself. “The Alliance likes to avoid hiring us. No, this mission is for the Geralt family. They plan to leak copies of the data to some of their own contacts in the force.”

Leon whistled. “Very nasty. Gain the upper hand through official channels. Don’t even have to risk their own men.”

“That’s the size of it,” Ophelia said. “I’ve got a selection of tools for you two to use. If you get caught, alert us and run for it. I don’t want the two of you engaging the enemy. Remember, this is supposed to be a stealth mission.”

“And we sneak in how?” Leon wondered.

“Through the front door,” Farah said. He looked back at her. “Well, it’s supposedly a legitimate business building. People come and go all day. We just go in with the crowd, get to the basement’s entrance and take things from there.”

Ophelia nodded. “Good luck, you two and Farah, make sure you grab your communicator from your quarters.”

Farah and Leon headed out.

“What should we have Kat do?” Ophelia wondered.

“I’m for giving her remote access to their instruments,” Lucy said. “She should be able to improve their performance. Hopefully give us an edge.”

Ophelia nodded. “Do it.”

“Should we call Allison and Yuri back, just in case?” Lucy wondered.

Ophelia shook her head. “Let them enjoy their date. If something goes wrong we can go in.”

About ktulu007

I don’t really like talking about myself, but for the curious I’m Deutsch. I’m the second oldest of three children, four if you count my adopted sister. We largely grew up without a father. Writing has been a major passion for me since I was small. I like to write online because it offers me some freedom to experiment with different genres and provides me with more of an audience than I would normally have access to. One of my bigger influences has always been my youngest sister. She’s very socially aware, an excellent judge of quality when it comes to writing and very supportive of my efforts. Whenever I write I ask myself “would she find major problematic elements in this that I need to change?” and I try to be socially responsible enough and good enough to be as good of a writer as she thinks I am.
This entry was posted in Original fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

